2008 Sable

Consumer Reviews

2008 Mercury Sable

$2,094 - $9,702  MSRP Range
2008 Mercury Sable

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

24 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Mercury Sable?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely underrated

by AWD Rules! from Harrisburg, PA on Mon May 02 2011

Best Sable to date. Handles really well, especially with AWD. Quiet. 263hp V6 has plenty of power, the 6 speed shifts smoothly and has proven reliable. Mileage is good for the size and performance of this car. Long trips are comfortable and you can pack a lot to go along. Plenty of interior room. Tons of storage. Great cup holders. Gigantic trunk. I have driven many vehicles, for the money you can not find a better all around sedan. This Sable is noticeably more refined than the companion Taurus. The highest crash rating, so you and your family can ride safe. I still do not understand why this vehicle was not more popular, it is much better car than the Camry and Accord. Too bad it is no longer in production. I would buy another without thinking about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Vehicle

by Mike from Westmont, Illinois on Fri Jul 20 2007

I have not yet purchase this vehicle, but I will soon. I've driven a variety of vehicles, including the Chevy Impala. Nothing has really caught my attention...until now with the 2008 Mercury Sable. A friend joined me for the test-ride and said, "The car's not quiet...it's silent." He's right. The car accelerates, handles, steers, brakes, and idles very quietly. The seating is very comfortable. The trunk is huge; even bigger than Mercury's Grand Marquis. The A/C cooled the vehicle quickly on a very hot day. The car accelerated to 60mph while I thought I was doing 35 or 40. Silent & smooth!!! I'm 6'-2" tall. In my '02 Mercury Grand Marquis, there is NO room in the back seat behind the drivers seat. However, I set the drivers seat comfortably for me in the Sable and there was plenty of room in the back seat - even for me at 6'-2" tall. That was awesome. Also, the fit & finish inside is great. The only thing that I'd suggest is to design into the doors a decent place to rest my arm and add a large strap or handle to grasp onto when closing the doors. That's it. This IS my next car!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by keithm from Nashua. NH on Sat Jun 14 2008

I just traded an'06Milan for an '08Sable. Great car. Has every option except rear seat entertainment system. The Nav/Sirius radio are great. Very much enjoy the "theater" style seating. Only things that subtract are.. It's a little "floaty" compared to my former Milan or Mystique that I still use every day(probably due to it's much larger size). Wish they still had the HID headlights from the Montego. Now mind you, these are very minor issues that don't take away value of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR IVE OWNED - EXCEPT FOR THE DASH

by OSAKIS from on Sat Nov 08 2008

DO NOT LIKE THE DASH IN MY 08 SABLE NUMBERS AND BACK GROUND BLEND IN. USE CONTRASTING COLORS FOR NUMBERS AND BACK GROUND.OTHER THAN THAT IT IS THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER DRIVEN.I GET 21 MILES TO THE GALLON IN THE CITY AND 28 ON THE HWY.VERY COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS GOOD VISABLITY A VERY SAFE CAR WILL BUY A NEW SABLE 2010 IF THE DASH IS CHANGED

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy wife

by K in PA from South Central PA on Mon Apr 07 2014

Purchased an 08 AWD Sable Premier with 57k. My wife LOVES the car. Great driving and comfort with plenty of power for normal driving. AWD went awesome in snowy-slush. Took a few trips and we are getting over 22 MPG. Affordable quality, not two words that are found together very often but this car offers both. Great buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very, Very Nice

by fringe_"remnant from Toronto, Onario on Thu Jul 03 2008

Well balanced, solid, excellent road manners for a large sedan. Purrs along at 1400-1800 RPM, yet has a responsive and powerful drivetrain when needed. The larger sport tires on the Premier add to the car's ability to handle the road. All corners are identified and felt. Needs much less body roll, about 250 lbs shaved off, and a few very minor interior changes to make it shine (telescoping steering wheel, more money spent on the trunk with better finish and some decent tiedowns, much like a station wagon or SUV would have. I would also include for a shifter that allows for manual selection of gearing. I ma impressed with the quality and firt and finish. I am hoping to be driving this car for a long time, I get that much satisfaction from it. Beyond that, the new 2010 units will decide the fate of the Sable. I hope that Ford keeps the car in the lineup.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by canyondweller from Montana on Fri Oct 12 2012

Ford nailed it in this car. Excellent value and reliability. So sorry that they're gone. Never felt so comfortable and safe as in this AWD model. Just a joy to drive. A Volvo at a fraction of the price and far more reliable. I've owned 16 new cars in 35 years and this is by far the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Under rated to be sure.

by sg from Cortland, NY on Fri Jun 12 2009

I read a lot of reviews befor actually driving and buying a used 2008 model. It is not the Premier edition but it does have the 2 tone leather package. The car is extremely comfortable...My impression of the interior would be understated rather than bland. The stereo is fine, the controls simple to use...seats are great....literally all the room you could ever need for 4 folks. Exterior styling is conservative as well, but I like it.I find the handling is solid and stable , body lean is controlled...for comparison my other car is a Mini...so I know what handles! The car has everything you need and mileage in low 20s.It's not your Dad's Grand Marquis....Far from it! Extremely under rated.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional value; very safe, great gas mileage

by dhealth from Napa, CA on Sun Dec 07 2008

The Insurance Institute rated this car the safest in the World. That's a great comfort. This very quiet and comfortable car with 30'% increase in horse power over previous versions (260hp). Great gas mileage using regular gas. Great features like Microsoft Sync and backup sensors. Folding front and back seats for long loads. Gigantic 22 cu ft. trunk. Very comfortable seats. Great brakes. This is a Volvo 80 at half the price. Paul & Donna in Napa, CA

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

highly overlooked & highly underatted

by sable / montego from hampton new york on Sat Jan 28 2012

ford went through getting this car to near as perfect compared to the previous montego they discontinue it, i just dont get it maybe its an executive decision, then again it also could be an executive mistake, this is a great vehicle that they are not manufactureing anymore along with the taurus-x another great vehicle, there decision to discontinue the mercury brand is a mistake it will cost them in the future, folks want variety and choice which they have eliminated, this is why they will never be number 1 ! know thats two shots in the foot of fords new vp and ceo!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Mercury Sable

Mercury has dusted off one of its well-known names and affixed it to one of its lower-profile cars. For 2008, "Montego" is out and "Sable" is in for the brand's full-size sedan, which also sees some minor cosmetic changes as well as a new, more powerful V-6 engine under its hood. Even with the extra power, though, its gas mileage is similar to the engine it replaces and competitive among full-size cars.

There's nothing particularly exciting about the Sable, and that's one reason the Montego was never a hit. The name change and revised bodywork aren't going to change the excitement factor, but the new Sable is a nice car once you get to know it, as it offers a very comfortable driving experience and... Read More