Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 M-Class

Consumer Reviews

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

$4,602 - $12,082  MSRP Range
2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

39 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The M-Class, the good, the very good, the great!

by M-Class owner since 1998 (four M's and counting) from Scottsdale, AZ on Mon Jun 26 2006

The 2006 M-Class Mercedes is a work of art. Unlike its truck-like predecessor, the new M-Class is sporty, trendy, and a whole new animal. The new interior and exterior could catch any eye at a glance. The sleek, sexy look has finally rivaled the more "car-like" SUVs on the market. The very first aspect of the new M that is noticed--besides the look--is the handling, acceleration, and performance. The new 7-speed automatic transmission provides a smooth ride, ridding the truck stereotype. The first time I drove this beauty, I made sure to test and rate the handling. I accelerated out of the dealership parking lot, ran it up to 60mph and then more or less slammed on the brakes and whipped around a corner at a dangerous speed of 35mph. Much to my surprise, the handling was phenomenal; no roll-over in this 4-star (roll-over rating) SUV. Obviously the new chassis provides a much more pleasant ride, but the look must not be forgotten. The exterior makes the M-Class appear not like a tall truck, yet a long, fast, and agile SPORT Utility Vehicle. BMW, Porsche, VW: watch out, there's a new racer in town. Lexus, your comfort ride may have been matched. So which is better? The exterior, so your car is envied? Or a lush interior? Regardless of your preference, the interior's new look fits the exterior proportionally and perfectly. The speedometer and RPM gauge have been updated to look like other Mercedes, and the GPS makes the interior look as tempting as an AMG. Yet, what aspects need IMPROVEMENT? Personally, the exterior is nearly perfect. Maybe a new redesign of the exhaust pipes to make the car look sleeker. And on the inside, those two handles on the center console next to the cup holders need some work. They grow dirty VERY fast. But oh well, right? Please remember, Mercedes is not a high-tech Japanese company. The bells and whistles will be options. But they are NOT out of reach. New features which make the car more enjoyable include: power rear hatch, cargo rods and more depending on the package you buy. Enough is enough; I suggest taking a look at the M-Class if you want a luxurious and true SPORT utility vehicle, unlike its rivals, Mercedes-Benz has finally made the ultimate multifaceted vehicle, providing the luxuries in all Mercedes, and the agility of a BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by lucy from MO on Mon Mar 07 2011

Love, love , love this car! Am buying another one. Love it on the road, long road trips of 8-10 hrs in car are incredibly comfy, sporty, zippy fast and smooth. with all of the bells and whistles. Never a problem with it, can't wait to get my next one and the one after that. Best car and most enjoyable car I have ever had. LOVE IT! My first Merceds and now I am converted to being a forever ML350 owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just Perfect!

by PUP123 from NC on Tue Jul 05 2011

Ride, handling and performance are as good as it gets. Great looking SUV too. Comfort with premium seats with lumbar control allows for all day driving without aches or pains. Gas mileage isn't great but it is the trade off you make for all the great things this car provides. I average 15 or so around town, 20 on the highway at 70 mph.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 MB ML500

by Sy from NY, NY on Thu Oct 16 2014

Where do I start? Bought the car used from the original owner with 60,000 miles. It is by far the best car I have ever owned- from style and comfort to reliability. Only downside to it is the poor fuel economy. I average 16MPG betw/ hwy and city driving. Not bad for a V-8 though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NO PROBLEMS WHAT-SO-EVER!!!

by HAVE OWNED 5 ML350's from Illinois on Sun Oct 21 2012

I've owned 5 ML350's and have NEVER had a problem with any of them! I change the oil every 10,000 miles, as recommended by Mercedes, have a tune up every year (not necessarily at a Mercedes dealership), and all my ML350's have run perfectly! I would NEVER buy anything else, and neither would any other Mercees owners I talk to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nothing better in that size

by ml350 black/black from Vienna, va on Wed Dec 27 2006

excellent fuel economy ( I get 22.7mpg hwy)...super silent cabine....7speed transmission...go for the HK sound, it is unreal...huge trunk...I only don't like their nav interface and the fact it is not a touchscreen....But the car has been running as new since day one...now it has 12K...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by SUV Enthusiast from Hartford, CT on Wed Sep 12 2007

Great car. I had an X5 before, and this car tops it. Very nice ride, haven't had an issue after 2 years. My BMW X5 was in the shop 70% of the time the first 3 months. THis is a much better car, worth the money, especially as compared to an X5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of car for $10k

by skisofast from Lake Tahoe on Sat Dec 02 2017

I love the ML500. A 2006-2007 model sells for around $9-10k. They are comfortable, powerful cars with enough creature comforts for long trips and as a daily driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED

by MSPANTON54 from SAN CARLOS on Mon Jun 11 2018

MERCEDES BENZ REALLY KNOWS HOW TO BUILD A QUIET, LUXURIOUS, EASY DRIVING VEHICLE THAT YOU CAN DEPEND ON. I GET COMPLIMENTS ABOUT THE CAR ALL THE TIME FROM FRIENDS THAT RIDE IN THE CAR. THEY ALL SAY HOW COMFORTABLE IT IS. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND IT HAS BEEN TRULY A PLEASURE TO OWN.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most reliable car have owned

by Topaks from lufkin on Wed Jul 11 2018

The car has enough legroom,good navigation system,good sound system and its good to drive on a bad road.the aircondition is very cool.head light is good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Mercedes-Benz caught the world's luxury automakers flat-footed when the ML320 first appeared on the scene in 1997.

The vaunted Mercedes selling a passenger truck? Unheard of!

The M-Class, arguably the first luxury sport utility behind Range Rover, was an immediate hit, kicking off a whole range of midsize SUVs with high-end appeal.

But success was fleeting when the M-Class racked up a dismal record for reliability. That was surprising because the basic mechanicals came from the durable E-Class sedans and the SUV was built in a brand-new Alabama plant.

The problems set off a sales slump for Mercedes, which the company has overcome in recent years along with bringing vast improvements in the M-Class' repair... Read More