Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 E-Class

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

$1,938 - $10,622  MSRP Range
2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

32 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

MB320

by Long Hall Driver from Los Angeles, CA on Thu May 18 2006

Excellent ride on highway. Definately not a speed racer. Slow start for acceleration but once started, your fine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Low Price Luxury. Large aftermarket exposure.

by BBB from Philly Burbs, PA on Sun May 21 2017

$70K car for $5K or less? You bet. Mercedes E500 4Matic wagon offers excellent value and super V8 performance. Find one extra clean and get after market repair parts for a 1/4 cost of factory parts. Don't be fearful of repairs to the air ride, brakes or foggy headlights. That's why these go for pennies on the dollar. Inexpensive solutions now exist for all of these issues that crop up after 100K miles. How- To videos abound on the net. Do your home work and you will be rewarded with class leading luxury and sleeper-car performance. And above all have fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car Ive Owned

by luxurious cars enthusiast from doncaster on Wed Mar 04 2015

i personally have always loved mercedes and on this car i have the amg one and has lots of power could be quciker but i think that they should focus on reliability but it is also a very spacious car and great for familys

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Quality Car

by Northern VA Purchaser from Northern, VA on Wed Jun 25 2014

In general, good quality car. interior controls are better laid out than our previous 1999 E320 Wagon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing value, style, comfort, reliability AWESOM.

by Quai Noi from San Francisco, CA. on Mon Oct 01 2018

I bought this E320 4-MATIC for my 80 year old mother. I?ve owned 6 Mercedes and currently own a 2018. My wife and I live in California and drive this car out to my mother in St. Louis MO. This gave us a great opportunity to put the car through its paces under a variety of conditions including torrential rains in the mountains ?, backwoods gravel roads for trout fishing and lots of highways and city traffic. I paid $3,800 for the car. It had 187,000 miles on it when purchased. The car had nearly every option except navigation. Because it was a gift and because I?ve driven German cars since the ?80?s I told my mechanic of 20 years: Fox everything the car needs and do all services including transmission. The total cost was$1,700. However my mechanic told me the car was in great condition and didn?t need anything but since I wanted all services done he did. Also I put only Mercedes parts or OEM on my cars. What we learned: this was a one owner car. The transmission fluid and filter needed changing but it didn?t say it did. Changed all the spark plugs and the old plugs needed changing but again didn?t say it was due. Inspected everything changed the main serpentine belt. Plus every fluid, radiator flush, even wiper blades ($80). Interior was in excellent condition as was the exterior. The front headlight lens bezels had a little fog from UV but paid $100 to fix that. Road trip: as I said at the start this is my 6th Mercedes and second 4-MATIC, I?ve owned: C?s, G?s & E?s. The fuel objected non turbo V6 is my favorite because it?s rugged, reliable and reasonably powerful. This E320 didn?t disappoint. That said it?s a big car and the output is 221HP. While that?s exactly the same horsepower in the new E300 it?s less than the 302HP in my wife?s E350. The E320 isn?t going to win any drag races, but it?s excellent transmission and engine provide plenty of power and everyday passes others effortlessly under most conditions. One thing I noticed right away was how quiet the E320 was. It?s actually quieter than my own 2018 C-Class. My mother describes it as driving on a cloud. It?s quiet and comfortable for sure, but it still drink Vea as a sports sedan should. The 2004 E320 in Sport Mode provides enough sensory feedback and road feel to the driver to be nimble without being intrusive. The car is great on fuel economy too. I?m a spirited driver and averaged 18 around town and up to 30 on the highway but mostly 26. The seats are VERY comfortable fully electric, adjustable and heated. The hands free and keyless start works great. All in all the 2004 E320 is an amazing car that runs like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

by Realtor for life from Emeryville, CA on Thu May 18 2006

I purchased this car used with about 16K miles on it. What I love about the car is that service is only required every 12K-13K miles. That is unbelievable. The ride is awesome. I have had absolutely no problems with the vehicle in my 2nd year. Performance handling is slick, fast and very responsive. Gas mileage runs around 22 MPH which I find acceptable. Rear seat passengers rave about the comfort both interior and ride. Given the opportunity I would purchase this car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pride of Ownership

