2002 Cooper

Consumer Reviews

2002 MINI Cooper

$1,881 - $6,677  MSRP Range
2002 MINI Cooper

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 MINI Cooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love my MINI!

by Mini Driver 2002 from Boston, MA on Sat Nov 24 2007

I am thrilled with my MINI! I have had it since 2002 with no major problems and excellent gas mileage. The MINI is a blast to drive, is very agile, responsive and quick. I elected for the automatic transmission, which also comes with a clutchless shifting option, should you wish to mix things up. The interior is deceptively roomy and I have been able to seat 6' 3" men comfortably. I also have transported bikes, ladders and furniture in this car. If you are looking for something fun, affordable, and easy to drive, look no further.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the fun AND efficiency

by Sacramennah from Sacramento, CA on Tue Aug 15 2006

Bought this MINI brand new in '02 and have never looked back. The BMW full-service was fully responsive for the two minor malfunctions (seat handle, dead battery) I've experienced. It's very roomy for the front seat passengers, very comfortable, though stiff and bouncy for long drives, and an absolute thrill on a twisty road or a race track. Good mileage, a dream to park. Wish the Cooper didn't burn premium, but it's a small price. The car is simple, ingenious, well thought out and reliable. Oh yeah - it's a ball to drive and a head-turner, too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car

by Fan from Louisville, KY on Mon Dec 01 2008

I appreciate this car's abilities and performance. When I bought this car it had a problem with the exhaust pipe, evidently a manufacture's flaw. I replace it and have had very little problems. I did have a factory recall though on the electrical for the air bags.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Warmeat from on Fri Jul 27 2012

35$ fills up the gas tank, people always stare at this car and it drives amazing, it's like a hybrid but with power, anytime i pass another driver in my Mini they wave most of the time, i love this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Expensive to fix. Thrill to drive.

by Mini 10101 from Pasadena, ca on Tue Oct 24 2017

Mini coopers are notoriously fun for their incredible handling. If they were more reliable, I would buy another one immediately. The first new mini (In the U.S. *2002 ) got an average of 29.4 MPG. It's an everyday comfortable and fun car to drive; not overly luxurious, not too basic, nor too sporty but just perfect.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not Japan Quality but fun to drive

by czrooster from Indiana on Sun Jan 02 2011

We have owned a 2002 for the last three years with less than 60,000 miles. Besides the basic tires etc. the car needed a seat repaired because of poor design and of course the price was very high, nearly $900. Front bearings are going out to the tune of $350 per side. These things dont happen on a Toyota or Honda let alone a GM car now days. The car is great fun to drive and being a cult car gives one a good feeling being a part of the community. Expect to pay for the lessor quality of the product vs. say a Toyota or Honda. Sad considering it is built by BMW. Now days one expects nearly years of flawless performance from a car. Nice start but needs further refinement.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sold on the minis

by Baileys Mom from Bassett,VA on Mon Jun 11 2012

Best downsize for the money. Reliability of the BMW and size and gas mileage of a VW Highly recommend for those who want dependability combined with fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by CB from on Wed Oct 21 2009

Awsome to drive! Fun and sport! Very responsive and furl efficient! Its a pleasure to drive, in the city as well as on the highway! A real head turner! Awsome fit for todays high fuel prices!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

cant wait to get rid of it!

by mini sucks from Tampa FL on Sat Apr 14 2012

Have had to replace the AC system twice in 60,000 miles. Lots of electrical issues. Only good thing I can say is the fuel economy is great...when it runs. Always worrying I will end up stranded...I have been trapped in the vehicle 3 times due to AC and electrical failures. In 110 degrees interior heat from Florida weather I had to pull over and to get out of the car after shutting it off for ten minutes which allowed the electrical to reset...MINI service sucks just as much. They know they have the market on repairs and could care less about getting to your car anytime soon. They told me this year cant run the AC and struggles under HP when you do. Have to shut it off when stopped...and still cant explain the electrical defects in hot weather.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1