Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

$11,161 - $26,065  MSRP Range
2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

27 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY FROM PREMIER PLUS AUTO in Columbia

by Rhonda from Charlotte NC on Fri Nov 18 2016

Be very cautious of this dealership Premier Auto in Columbia and DO NOT BUY THE 2011 GL450 silver for sale. I live in Charlotte and took off work to drive down to Columbia to check out this car. I scheduled an apt with the Mercedes dealership and got a pre purchase inspection. There is $7k worth of work needed done on this car. If you only drove the car and did not get it inspected you would think there are no issues. Thankfully I paid $159 to confirm and was made aware of the issues. $2800 for the front air suspensions to be fixed. $900 front brake pads need replaced. That will be the 3rd time with only 61,000 miles that the front brakes need replaced. As well as an intake manifold issue that showed up in the computer - that issue may not be as serious as the other 2 though. I went back to the dealership and advised them of this and they were not even willing to drop the price $2000 to at least pay for the majority of the air suspension to be fixed!! I was willing to deal with the other issues. So basically no negotiations on the price and GM Floyd was not helpful at all and very unprofessional. I was seriously considering getting this car and spent my time and $200 + dollars on inspection + gas + rental car and the dealership was not willing to budge on anything. But then again, why would Floyd drop the price when the next person can come in without getting inspected and think it's a great car. $7k worth of work needed. Very unprofessional dealership!! I will say James -who I originally called and spoke to about the car was very polite and helpful. Stay away from this car and be very cautious about the dealership.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Don't fall for the good looks

by Combridgian from Boston, MA on Mon Jan 22 2018

This is my wife's daily driver / kids taxi and our transport for vacation road trip to grandma's place. We bought it new and drive it about 12,500 mi/yr. It still looks nice but is a money pit. I've replaced the 'air bag' for air suspension on multiple wheels, multiple times at $400 +/- a pop per wheel, the struts leak at about 35k miles ($175 + labor), the door locks and window winders failed on 2 doors (M-B did help me with their replacement cost), annual interval service is well over a grand and the last 80k service interval was quoted at $640 but ended at $1,582. A 'Check Engine' light for irregular miss-fire on Cyl #3 required $300+ replacement of a coil and recommendation for a $1500 replacement of intake air manifold (not a repairable part)... Then Last Saturday I had to have it towed to the dealer as it would crank but not start. Now the dealer says i need to replace the cylinder head for cylinder bank 1,3,5,7 costing another $5,400. I've had to do more maintenance on this 7 year old 'Premium' Mercedes SUV than in a 1992 Chevy or 2007 Acura both with over 120k miles. I'm wondering if there is any 'Premium' other than their pricing. There certainly isn't any German Quality Engineering in the truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great experience!

by bchickma from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Mar 20 2017

For a large SUV, the GL450 is amazing to drive. This feels more like a car than a truck (like the Ford Expedition and GMC Yukon). The smooth ride (airmatic suspension) yet quick steering response, makes for a nice sport-like feel. Plus, though I have gotten 14 mpg in stop-and-go city street driving, I am mostly getting 17 - 18 mpg. I even got 20 mpg! Great mileage from a big SUV! The seats are supportive, yet comfortable over long distances. The V8 responds quickly (also due to transmission) to the accelerator, and the brakes are truly spectacular. The stopping distance from highway speed to zero in an emergency is nothing short of amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for road trips

by thedad from BAKERSFIELD, CA on Wed Aug 09 2017

Ok there is quite a bit of bad press on these some definitely warranted and some not. First off this is a great road car, Just eats up the miles in comfort no matter what the speed or road conditions. Its quiet inside and has good but not great power. Fuel mileage in reality is about 18-19 mpg which is a bit thirsty but not out of line considering the size and weight. The very back seats are a little difficult to access. The head rest for the second row can impede this if the front pass seat is moved all the way back or the head rest is raised up. The rear a/c for third row is not good. biggest known problem is the air suspension bags which split and leak causing the front ore rear to sag, the suspension compressor to run until it also fails. The factory parts are junk had to upgrade to Arnott brand which makes excellent replacements. The fact that the factory units are expensive and failure prone is unacceptable in a vehicle of this price. Another known problem is harsh and intermittent trans shifting. Ive read its a valve body issue and you have to pull the trans to access it. Mine was acting up but after a fluid change and a new filter the problem went away. Overall i really like it but the wife doesnt trust it anymore because of the air suspension and trans issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Bluetec engine Locks Up!!

by Mikemid from Texas on Sun Aug 19 2018

I wrote a review below in September 2017 under mikemid in which i praised the car. I WAS COMPLEYELY WRONG!!....... It is now august 2018 less than 1 year and 7000 miles later and Engine Is Locked up!!! This car is WORST CAR EVER MADE!!! I lost 19000 dollars because replacing engine cost 25000 dollars. The Bluetec engine recirculation of Exhaust gases causes it to SLUDGE Engine oil Horrendously Because of HORRIBLE ENGINE DESIGN BY MERCEDES. No Other diesel does this. I also just spent 1700 on a new Turbo 1 month before Engine seized. Never BUY A a Mercedes Diesel Ever!!! BLUETEC DIESEL IS A Lemon Engine!!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and reliable

by mikey22 from san francisco on Tue Apr 04 2017

I'd recommend this car. It's great for seating up to six passengers. The third row actually serves as a third row. It has a lot of power, and definitely reliable. I loved this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car is not available

by John Brooks from Long Island New York on Mon Jun 09 2014

This car is great but its not available. They use this trick to lure you into the dealership. Just beware.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle

by Patrick's SUV on Wed Jul 05 2017

This is our first luxury SUV. and we were not disappointed. Very stylish on the outside and comfortable on the inside. The kids love the back seat entertainment center. The third row seat gives us more room for the grandkids and when we don't need the seats, we push a button and they go down automatically. We are in LOVE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid built car

by Captain rmw from Miami on Tue Feb 13 2018

What a luxury automobile should be, luxurious interior, very comfortable ride, excellent fit and finish, timeless styling but unfortunately very expensive to repair but still worth the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good

by hgconrad from Washington DC on Mon Aug 25 2014

purchased the MB 2011 ML350. took it on a raod trip and after 1,500 miles very satisfied with the car in performance, mileage, and comfort.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Let's face it: If you're smitten by Mercedes-Benz's GL-Class full-size SUV, the recent run-up in prices at the pump probably rates somewhere between insignificant and unimportant in your car search. With seating for seven, the Mercedes-Benz GL-Class is a big SUV — and it gulps fuel like one. Even the most efficient version, the GL350 Bluetec diesel we tested, manages just an EPA-estimated 17/21 mpg city/highway. Likely more important to you would be a comfortable ride with commanding views, space for the family and all their stuff, and a level of luxury to justify a $60,000-plus base price.

While the GL350 Bluetec diesel delivers the cushy ride, a combination of limited... Read More