Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2014 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews

2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

$21,365 - $50,193  MSRP Range
2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

my 2nd GL / my 3rd Benz

by ShelDeb from Sioux Falls, SD on Fri Sep 15 2017

I have bought my last two GL550's pre-owned, so for a fraction of the cost new, which I feel is the way to do it even if I feel I should purchase an extended warranty. With the GL550, it is a wonderful vehicle, with comfort, prestige, power, & overall luxury. You do have to 'pay to play' as things like tires are expensive for this vehicle and if in a region with snow, you should have a set of dedicated winter tires as well. Overall, reliability has been great, but with every Mercedes I have owned, there is eventually an air shock that needs to be repaired or replaced eventually. It has not deterred me from repeat buying this vehicle and I love it overall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by miky from new york on Fri May 02 2014

one of the nicest suv.Drive and handle like a car. comfort and control better then lexus - only little problem is 3rd row seat are not easily accessible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value with so much to offer

by AustinRocks from Austin, TX on Sun Nov 19 2017

We just missed the chance to get the perfect pre-owned GL550. If you see one with low miles, certified and loaded BUY IT, you won’t regret it. Performance, luxury and let’s not forget “utility” make this a must buy!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle with a couple of caveats

by sheldeb from Sioux Falls, SD on Thu Jun 29 2017

I bought this vehicle pre-owned. This is my 2nd GL550. I did not realize until after I purchased it that there is an issue with the rear headrests, especially if you have the automatic folding rear seats - they do not suit children, as they stick out far and a child's head must bend forward or be under it to be comfortable. I among others on a Mercedes Forum have filed a complaint with the design with the NTSB. That aside, I like the improvements over my 2009 GL550 very much, it rides great, looks better, and was a decent used SUV value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I ever owned

by ChrisNicols from Columbia, MD on Fri Aug 24 2018

This vehicle is a luxury SUV comparable only to the Range Rover Vogue, but even better because of the 3rd row sitting. I would say it's an S Class on stilts

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable SUV

by Car Lover from Maryland on Fri Jun 13 2014

The GL 450 MB is a superb car with terrific handing and very superior level of comfort. I love the car and have not looked back. This is car for long trips with children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jason from Hopelawn NJ on Tue Mar 21 2017

So far even with its slightly high mileage, this car is still performing at its best.... like new!...... imlove the options amd accesories .. comfort at its best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable SUV I have ever driven.

by Sid from Duluth, GA on Fri May 05 2017

It has a hard to find combination of Brown on Brown. Downsizing just husband and wife. It is a powerful performing car, both in sports and comfort modes. Always garage kept and serviced at MB dealer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GL350 Bluetec: great car, great engine

by Dutch family in Chicago from Chicago, IL on Mon Jul 14 2014

The GL350 Bluetec, though very hard to find is a great car, extremely luxurious, very fuel efficient (you can do 600 miles with one tank, costing $75 to fill up....). The whole car is very well thought out, extremely comfortable and very 'user-friendly'.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My GL450

by Silverdeal115 from Davenport. Florida on Fri May 05 2017

First Mercedes I've owned. Love it so far. Only had it for two months. But it is surly a bundle of technology. Very luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2013 about the 2013 Mercedes-Benz GL450. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Piloting the redesigned 2013 Mercedes-Benz GL450 feels like driving a massive bank vault — solid, quiet and heavy. And if you're not careful with the option sheet, you'll need your own bank vault to pay for it.

Certain vehicles are made with specific markets in mind. The Mercedes-Benz GL-Class is one of them — an expensive luxury SUV designed for the American market, built in Alabama and aimed at wealthy Americans' love for big, fancy trucks.

Larger than... Read More