2007 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

$7,135 - $14,803  MSRP Range
2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

37 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

too good to be true?

by Tom from Florida on Tue Jun 05 2007

Too good to be true?Yes!I love this car because:it's the most comfortable car i've owned,great handling, looks great inside and out,i am amazed by these features and it is defently worth the money!When i drive, on this SUV, i'm getting 25 mpg!Too good to be true?No! Way too good to be true!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by KB1994 from Nevada on Mon Apr 17 2017

This car is amazing. Super reliable and has great road presence. I would highly recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great car with LOT of problems

by Dorka from Carol Stream,IL on Fri Jun 23 2017

I have owned it for 2 years .It is a great vehicle,but way too many issues.Since I have owned it ,it is in and out of service.And costly.I still like this car a lot,it is great family car,but not reliable.Maybe it is just my car... But I do know that steering wheel buttons will get worn out on GL and ML mercedeses and same with ash tray popping out every time I drive on harder road.( my dad has 06 ML)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for road trips

by Isentropic from MI on Tue Feb 06 2018

I drove my 2007 GL450 drove all the way from Seattle to Michigan with my wife through some very bad snowstorms. Thank God, we arrived OK. It was unnerving at times, and I was worried about how the car would perform. Thankfully, it didn't break down. I used to own a 2001 ML320 (W163) that I took to 240,000 miles before giving to another family member that's still using it as a daily driver. I'm hoping this GL can also achieve such longevity. The leather seats are very comfortable for long journeys. One finicky thing is the Keyless Go. I just cannot get it to work on the driver's side. The passenger side works fine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

No that's bad for a first try

by Miken23 from Washington DC on Sat Sep 16 2017

Definitely not an SUV S class. I own an an S class and it's far more refined. But as an SUV and first generation it's pretty darn good. The dashboard USB nicely wrapped in faux leather. It's a pity that it's the same interior as a cheaper m class. The door panels are made out of this odd soft touch plastic that is hard unless you push hard on it. The car is smooth but definitely a lot of wind noise. Could work on the refinement of door clunks and quality

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very happy with this car.

by Daddy cool from Boston on Wed Feb 21 2007

I love this car, traded my Acura MDX for it and enjoy driving it. Drives more like a car than SUV. Great for hauling kids as long as they are out of car seats. Gets difficult for kids in car seats, can't beat the minivan for small kids.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes GL320

by Peter from Omaha, NE on Thu Jun 08 2017

This suv is spacious, comfortable and has the needed power to tow some serious weight (7000 lbs) It has been reliable and gets very good mileage for its size ( 20 in town, 24 highway) since its a diesel engine. I am very pleased and would buy another one. Maintenance is pricey if you do not know a repair place or someone other than the dealership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance and Classy Car. Great on gas

by Systems3 from DC on Thu Apr 19 2018

This is excellent in term of performance and gas mileage. This is the diesel type. Great on gas. Averages over 20mpg. With regular oil changes there is little to worry about. Sensors are sometimes temperamental and they fault easily. Nice sound system. Takes time to get used to all the different gadgets and instruments. With patience you are good to go. Seats are plush leather. Dual sunroof/moonroof makes it fashionable and enjoyable. Overall, I am pleased with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Full Size Luxury

by phxmug from Phoenix, AZ on Sat Apr 08 2017

Those who are looking to escape the harshness of the outside can find comfort and luxury with the GL

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Consider Another Luxury SUV

by Guy Who Likes Cars And Stuff from West Virginia on Fri Jan 27 2012

In the long run, you'll wish you chose a more reliable brand. The '07 GL is a beautiful, capable SUV that performs very well for what it is. The 7-speed transmission is always in exactly the right gear, and the 4.7-liter V-8 is powerful enough for anything from autobahn cruising speeds to off-roading (I've driven it through very deep snow, on the beach, through rocky fields, rough terrain, etc.). This thing is unstoppable thanks to the AIRMATIC suspension. It seats 7 comfortably, and has excellent cargo room. It even gets relatively good fuel economy for a big SUV: I've gotten an average of 17 mpg in city and highway driving, and I often get up to 19, even 20 on long trips. The caveat is that this SUV has quite a few quality and reliability issues. If you want to keep your luxury SUV for longer than 3-4 years, consider one of the Japanese or American competitors. In the first year of ownership, the AIRMATIC pump stopped working and was fixed under warranty, but it was eventually replaced after it stopped working again (it would not rise up and the pump was constantly groaning). The transmission would often get "stuck" in a certain gear and refused to shift, at which point you had to turn off the car and restart it for it be normal again (I figured this somehow "rebooted" the car's computer). This was also repaired under warranty. After this, it started shifting funny, and they had to replace the ENTIRE transmission (under warranty). This would have cost me a fortune. Let's see: $500 oil changes, electronic glitches in the moonroof, flaking chrome, a broken third-row seat motor, and now the latest surprise, a broken steering pump, and a faulty rear engine seal, the total of which will cost about $5000 to repair. The car only has 75k miles at this point. I've owned all kinds of cars over the years, from American to Japanese to German, but this is one of the worst cars I've ever experienced in reliability. But, but.....it's a MERCEDES!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

50 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

While sales of some SUVs are suffering -- Ford's Excursion and Explorer and Chevrolet's Suburban, for example -- the market for high-end luxury SUVs remains strong despite their appetite for gas and prices that can easily top $60,000.

Take, for example, today's test car, the 2007 Mercedes-Benz GL450.

It's not as if the world really needed another big SUV, but Mercedes-Benz certainly needed to produce one. The loyal owners of other Benz models were looking elsewhere when they went in search of heft and hauteur.

Even owners of the company's M-Class cars were leaving the brand to pay lots of money for someone else's luxury behemoth SUV.

Porsche, known for its sports cars, drove down this road in 2002 and... Read More