2008 CX-9

Consumer Reviews
2008 Mazda CX-9

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

41 Reviews
2008 Mazda CX-9
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

CX-9 Greatness

by Very very picky car owner from Mansfield, TX on March 25, 2010

I have to say without a doubt the best crossover SUV out there for the price and quality you receive from the vehicle. I have three kids and they love this car. My daughter love climbing into the the 3 row seating and hooking up there Nintendo DS systems to the AC power unit and they say sitting back there is like camping out because it's their own space back there with everythign the need. They can still use the headphones to watch the DVD overhead. The SUV has alot of power in the engine, it gets up and goes and sounds so smooth inside the car when driving around. I bought mine as a 2008 model Grand Touring in WHITE, no other color would do. With the white exterior and black accent from the trim and 20" tires, what a great looking car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Mazda CX9

by Silk from Chicago area on February 3, 2010

We dorve over 20,000 miles in the first twelve months. No major problems. It is everything we read about. My only complaints are cheap carpeting, cheap plastics on the door handles & console (scratched easily, but were replace at no charge), no MPG monitor, only one seat heater setting, poor mileage, navigation not great compared to Honda and screen hard to read at times. Have received many compliments on exterior & interior. My wife says very easy to drive compared to Enclave she tested. All-wheel-drive is awesome, although 2009 & 2010 performance tires not as good as 2008 (per friends). Blind spot monitoring worth every penny.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

so far so good

by Mazdamom from westchester, ny on February 22, 2012

I purchased a used Mazda CX9 with just over 40,000 miles. So far so good. Nice features and drives very smoothly. Very easy to transition from regular car to this sized vehicle. Also the 4 wheel drive has done pretty well in the snow. Lots of room as expected. Also, as expected, gas mileage is not so great (but none of these cars are good on mileage).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ties with Accord as most favorite car owned

by Directpb from Dallas, tx on July 14, 2011

Love this car! I have had it for 6 months and there is NO buyers remorse at all. Still excited that I get to drive it. Was looking at Acadia, Enclave and Traverse. It just drove the best of all those choices and had the biggest bang for the buck! Lots of nice extras. We call it Zoom Zoom because it is very responsive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Alternative to a minivan

by Nominivan Mom from TN on August 24, 2011

I love my Mazda CX9- I wanted a 3rd seat car with good gas milage that was roomy but not huge. The CX9 is perfect, the 3rd seat is very roomy and easily accesible and also easy to put up or down as needed. (one hand to pull up or put down 3rd row seats). Also- 3rd row seats fold completely flat so tons of room when they are down, and a good amount when they are up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great Vehicle

by Lee from Shelby,NC on May 18, 2015

We have driven the heck out of this car through two teenage daughters with swim meets and soccer games for 6 years now and when I get under it to change the oil or look under the hood, it still looks like new. No corrosion or anything. I have Just changed the oil and kept good tires on it. Never had a breakdown or a major repair. I changed the break pads and they really did not need to be changed yet! What a work horse vehicle and it will move too! I have 127,000 on it now and I am going to drive it for another 100,000 too. Very happy with this vehicle - a value.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owed!

by Formeracuralover from Seattle, WA on May 28, 2012

There isn't one thing I'd change about this car. It's the perfect size, inside and out, good value, good quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by LtrainSport from Littleton, CO on June 11, 2017

Very smooth ride. I test drove a Rav-4 and CRV before my dealer found this crossover. The comparison wasn't close. The CX-9 drove like a luxury vehicle. We owned it from 35k-160k miles, zero problems. This crossover will be hard to beat!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plenty of room for the family

by Grandma's Taxi from Central Florida on January 24, 2012

Purchased vehicle to seat at least 7 people...5 kids, 6 grandkids and the family is still growing. Not interested in minivan, wanted an SUV. CX-9 was great value for the money. Ranked well in various consumer magazines. Gas mileage is good. Plenty of room and loved the heated seats on cold winter nights. Overall, very satisfied with our choice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it

by performance perfect mom from cincinnati oh on October 1, 2014

I'm absolutely in love with this car. I purchased this used at 95,000. This is the best car I've driven or owned. Doesn't rattle of ever misbehave. Definitely purchase this if your trying to decide what to get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5
Our Expert Review: 2008 Mazda CX-9