NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 CX-5

Consumer Reviews

2018 Mazda CX-5

$18,492 - $35,436  MSRP Range
2018 Mazda CX-5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

239 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Mazda CX-5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 239 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Traded in my 2015 RAV4 and so happy.

by Terrydtx from San Antonio Texas on Fri Jul 06 2018

After doing research and driving my wife's CX3 I decided to trade in my noisy rattling 2015 RAV4. We bought the 2018 CX5 Grand Touring trim and love it after only one week of driving. This car is like driving a true luxury car costing thousands more with all of the features that comes on this top of the line trim. Heads Up display, back seats and steering wheel heated you cant find on Honda or Toyota in this segment. It is so quiet on the highway you have to check to make sure the engine is even running. Why would anyone buy a RAV4, CRV or Escape without test driving the Mazda CX5? There is so much tech in this car that the competition cant match.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

56 out of 56 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for it’s value. Feels like luxury!

by Anya from Honolulu, HI on Sat Jun 09 2018

Allow me start with how much i LOVE my new Mazda CX-5 touring with all its amazing features like a radar cruise control where it tracks the speed of a car in front of you and stops when it stops, automatic brake hold, and easy to use navigation. It really feels like a car from the future. Not to mention its attractive look, luxurious soft leather/suede seats, power lift gate, and boze speakers with a fire sound quality. I really feel like a million bucks driving it! Oh and does it drive smoothly, you'd think you're gliding on air like a plane. It's quick and responsive, and gives you an advantage in traffic when you have to act fast. It even "yells" at you to brake when you're coming in too hot and there's an obstacle in your way. I feel VERY SAFE driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by dlsteinway from hull on Wed Mar 14 2018

I am so in love with this car. It is absolute perfection to me. I am a fan of Mazdas, having owned 2 previously, but I hadn't bought a new car in almost 15 years simply because we don't drive that much. Finally we decided we needed a bigger car. We looked at every option of SUV priced around 30K and Mazda was far and away the best deal. But the car is also just BETTER. It comes with so much kit and is incredibly comfortable and quiet. We love the soul red color and opted for stone leather seats to be a bit different, it feels so posh and beautiful. The petrol model fit our needs better (we don't drive enough to warrant a diesel) and it is super peppy and fun to drive. The i-stop function is amazing and has cut our petrol bill significantly - and we used to drive a very small car. Overall it's an underrated beautiful car and warrants more buyers!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with my new car

by Maggiem33 from Tacoma, WA on Wed Jul 25 2018

I did a lot of research on different brands and styles and this car worked out best for my needs. Once i test drove it I fell in love. It is an attractive car. Easy to drive, fast to respond, comfortable for me and my guests, and overall an amazing car to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VALUE AND STYLE...UNBEATABLE

by Mazdahappy from Los Angeles, CA on Fri Jul 13 2018

VALUE AND STYLE ALL IN ONE! I went from a Lexus RX350 to a CX-5 and couldn't be happier! I halved my car pmt. and have more features than before! I love the interior design of the car. Everything important is at my fingertips and it's all very well thought out. I'm truly in love with this car. The lines of it and exterior are so classy. Plenty of leg room for the kids in the back seat. I couldn't be happier with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by David290 from Maryland on Sat Jun 02 2018

