2004 Cooper

Consumer Reviews

2004 MINI Cooper

$2,725 - $7,873  MSRP Range
2004 MINI Cooper

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

16 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 MINI Cooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Mini

by Mini gal from Harrisburg, PA on Mon Apr 11 2011

I have had an 04 Mini Cooper for three years and positively love her. She's much more roomy than one would think, and in fact i almost find the driver's seat too big for me. Storage in the back is probably bigger than the average sedan when the seats are folded down flat. No, this is not a family car to pack up for a week long vacation, but otherwise should meet the daily driver's needs with an added bonus of fun. My mini handles great, is tight through turns, and has great pick up (and she's not an S!). A sunroof is a must have and it opens very wide (i'd estimate 15-18 inches). Mini has never left me stranded, and the only repairs she's needed have been general wear and tear (oil changes, breaks, new tires, windshield wipers). Any downsides? a few. but not deal breakers for me. the road noise is a bit loud, and she's a bit hard over bumps. Also, it can be a pain if you don't live near a dealer, which i don't. Luckily, she hasn't needed substantial work, so this hasn't been an issue.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If you like small cars, you'll love this one

by Duncan from Colorado Springs, CO on Wed Aug 08 2012

I can't say it's the most practical vehicle for everyone, but if it fits your lifestyle and the kind of driving you do, then the first-generation Mini Cooper is a solid pick. Obviously the great fuel mileage is a major reason to make this choice - I've averaged around 30-35 mpg in my two months of ownership, and up to 40 on a long vacation trip. The best part, though, is that it doesn't feel like you're driving some econo-commuter penalty box. It's got a great manual transmission that really gets you up to speed quickly, it's got enough power to keep you moving but not so much that you feel overwhelmed, and it's got enough luxury features to be comfortable for lots of miles of driving. Drawbacks? There are some quirky things in the interior that give the car its charm, and they need to be explained every time you get a new passenger in it. But that is part of the fun, too - along with instantly joining a community of Mini owners who are passionate about their cars and can readily supply answers for most questions or direct you appropriately. One major note: make sure to use what they call "Top Tier" gasoline (search about it online) in the proper 91 octane or the Service Engine Soon warning light will appear to remind you. Other than those small niggles, this Mini is an awesome car. Not for everyone, certainly, but an awesome car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mini Me

by zenjiedo_68 from Indianapolis, IN on Thu Oct 20 2011

I experienced some trepidation going from a full size truck down to a Mini Coop. My Silverado of 18 years will always have a place in heart but the Mini has definately carved out its own niche. Besides looking great the car handles beautifully and is so quick you never even know youre speeding! The front seats are comfortable for any average sized adult but i wouldnt recommend it for those with kids or large pets. The gas mileage is phenomenal and fill ups are no longer put a serious dent in my pocketbook. I got my Mini for an excellent price and its been worth every penny.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

a large repair bill looking for a place to happen

by kctoolguy from Missouri on Mon Mar 19 2012

S models supercharger placement is bad, no way to check the oil in the rear sump without removing the water pump! The rear sump only holds 2.8 oz. of oil which can be sucked thru the shaft seal. Mini doesn't have a s/c service policy and dosn't sell the corect oil for it. When the sump is dry, the rear gears (which are no longer available from Eaton) grind to dust. It would not have been hard to add a remote fill or dipstick whent the car was desgined.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent on Gas

by best way to save money from Bronx, NY on Fri Oct 18 2013

Enjoy driving my car for work. lots of fun...It has been excellent on gas . and very reliable very happy with my choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Recent car purchase

by Carlos's from Houston,TX on Fri Apr 12 2013

I purchased a Mini Cooper and I was very satisfied, the service was quick and efficient.The sales representatives are very friendly and professional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

you must drive to appreciate

by rick...mobile detailer from hudson, nh on Fri Aug 04 2017

looks small until your in it...very roomy and very responsive when it comes to handling.for a 1.6, she has a lot of kick

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car, fun, fun, fun.

by Ron Smith from Churchville va on Wed Jan 03 2018

Bought the car for weekend drives. Has proven to be a great car for weekend trips, easy to drive. Be ready to wave at other MINI drivers. Drive and have fun. Love driving in the mountains.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive "Go-Kart"

by AngeloZman from Germantown on Fri Oct 13 2017

This Car is a ton of fun to drive and serves well as a commuter . Keeping up with maintenance is imperative! otherwise it could burn a whole in your purse/wallet

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive since my wrx

by Tomo from Steinhatchee on Fri Jun 09 2017

I got a coupe 2 seater which is no longer made. It is a cooper S so with the 6 speed it goes like stink. Was in beautiful shape with only a few things to keep it off showroom new condition. So far it has been reliable. Finding the oil filter was a real challenge as I change oil and filters when I buy a used car. This model I have has every option you could put on one, leather, harmen carden sound system, nav display, 17 in rims.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2