2007 Mazda3

Consumer Reviews

2007 Mazda Mazda3

$2,334 - $8,750  MSRP Range
2007 Mazda Mazda3

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

75 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Mazda Mazda3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun in this class

by Smintzy from Bronx, NY on Thu May 06 2010

I purchased a 2007 Mazda 3 (Grand Touring) about 2 months ago. The car had 29k miles at the time of purchase. Overall, the car is in great shape, minus a few careless mistakes by the previous owner. This car is very good looking as well as quick and fun to drive. The motor truly feels more powerful than its 156 hp rating, especially above 3500 RPM. Low end torque could be a little better, but that's nitpicking. Handling is superb. A quick trip through some winding back roads proved that this car was built with the budget enthusiast in mind. The interior is well laid out and I like the grand touring options (leather, Bose stereo, sunroof). The bizarre thing is that I have power everything, except seats. The seats still use the old fashioned bar to slide back and forth. I have encountered no reliability issues thus far. All electronics work perfectly. Engine and manual transmission are smooth. So far, I love this car and would recommend the Mazda 3 over a civic or the always-boring corolla any day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and Reliable

by Chris from Washington, DC on Mon Nov 14 2011

This car is so much fun that when it was time to trade it I decided to purchase a 2010 model. Unmatched equipment levels for a compact and fun to drive factor cemented my reasons for sticking with the Mazda3.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, fun, fast

by Doug from California on Mon Sep 01 2014

I bought my 2007 Mazda3 2.3 Hatchback new. It has 106,000 miles on it. I have never replaced the clutch, and it feels like it will go another 100K miles. I get 27 mpg average, and on the freeway, if I work for it, I can get 35 mpg. It is a manual; I usually accelerate slowly until I get up to 3000 rpm. I shift as smoothly as possible. I get all fluids replaced ( and then some ) on schedule. I live on the coast in Calif, so no snow, ice, low temperature, nor salt problems. The paint is as good as new. I have had a wheel bearing problem (one). No fluid leaks. Had the timing belt replaced on schedule. It accelerates like a snail until 3000 rpm, and then the car comes alive. I figure keeping it below 3000 as much as possible, without lugging it, will give it a longer life span. Maybe $3000 in actual repair since 2007. The interior looks brand new; no faded colors; no wear nor tear in the seats. I love my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car

by Mazda 3 owner from Long Beach, CA on Thu Jul 16 2009

I bought this car when I was stationed in Guam. The gas mileage is phenomenal. A full tank would last me little over two weeks and the fact that I drive the car everyday to work total of 10 miles per day min. As far as comfort goes its pretty good and the handling is excellent. However the only thing Im not completely satisfied with is the acceleration. Its slow and a it sounds like its struggling. If you want a car thats good in gas, reliable, and handles good then this is for you. But if you're looking for "The Fast and the Furious", this car is the opposite.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Mazda3

by Erin from Cape Coral, FL on Tue Feb 15 2011

I LOVE my new Mazda3. I bought it about 4 months ago. It is so much fun to drive, has alot more power than I expected, and I have gotten so many compliments on how sporty it looks. Highly recommend these cars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

trouble after 3 weeks

by Elle from Southern CT on Sun Apr 07 2013

I bought this "mint condition" 2007 Mazda3 s GT 2.3L 5-speed automatic (with manual shift as well). After 3 weeks of driving this car, it kept jerking me into 3rd gear at 70mph on the highway. Turned out it needed a new turbine sensor control, a new engine mount, and a new transmission control module, all totaling l of $1487 in repairs, just 3 weeks after purchase. The car now runs great and has great performance, but I am finding it literally sucks down the gasoline. I appear to have an 11.5 gallon tank and get only about 230-250 miles per tank. Seems like I live at the gas station. Once I got all these repairs, I love the car but wish the gas mileage was better (way better) and hope I don;t have to put any more money into my so-called "mint condition" car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

5th Mazda I have owned for great reasons

by Mazda 3 S 2.3L 4 door from Raleigh, NC on Mon Dec 19 2011

Great on gas, stylish, modern, fun to drive, smooth transmission, quiet motor, dependable, reliable, attractive looking car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

thanks north east auto credit

by adam from lorain ohio on Thu Mar 26 2015

i got this car for north east auto credit adam did ever thing he could to get me this car and I love it I recommend north east auto credit to ever one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value

by Practical buyer from Gaithersburg, MD on Mon Feb 12 2007

In light of the low price, can't get a better value for the dollar. Sure the door panels don't make a solid thud when closed. Sure the carpet is thin. Sure the road noise is loud. But I was buying an economy car, and as far as economy cars, this is one of the better engineered cars I've driven. The clutch is smooth (I bought their manual transmission model). Acceleration is there. The gas mileage is impressive for the oompf you get. The crash rating is above average, and all the 'good' features are part of the base package (No need to spend extra thousands for something as basic as split rear seats). The interior and exterior styling is a bit young for me, but apart from that I'd recommend this car to anyone. It has all the features that I would want in a commuter car: CD, height adjustable seats, tilt and distance adjustable steering wheel, side air bags, remote door locks and cabin airfilter. Value, safety and economy are the words I would use to describe this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not a bad car

by BobbyBob from Amityville, NY on Thu Nov 10 2011

Had the Mazda3 for 3.5 years. Fun car to drive, I really get the "Zoom-Zoom" feeling. I average 27mpg overall (mostly highway miles). It is a comfortable car up front, in the back, not so much. The engine had to be replaced at 86xxx, the clutch needed to be replaced at the same time, shocks went after 50k. The brakes had to be replaced at 40 and 80k. Overal reliability not great. Maybe I had a bad car or enjoyed the "zoom-zoom" too much.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2007 Mazda Mazda3


Not long ago, I wrote about the Mazdaspeed3, Mazda's 263-horsepower hot-rod version of its entry-level car. A reader e-mailed, wondering if it was really worth the price premium over a regular Mazda3 S model: The Mazda- speed3 I tested listed for almost $25,000, and they've been so scarce this year that some dealers have added their own markups to the car.

I told the reader that for me, a regular midlevel version of the Mazda3 was so entertaining that I'd be hard-pressed to justify the extra money, especially since the best you could likely hope for with the Mazdaspeed3 is to pay list price, while you can expect a healthy discount on the regular version.

After a week with a Mazda3 S Touring, I'm pretty... Read More