2014 CX-9

Consumer Reviews
2014 Mazda CX-9

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

26 Reviews
2014 Mazda CX-9
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best value for a 7 seater AWD

by Cheapskate from Phoenixville, PA on October 6, 2014

The Mazda CX9 fits perfectly for a family looking for a seven passenger vehicle that is not a minivan and has 4 wheel drive. How can you get a better seven passenger SUV for under 30K (if you do some homework and have average negotiation skills). Let?s review the option, Toyota Highlander (Too expensive), Acura MDX (Even more expensive than the Highlander; takes premium gas), anything U.S. made (cheap looking interior, below average reliability, horrible resale value), Nissan Pathfinder (tight 3rd row, only average reliability), and the Hyundai Santa Fe (close runner up to the CX 9, might come down to personal preference). The CX9 drive like a car, is sporty and looks great inside and out. Happy to be driving this vehicle!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

New owner

by Colin's Dad from Taylorville,Il on June 28, 2014

CX 9 2014, Bought new,like it so far, wish it had auto headlights option,like the BSM,back-up camera,is real quiet inside,like the rear hatch option of touch button open/close, no key feature,2 setting heat seat,Nav system good,overall like it well,had the CX 7 before and liked it on gas, hope the CX 9 is good also

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

CX-9 Simply better than rest

by ex BMW owner from Buffalo, NY on April 9, 2015

I've owned this new CX-9 touring for few months and it handles simply superb and has the power when you need it. The interior is very nice if you opt leather and Bose 10 speaker sound is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mazda CX-9 is so great - I bought 2!

by Jim from Jacksonville on January 2, 2018

My wife has owned the same Mazda CX-9 for 10 years - Reliability, Comfort, Dependability, Command-of-the-road, Amenities, Cargo space and 3500 pounds of tow capability make it the best car we ever owned. We love it so much, we went out to buy a new one. Ugh! Mazda made a great new version but it reduced the engine from a 6 to a 4 cylinder. I immediately went on the hunt for an off-lease '14. I found it at Honda of Gainesville, FL. The '14 has a number of amenity upgrades that only made the CX-9 better. I actually traded my new Toyota Avalon in on a used CX-9. The Avalon is a terrific car but it is just a distant memory now. I am much happier with the Mazda CX-9.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Love my new-used car from Minnesota on June 23, 2017

I just purchased a 2014 certified Mazda CX-9 and I absolutely love it! I test drove a Toyota Highlander, Ford Explorer, and Traverse and I chose the CX-9. So much fun to drive, perfect size, sporty, awesome technology features! Definitely test drive one before you buy your next third row SUV! You get a lot of bang for your buck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

second cx9

by nana cab from temecula, California on June 25, 2014

I traded in my 2010 cx9 for a 2014 cx9. I decided to lease the 2014 because I wanted the safety features on mirrors and backing up. It is an awesome value. The car is comfortable, roomy and extremely quiet. "I got mine at Hine."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I have owned it for 3 weeks

by Pat D from Chicago on July 3, 2017

The car meets all of my current needs for comfort and performance as well as functionality with my family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far very enjoyable

by Nick F from Wichita, KS on November 26, 2017

Recently bought this CX-9 and am enjoying the features on there. The seats are a little stiff but need to be broken in, but everything else is wonderful. Love the power under the hood, has quite a bit of get up and go, handles great and the overall performance is fantastic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 2ND CX-9, Better than the first!

by KC Road Warrior from Kansas City on May 31, 2014

After having driven a 2009 CX-9 and putting 136,000 miles on it while only replacing a set of tires and windshield wipers (along with regular oil changes), I had to get another one. I like the 2014 even better because of some standard features on the Touring model that were not on my last CX-9. The backup camera is awesome and the blind spot monitoring in the mirrors is great. The Tech package also provides fog lights, which I use a bunch. The Bose system is fantastic! The only thing lacking on the Touring Model which I find would be a helpful safety feature would be the turn signal indicators in the fronts of the mirrors. Other than that, this is a quiet, powerful and roomy car that gives you a high end feel for a reasonable price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

New to Mazda world, I'm a fan so far

by AE86 Driver from Seattle, WA on February 26, 2015

bought a certified used CX-9 GT, fully loaded (no sunroof but with rear seat dvd system). originally wasn't considering another SUV but i've been driving SUVs forever and i like having the room for extra passengers, the dogs, and our bikes. handles pretty well and feels very solid. it's also very comfortable, we can't wait to take this thing on a road trip again. tech wise, it's got a lot of bells and whistles appropriate for a vehicle today. everything is laid out well, appears to be well thought out. gas mileage isn't great but on par with 7 seaters (SUV and minivan). uses regular unleaded fuel so that's a plus. overall a good value in my opinion and doesn't look like every other car (or SUV) on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2014 Mazda CX-9