NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2011 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

$6,137 - $28,741  MSRP Range
2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

31 Reviews
68% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY FROM PREMIER PLUS AUTO in Columbia

by Rhonda from Charlotte NC on Fri Nov 18 2016

Be very cautious of this dealership Premier Auto in Columbia and DO NOT BUY THE 2011 GL450 silver for sale. I live in Charlotte and took off work to drive down to Columbia to check out this car. I scheduled an apt with the Mercedes dealership and got a pre purchase inspection. There is $7k worth of work needed done on this car. If you only drove the car and did not get it inspected you would think there are no issues. Thankfully I paid $159 to confirm and was made aware of the issues. $2800 for the front air suspensions to be fixed. $900 front brake pads need replaced. That will be the 3rd time with only 61,000 miles that the front brakes need replaced. As well as an intake manifold issue that showed up in the computer - that issue may not be as serious as the other 2 though. I went back to the dealership and advised them of this and they were not even willing to drop the price $2000 to at least pay for the majority of the air suspension to be fixed!! I was willing to deal with the other issues. So basically no negotiations on the price and GM Floyd was not helpful at all and very unprofessional. I was seriously considering getting this car and spent my time and $200 + dollars on inspection + gas + rental car and the dealership was not willing to budge on anything. But then again, why would Floyd drop the price when the next person can come in without getting inspected and think it's a great car. $7k worth of work needed. Very unprofessional dealership!! I will say James -who I originally called and spoke to about the car was very polite and helpful. Stay away from this car and be very cautious about the dealership.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for road trips

by thedad from BAKERSFIELD, CA on Wed Aug 09 2017

Ok there is quite a bit of bad press on these some definitely warranted and some not. First off this is a great road car, Just eats up the miles in comfort no matter what the speed or road conditions. Its quiet inside and has good but not great power. Fuel mileage in reality is about 18-19 mpg which is a bit thirsty but not out of line considering the size and weight. The very back seats are a little difficult to access. The head rest for the second row can impede this if the front pass seat is moved all the way back or the head rest is raised up. The rear a/c for third row is not good. biggest known problem is the air suspension bags which split and leak causing the front ore rear to sag, the suspension compressor to run until it also fails. The factory parts are junk had to upgrade to Arnott brand which makes excellent replacements. The fact that the factory units are expensive and failure prone is unacceptable in a vehicle of this price. Another known problem is harsh and intermittent trans shifting. Ive read its a valve body issue and you have to pull the trans to access it. Mine was acting up but after a fluid change and a new filter the problem went away. Overall i really like it but the wife doesnt trust it anymore because of the air suspension and trans issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great experience!

by bchickma from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Mar 20 2017

For a large SUV, the GL450 is amazing to drive. This feels more like a car than a truck (like the Ford Expedition and GMC Yukon). The smooth ride (airmatic suspension) yet quick steering response, makes for a nice sport-like feel. Plus, though I have gotten 14 mpg in stop-and-go city street driving, I am mostly getting 17 - 18 mpg. I even got 20 mpg! Great mileage from a big SUV! The seats are supportive, yet comfortable over long distances. The V8 responds quickly (also due to transmission) to the accelerator, and the brakes are truly spectacular. The stopping distance from highway speed to zero in an emergency is nothing short of amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and reliable

by mikey22 from san francisco on Tue Apr 04 2017

I'd recommend this car. It's great for seating up to six passengers. The third row actually serves as a third row. It has a lot of power, and definitely reliable. I loved this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable seating for 7 Adults, good size SUV

by Amit from Aurora on Fri Nov 30 2018

We were looking to move away from a minivan as kids were growing up, but at the same time wanted the option to have seating for 7/8. This was better than some of the other luxury 3-row SUV's out in the market. Cannot beat a Minivan's cargo space, but with the third row seat folded down, it had enough space to fit luggage. Drive was smoother than what I expected considering it was a large SUV with upgraded 20 inch wheels. Driving this car with the kids felt much safer due to the sturdiness of the vehicle, but also was nimble enough to maneuver through turns and tight spots.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car is not available

by John Brooks from Long Island New York on Mon Jun 09 2014

This car is great but its not available. They use this trick to lure you into the dealership. Just beware.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid built car

by Captain rmw from Miami on Tue Feb 13 2018

What a luxury automobile should be, luxurious interior, very comfortable ride, excellent fit and finish, timeless styling but unfortunately very expensive to repair but still worth the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