I bought the 2018 CX-5 GT (Soul Red Crystal Metallic color) in February, and it has been a long time since I've been so enthused about a new car! I debated about getting another Honda CRV, which on paper has more space and better fuel mileage, but that car is just xxxx ugly. The CX-5 has a classic elegant design, inside and out. The interior seems more like an Audi or Mercedes in terms of quality materials and finish. The more I drive it, the more I appreciate how well it handles... very responsive and solid handling, much better than my old CRV. It is also very quiet, and the 10-speaker Bose sound system is outstanding! The car is very high quality, with much attention to detail. The doors have a hefty solid feel, all windows are auto up/down with quick motors. The doors even wrap under the door sill, keeping dirt/water out of the part your leg might brush against. Even the power seat buttons have a classy layout. The screen being mounted on top of the dash is actually optimal for viewing. It's a beautiful high-res display. I particularly like that even when you aren't navigating, the top of the screen always shows the name of the next cross street you are approaching. Likewise the right-hand circular display in the dash is also a high-res screen, very well designed for showing analog "gauges" for fuel and temp. I also like the choice of a "rumble strip" sound for warning when crossing the lane lines. This car is really fun to drive, and I have to admit that even being middle-aged, when walking away after parking it, I still turn around to check out how nice it looks! The metallic red paint is stunning in sunlight. I have only two minor complaints: the blind spot monitor is too sensitive, warning you of a car in the blind spot when it is actually 4 car lengths behind you and clearly visible in the rear-view mirror. The driver's seat is comfortable, but the seat is a bit too short for optimal thigh support (I'm 5'10"). I almost resisted buying the car since Mazda still didn't add Apple CarPlay for 2018. Though I've found the GT's infotainment options aren't too bad... you actually can browse the music library on iPhone. But CarPlay is a must-have, and Mazda is adding it for 2019 models. Presumably there will be a hardware/software upgrade to add it to existing cars that have Mazda Connect. You have to test drive this car to appreciate how nice it is compared to other models in this class.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving my New Mazda CX-5 Touring 2018 !

by Mazda CX-5 Fan from Boca Raton on Sun May 06 2018

Absolutely love this vehicle. Used to own a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe which was very good to me. The interior is gorgeous . Rides great, feels like a sports car. Only wish it had Apple Car Play .but it's livable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safety, driveability, and all the bells & whistles

by JMorris from Charlotte, NC on Wed Apr 04 2018

A great drive for modern, tech savvy driver. The CX-5 gets great gas mileage thanks to its 4-cyl engine, but the sport boost gives you plenty of power for on-ramps. Sensors in the braking system and cruise control help you avoid fender benders in the city and on the highway. The Touring trim package provides a great heads-up display, navigation system, and Bluetooth connectivity. Heated leather seats and a heated steering wheel just add to the overall package. The Bose sound system rocks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sensational New Car!

by JoeZone from Beaverton on Sun Aug 12 2018

This 2018 CX-5 Grand Touring is my first brand-new car in 55 years' driving. I considered the available market very carefully, there are so many excellent options available, and it replaced both my cherished 2001 Forester 5-speed, which was like my puppy, and my Honda S2000, the perfect sports car for me, after a lifetime of ones to be cherished. So, the CX-5 needed to be fun to drive, comfortable, and with my advancing years, I was interested in some of the smart-intelligence safety aids. It has delivered so far, in spades. In spite of being an automatic transmission, the gearbox is responsive and features sport and manual shift modes. It'll take a while to learn, but this is something I can live with, and frankly, not having to continuously use the clutch and shift in Portland, Oregon's steadily decivilizing traffic is nice. Friends who have ridden in it, even only looked in it, have all raved. Who dreamed a fairly low priced compact SUV would look and feel so upscale? It has gotten 24+ mpg in town and 31.4 mpg on a road trip of 300 miles, that on a mix of freeway and winding country roads, also with traffic. Moreover, at the end of that 300 mile day which included working an event for several hours at the destination, I felt ready to drive on indefinitely. My only point of small worry about the Mazda is mastering the menus to control various functions. There is a very helpful set of video tutorials online, at the Mazda Toolbox, Mazda.com; I shall be squeezing as much as possible out of them. The owner's manual is thick and more than half of it appears to be "cautions" and safety warnings, most at the level of a third grade education. In contemporary America, that is probably appropriate, but who among us would wade through all that verbal lawyer mud? Moreover and importantly, how on earth are many buyers ever going to learn how to enjoy all its capabilities? Many simply will not, a pity. I keep cars a long time. This sporty feeling, comfortable, economic Mazda, with looks that will age very gracefully, may be all I need or want for the rest of my life. Note, I do not feel qualified at this early state to make a valid "reliability" rating, but the website requires it. From others' reviews, I do expect it to be excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle, quiet and smooth ride.

by Preacherboy2754 from Moncks Corner on Sun Jul 15 2018

Easy to drive, great sound system. One of the best looking suv's out there. I like to drive somthing that looks different from all the other crossovers and the Mazda CX-5 give me that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 24