2007 R-Class

Consumer Reviews

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride hidden by an edgy look

by MB enthusiast from CT on Mon Aug 23 2010

Bought a 2007 R350 used, after getting rid of an ML 320 bought new in 2002. The ML was great but I sucumbed to a smaller vehicle (Nissan Rogue)because of the fuel mileage (14 city/ 19 hwy). Rogue was a big mistake. The tradeoff for the gas mileage didn't work because the Rogue was too small and uncomfortable to boot. The R class is definatly a sleeper. Great ride due to the long wheel base and rear air suspension, still handles well though. Gas mileage is an acceptable 17 city/ 23 hwy. If the repair record is as good or hopefully better than the ML, this is a keeper. The styling takes a little getting used to but it does grow on you especially if you need the room or want to be comfortable. You can drive this puppy for 16 - 20 hours and get out feeling like it was a trip around the block.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Now a mercedes fan

by 1st mercedes from New York on Mon May 26 2014

Ok I had my R350 for 2 years now, I just recently got it out of the shop for a $10,000 repair. Cam shaft, transmission solenoid and intake replacement and some other stuff. Now I'm scared to death of seeing the check engine light come on!......all I can say about that is , don't even think about buying a mercedes without a warranty .....with that said"....the R350 is the most comfortable vehicle on the road. The fit and feel is way better than BMW or any other luxury car for that matter. It is very thirsty riding around town but for long trips I can't imagine riding in anything else. Bottom line ....the R350 is expensive , but worth it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth Ride with 6 Passenger

by Tom from Chicago on Mon Dec 22 2008

Love the comfort of seating 6 adults comfortably. The ride is smooth. The for wheel traction on snow roads is excellent. Great milleage on Hwy, gives me 24m/gal Hwy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family car with style and comfort

by DBI from Madison, WI (And Florida) on Mon Jul 20 2009

I love our R500, it is the best ride I have ever had, however the kids always falls asleep in the back because it is so comfy. We have been on long road trips and it seems like the driver doesn't get tired at all - no noise, no vibrations, the heater and aircon is perfect - and the 8 cyl engine is fantastic. It handles like a sports sedan and is easy in traffic, We all love the ride !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Family Car

by shashi80 from Yorktown, VA on Tue May 16 2017

Owned this car for 7 years, super comfortable, there was no much work needed other than regular maintenance. Parts are expensive. The car did not hold value ( my 2 years older Lexus is valued for the same price or little higher)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by Family Guy from Dallas on Fri Sep 20 2013

My wife and I absolutely love this car, and would recommend it to anyone! I like the body style and the interior luxury.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car and Deal

by Jeff from Nesbit, MS on Fri Sep 20 2013

I use Cars.com because of the easy to use format and the way I am always able to find what I'm searching for. I've wanted a Mercedes R Class since they came out. I don't understand why they have been discontinued, however, corporate decisions-they didn't ask me!! Thanks Cars.com for bringing car and me together!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome Suv

by William Griep from Beloit, Wisconsin on Thu Nov 02 2017

7 passenger Awd. Mercedes makes the best Suv on the planet. Rides very comfortable. Good on gas. Handles well in winter weather. Reliable with very little maintenance needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

My 2011 R class

by Daimone from on Mon Feb 20 2017

I have 2011 R class had small problems with the car would not recommend without warranty but overall it's smooth lots of room I love the car always wanted it when I first saw it .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable 6 seater car for a family

by Magician from Menlo Park, CA on Wed Dec 20 2017

Made only between 2006-2012, R-class solved a specific problem for larger families. I am not of a minivan type, but wanted a decent enough car with all luxury options, safety features with great driving characteristics. R-class ticks most of the boxes among competition from these perspectives. We loved every moment of using it, great long-range cruiser -- never felt tired as a driver, passengers never complained as there is unbeatable leg room across both 2nd row and 3rd row. Storage space is limited if you're carrying 6 adults to a 2 week vacation; for that there is roof rack / storage options. If you're looking for a great family car, I highly recommend R-Class, 2007 model onwards would work. 2006 had some v1 issues that got fixed in 2007. 2010 onwards, they stopped making independent 2nd row / pilot seats, which are very important as the isle in between them allows kids to reach 3rd row without collapsing any seats; quite convenient.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Mercedes-Benz does not want you calling the R500 a minivan. Period.

R500 is a "Grand Sports Tourer," according to the German giant, and it represents a whole new breed of luxury craft designed to transport those of means in high style.

Fine. But despite not having sliding side doors, R500 has to be considered a minivan. Just like the similar Chrysler Pacifica from its fellow DaimlerChrysler brand and just like Cadillac SRX, another high-end vehicle with the same tall-wagon configuration.

So let's just call it what it is. R500 is a minivan for the wealthy.

There should be no shame in being a minivan, the most practical, efficient and versatile people hauler on the planet. But minivans smack of domesticity, a... Read More