DONT BUY USED

by NeverMB from manchester,nh on Tue May 12 2015

I bought a 2011 GL450 used with 67000. Running rough, Mercedes informs me that the passenger side cylinder head is bad and needs to be replaced for about 5000 dollars. They refused to ackowledge that as far back as 2007 these part are bad from the factory. No warranty coverage and lots of excuses. Vehicle was services on time at Mercedes dealer for every service. Mercedes quality? I should have kept my LEXUS. The Mercedes eletronics are not A2DP compliant and will not stream Bluetooth, and the navigation is cumbersome and 10 years out of date.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Don't fall for the good looks

by Combridgian from Boston, MA on Mon Jan 22 2018

This is my wife's daily driver / kids taxi and our transport for vacation road trip to grandma's place. We bought it new and drive it about 12,500 mi/yr. It still looks nice but is a money pit. I've replaced the 'air bag' for air suspension on multiple wheels, multiple times at $400 +/- a pop per wheel, the struts leak at about 35k miles ($175 + labor), the door locks and window winders failed on 2 doors (M-B did help me with their replacement cost), annual interval service is well over a grand and the last 80k service interval was quoted at $640 but ended at $1,582. A 'Check Engine' light for irregular miss-fire on Cyl #3 required $300+ replacement of a coil and recommendation for a $1500 replacement of intake air manifold (not a repairable part)... Then Last Saturday I had to have it towed to the dealer as it would crank but not start. Now the dealer says i need to replace the cylinder head for cylinder bank 1,3,5,7 costing another $5,400. I've had to do more maintenance on this 7 year old 'Premium' Mercedes SUV than in a 1992 Chevy or 2007 Acura both with over 120k miles. I'm wondering if there is any 'Premium' other than their pricing. There certainly isn't any German Quality Engineering in the truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Family Car

by Busy Mom from Raleigh, NC on Thu Sep 29 2011

I went from a Minivan to the 2012 GL 450. I like the 3rd row seating and power lift gate in the back. The safety features attracted us to this car. The blind spot detector is our favorite safety feature and next would have to be the locking seat belts. The down sides I see are that the 2nd row seat belts don't adjust up and down which can be rough on little necks. The headrests in the back are bulky and a bit uncomfortable. When I take a call, the kids can't watch the video I'm playing from the front COMAND system. The COMAND system also won't automatically play videos when the car starts... I have to turn them on with the remotes. Plus * The kids can watch videos in the back using wireless headphones while I can finally listen to what I want. MBRACE is an amazing feature. We have already used it while traveling to find out what was causing traffic on the highway and the representative could tell us exactly how much longer the delay was and alternative routes. I feel very at ease knowing they are there in the event of an emergency as well. The keyless start and entry is a bit tricky. My husband was driving and I had the keys in my car. As he dropped me off and continued on to our vacation home, he realized he didn't have the key and couldn't start the car once it was turned off. We quickly removed the push button from the key hole and solely use the key now. Overall and magnificent car- smooth, quiet ride and lots of power.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Let's face it: If you're smitten by Mercedes-Benz's GL-Class full-size SUV, the recent run-up in prices at the pump probably rates somewhere between insignificant and unimportant in your car search. With seating for seven, the Mercedes-Benz GL-Class is a big SUV — and it gulps fuel like one. Even the most efficient version, the GL350 Bluetec diesel we tested, manages just an EPA-estimated 17/21 mpg city/highway. Likely more important to you would be a comfortable ride with commanding views, space for the family and all their stuff, and a level of luxury to justify a $60,000-plus base price.

While the GL350 Bluetec diesel delivers the cushy ride, a combination of limited... Read More