by Crazy for Mercedes-Benz from Fort Wayne, IN on Wed Apr 13 2011

When I purchased my E-Class just 2 months ago as a used vehicle, little apprehensive if it was a good buy or not. In just 2 months, I have had $2,370 in repairs. Fearful of the next big repair. Module in dashboard had to be replaced ($1,500), auxilary battery ($250), lower ball joint ($300), some interior trim ($200) --- diagnostic charges to discover malfunctions ($300). Lots of dependable power under the hood (E-500). Rides smoothly. Interior design is creative and sporty with 2-tone trim and wood accents; leather seats. Roomy enough to transport 3 additional passengers in comfort. Overall exterior design is classy with interesting lines. Stylish rims. Great factory sound system. This is the 5th Benz I have owned! Believe that Mercedes-Benz is one of the most beautiful machines on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

E500 4matic- great car, a few catches...

by Anycar Expert from Philadelphia, PA on Tue Jun 27 2006

We bought the E500 in the middle of 2004 as a new car. Compared to our former car, a 1997 E320, it dominated it in every comparison. Maybe it's not completely right to compare them, as the old one had only front wheel drive and a smaller 3.2 liter V6 engine compared to all wheel drive and a 5.0 liter V8 with 302 horses, and about a $7,500 price difference, but when compared, the stats aren't the only thing in a completely different league. As for the E500, the performance is very good, particularly the handling, and even more the handling in..."close encounters." The one, major, downside of this handling, which Mercedes realized and corrected for the 2006 model year, was that the E500 was only available with the otherwise optional 19 inch wheels. They're great for driving on tracks, but one pot hole and bang! not only a popped tire but a broken wheel, $2500 to replace, which, after the fifth one, can become a bit of an inonvienence. The interior is great, as with most Mercedes, a real improvement over the older car, with Burl Walnut wood, fantastically comfortable leather seats, and it all fit together splendidly. Electronically, this was before Mercedes began installing the Command system, so it was nice and simple to control everything from the radio the the suspension mode. Taking all this into account, one can't forget that this a product of the Chrysler-owned Mercedes brand, otherwise meaning that reliability isn't exactly te strongest point, particulary electronic...errors. I'm not to sure about how the safety features really hold up as the handling is so good that I haven't needed it, not to mention the four wheel drive that is a real improvement compared to only two wheel drive. The level of prestige that comes with this car, combined with the many appealing features, and the SOS button for those not so appealing, combine to make this car a great bet, new as we bought it in '04, or used for and prospective buyers now. I hope this review helps and good luck finding a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I would buy another anytime

by DrPete from Raleigh, NC on Sat Nov 20 2010

The performance and styling are flawless. For this particular model there were 3 areas of improvement: (i) location of the navigation/radio system, (ii) a/c and (iii) privacy shades. MB product managers catched-up with those improvements in the later models. This is one of the best cars I have driven over the past 30 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The most expensive car I've owned

by Lumpy from Florida on Sat Mar 13 2010

How can a car that costs $55,000+ be built so terribly? Just for starters the four plastic door locks all broke, I had to replace the cup holder ($100) twice, vanity mirror plastic cover broke ($90), two batteries ($1,00+), power steering pump ($1,000+)and on and on. The electronic system goes out and then miraculously repairs itself and finally, the gas line canister and filter are bad causing my garage to reek of gas when I fill up the car. I just got rid of this lemon and purchased a new Japanese car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

28 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2004 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

A long, late-night drive home is not nearly so troubling with the proper car, and recently that car was the 2004 Mercedes-Benz E500 4Matic. The E-Class is the midsized Mercedes sedan, larger than the C-Class, smaller than the S-Class.

If there's a serious problem with the E500, it's that it's so nicely executed that I can't imagine why I would spend an extra $22,000 or so for the $86,970 Mercedes S500 4Matic.

Yes, the E500 4Matic isn't cheap, with a base price exceeding $58,000 and a total price as tested of $65,200.

The S-Class is about a foot longer than the E-Class, but the E seems very much the right size: plenty of room in the back seat, a big trunk and small enough to navigate city traffic... Read More