2014 GL-Class

Consumer Reviews
2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

24 Reviews
2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

my 2nd GL / my 3rd Benz

by ShelDeb from Sioux Falls, SD on September 15, 2017

I have bought my last two GL550's pre-owned, so for a fraction of the cost new, which I feel is the way to do it even if I feel I should purchase an extended warranty. With the GL550, it is a wonderful vehicle, with comfort, prestige, power, & overall luxury. You do have to 'pay to play' as things like tires are expensive for this vehicle and if in a region with snow, you should have a set of dedicated winter tires as well. Overall, reliability has been great, but with every Mercedes I have owned, there is eventually an air shock that needs to be repaired or replaced eventually. It has not deterred me from repeat buying this vehicle and I love it overall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by miky from new york on May 2, 2014

one of the nicest suv.Drive and handle like a car. comfort and control better then lexus - only little problem is 3rd row seat are not easily accessible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle with a couple of caveats

by sheldeb from Sioux Falls, SD on June 29, 2017

I bought this vehicle pre-owned. This is my 2nd GL550. I did not realize until after I purchased it that there is an issue with the rear headrests, especially if you have the automatic folding rear seats - they do not suit children, as they stick out far and a child's head must bend forward or be under it to be comfortable. I among others on a Mercedes Forum have filed a complaint with the design with the NTSB. That aside, I like the improvements over my 2009 GL550 very much, it rides great, looks better, and was a decent used SUV value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value with so much to offer

by AustinRocks from Austin, TX on November 19, 2017

We just missed the chance to get the perfect pre-owned GL550. If you see one with low miles, certified and loaded BUY IT, you won’t regret it. Performance, luxury and let’s not forget “utility” make this a must buy!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable SUV

by Car Lover from Maryland on June 13, 2014

The GL 450 MB is a superb car with terrific handing and very superior level of comfort. I love the car and have not looked back. This is car for long trips with children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jason from Hopelawn NJ on March 21, 2017

So far even with its slightly high mileage, this car is still performing at its best.... like new!...... imlove the options amd accesories .. comfort at its best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent quality build.

by Spillmar from San Diego, CA on July 8, 2017

As a former owner of an Audi Q7, I can say that the Mercedes GL diesel that replaced it, is built more solid with less cabin noise. The engine is a bit more powerful, with much more torque and the tow package rated at 7000 pounds that came with it is more adept at towing larger items, like speed boat or a trailer. As to space, Our Mercedes GL has much more room and because of the dimensions of the rear, he can carry more volume of cargo. As to the electronics, one thing you need to keep in mind with the Mercedes, as you do an Audi, Is that these vehicles can be costly to maintain. My suggestion is invest in a good diagnostic tool so that you can find out every time a light on the dash turns on indicating an issue, you can identify The exact problem prior to going to the dealer as that can be quite expensive if your vehicle is out of warranty. Again it's a beautiful SUV which I believe is definitely worth it's price tag relative to other competing vehicles in its class. Just keep in mind that if you purchase a used vehicle try to get one that still under warranty and contact the dealer to get an extension for at least two years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable SUV I have ever driven.

by Sid from Duluth, GA on May 5, 2017

It has a hard to find combination of Brown on Brown. Downsizing just husband and wife. It is a powerful performing car, both in sports and comfort modes. Always garage kept and serviced at MB dealer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GL350 Bluetec: great car, great engine

by Dutch family in Chicago from Chicago, IL on July 14, 2014

The GL350 Bluetec, though very hard to find is a great car, extremely luxurious, very fuel efficient (you can do 600 miles with one tank, costing $75 to fill up....). The whole car is very well thought out, extremely comfortable and very 'user-friendly'.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My GL450

by Silverdeal115 from Davenport. Florida on May 5, 2017

First Mercedes I've owned. Love it so far. Only had it for two months. But it is surly a bundle of technology. Very luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2014 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class