• (4.6) 29 reviews
  • MSRP: $5,025$13,461
  • Body Style: Sport Utility
  • Combined MPG: 18-19
  • Engine: 273-hp, 3.7-liter V-6 (regular gas)
  • Drivetrain: All-wheel Drive
  • Seats: 7
2008 Mazda CX-9

Our Take on the 2008 Mazda CX-9

Introduced for the 2007 model year, the CX-9 crossover is available in Sport, Touring and Grand Touring trim levels, has a number of standard safety features and can seat up to seven people in its three rows of seats. For 2008, the CX-9 gets a larger and more powerful V-6 engine and an optional b... Read Full Report

What We Don't Like

  • Too-light steering effort
  • Front seat cushions could be longer
  • Third row best left for kids

Notable Features

  • New 3.7-liter V-6 for 2008
  • New optional blind-spot warning system
  • Seats seven
  • Stability system with Roll Stability Control
  • Optional rearview camera

2008 Mazda CX-9 Reviews

Cars.com Expert Reviews

An ingredient was missing.Zoom, zoom is in Mazda's DNA, and the CX-9 came up one zoom short when it bowed for 2007.The 3.7-liter V-6 designed by Ford, but built by Mazda, wasn't ready, so the crossover had to make do with the 3.5-liter V-6 designed and built by Ford.Now the 3.7-liter that unleashes 273-horsepower, not to mention 270-foot-pounds of torque, has been hitched to the CX-9 ... Read full review for the 2008 Mazda CX 9

Read All Expert Reviews

Consumer Reviews


Average based on 29 reviews

Write a Review

Very Sporty 3-Row SUV

by Richmond Car Lover from Richmond on January 18, 2011

We bought our 2008 Mazda CX-9 new in Dec. 2007. My wife loved her Lexus RX330, but wanted a 3-row SUV and did NOT a minivan. She insisted on leather, navigation and an automatic rear-door. The CX-9 ha... Read Full Review

6 Trim Levels Available

Wondering which configuration is right for you?
Our 2008 Mazda CX-9 trim comparison will help you decide.

2008 Mazda CX-9 Safety Ratings

Crash-Test Reports

NHTSA Ratings

Based on Mazda CX-9 Grand Touring

Overall Rollover Rating

NHTSA Ratings

Based on Mazda CX-9 Grand Touring

Overall Rollover Rating
Front Seat
Rear Seat
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation. NHTSA provides vehicle safety information such as front- and side-crash ratings and rollover ratings. Vehicles are rated using a star rating system from 1-5 stars, with 5 being the highest.


Great news! There are currently no known recalls on 2008 Mazda CX-9.

Service & Repair

Estimated Service & Repair cost: $4,100 per year.

Save on maintenance costs and do your own repairs.

Warranty Coverage





Roadside Assistance Coverage


What you should get in your warranty can be confusing. Make sure you are informed.

Learn More About Warranties

Warranties Explained


Often called a basic warranty or new-vehicle warranty, a bumper-to-bumper policy covers components like air conditioning, audio systems, vehicle sensors, fuel systems and major electrical components. Most policies exclude regular maintenance like fluid top offs and oil changes, but a few brands have separate free-maintenance provisions, and those that do offer them is slowly rising. Bumper-to-bumper warranties typically expire faster than powertrain warranties.


Don't be misled a 10-year or 100,000-mile powertrain warranty doesn't promise a decade of free repairs for your car. It typically covers just the engine and transmission, along with any other moving parts that lead to the wheels, like the driveshaft and constant velocity joints. Some automakers also bundle seat belts and airbags into their powertrain warranties. With a few exceptions, powertrain warranties don't cover regular maintenance like engine tuneups and tire rotations.

Roadside Assistance

Some automakers include roadside assistance with their bumper-to-bumper or powertrain warranties, while others have separate policies. These programs cover anything from flat-tire changes and locksmith services to jump-starts and towing. Few reimburse incidental costs like motel rooms (if you have to wait for repairs).

Free Scheduled Maintenance

Some automakers include free scheduled maintenance for items such as oil changes, air filters and tire rotations. Some include consumables including brake pads and windshield wipers; others do not. They are typically for the first couple of years of ownership of a new car.


Estimate your monthly loan payment.
Asking Price Range
$29,400 - $34,655
Calculate Monthly Payments