2007 Cooper

Consumer Reviews

2007 MINI Cooper

$3,329 - $9,413  MSRP Range
2007 MINI Cooper

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

28 Reviews
79% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 MINI Cooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

"big things come in small package's"

by mustang andy! from passaic, new jersey on Wed Nov 14 2007

first i'll give you the bad. the seating position is'nt all that great, it can definately be better but once you find a comfort position then its ok. the fuel on the "s" model is not great, at least not for me. i'm sure it can be better but the supercharger keeps calling me!!! now the great!!! this car is absolutly incredible! it has good look's' great interior material feel and a very expensive feel all around. the engine with the supercharger is just mechanical and raw and combined with the 6 speed getrag transmission, it makes you feel like you can take on everyone! the transmission has quick, precise shifting and the steering is precise. point and it goes. the handling is so amazing that i'm sure it can hang and sometimes beat half of the more expensive big players. the view is clear with very minimal blind spots if any. the ride maybe a little harsh for some folks but you cant expect a sports car to ride like a cadillac. the car seems to have a very high resale value and its always getting looks from everyone. trunk space is extremly limited but with the rear seat down, it gives you ample room for your "stuff". of course you cant go looking for good trunk space if your looking to buy a mini but, there is lots of it for driver and passenger. even if your over six feet tall. back seats are also very limited in space but its managable for short trips. it's one car that will always but a smile on your face. weather your driving around town or "spirited" back road driving. you'll never get tired of your mini!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Pleasant Surprise

by Tom of York from York, PA on Tue Apr 03 2012

I bought a pre-owned 2007 MINI Cooper Hatchback two months ago to replace my beloved--and somewhat rare--2005 Subaru Forester XT STI. The Forester provided utility, comfort and exhilarating performance on call, and all at a reasonable price. Its only drawback was the tradeoff of good fuel economy for the performance aspect I so much enjoyed. In replacing my Forester, I was hoping to find a car that was just as much fun to drive, just as reliable to maintain, and more economical at the gas pump. The MINI Cooper I purchased to replace my Forester has provided all three! Anyone who buys a sporty car like this, expecting to enjoy a cushy ride, needs a reality check. The MINI, on this score, is the perfect compromise of sporty, responsive handling with a compliant suspension that delivers a surprisingly acceptable ride without being too harsh. The electrically-assisted power steering provides excellent road feel, and the body and suspension provide controlled response in hard cornering. The normally-aspirated, fuel-injected, BMW-designed 4-cylinder 1.6 liter engine, coupled with a six-speed step-tronic transmission, provides more than adequate acceleration while demanding very little at the gas pump. I recently averaged 45.5 mpg in steady highway driving at 65 mph on a 3-hour road trip. I don't think there is any car available, save perhaps an anemic hybrid, that can deliver that kind of economy. My experience over two months for highway driving averages a little less: about 41 mpg. Around town, I enjoy a more spirited ride, operating in Sport Mode most of the time, and yet still averaging around 35 mpg. All this is delivered by "the little engine that could," never embarrassing me on freeway on-ramps. Both exterior styling and interior design are very unique to MINI, and BMW has, in spite of challenges posed by government highway safety laws that demanded hood and bodywork changes, managed to maintain the "look" of the original MINI that has captured the hearts and won the affections of so many owners. Body fit and trim, as well as interior features, while characteristically MINI, reflect the refinements that BMW brings to the table. Front seats easily accommodate tall drivers and passengers, and, as can be expected, the back seat is shy on leg room, but hey, this IS a sporty car, not the family taxi. Owners' complaints about complicated controls and misplaced volume knobs have been addressed by MINI in later models, but I have never found any of these complaints to be bothersome to me. The few niggling bugs that needed to be worked out of my pre-owned car were covered by the warranty the dealer offered me, so I have had no out-of-pocket expenses so far. Perhaps it is too early to judge my car on reliability, but to date, it hasn't even hinted of a problem, save the warranted bugs I mentioned. Can one find a car that comes close to the MINI in terms of performance, comfort and design, but at lower cost? The answer to this question is yes, but I know of no other car that can deliver "a smile every mile" as the MINI does. Anyone remotely interested in buying a MINI should take one for a test ride. The ride is what it's all about, after all. While the MINI may not be suitable for everyone, you'll find few, if any, MINI owners who aren't fiercely loyal, appreciative of, and enamored by their car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Repair and Maintenance Cost exceeds Fun and Look

by MINI Cooper S from CT on Wed Sep 02 2015

I own a MINI Cooper S and recommend before purchasing a MINI to perform extensive research, as based on my Cooper S, the fun and look will fade once reliability along with repair and maintenance cost start to creep to the purchase price. You should discuss with actual owners of a MINI S that had the car for 5 year for their experience / reliability / cost. Research MINI's prior issues such as timing chain, turbo charger, exhaust valves, cylinder, etc. In addition, look into dealership cost for brakes, rotors, battery replacement, sensor replacement, clearing engine lights. After you do your research and you still are ready to make the purchase, ensure you obtain the extended, extended warranty. It may be small and fun; however, it will cost you big year after year, more than the fun and look.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sports Car in Economy Car Body!

by MoggyPig from Eastern Massachusetts on Thu Mar 22 2007

I own the basic Mini Cooper with an automatic transmission. The car is a "premium" small car. Mine was under twenty grand, with nothing special except the heated seats and auto box. Gas mileage is in the mid thirties, but low thirties in very cold weather as the engine dumps more fuel into it when cold. The real beauty of this car is it's Mini "pedigree". The style of the old classic Mini and the effieient interior, with the crisp handling of a sports car. The on-center feel of the steering is the best part of the overall handling feel. This car is stable, right up through 100 mph+ - it feels like a BMW, which it is. The old classic Mini was never this good! The build quality is excellent and the whole feel of the car is very up-market - it is a true value. If you want a practical four-seat sports car that is good on gas and great in the snow, this is the one! James Bond should trade in the DB5 for a MINI.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i smile when i drive it

by WI winter driver from St Croix WI on Wed Jan 26 2011

I spent about 6 weeks without a vehicle after my trany went out in my impala. i looked at avengers and chargers but one day a mini cought my eye i never gave it much thought until i stoped by a bmw dealership and sat in one. i was hooked and found my used 2007 mini with 25000 miles and bought it since then i have had the best driving experiance of my life. Im a 20 yoer old working class male and wanted to buy something not everyone had. since owning the mini i have been presently suprised i get about 40 mpgs and find the interor sporty and roomy even for me im 6 feet tall and have plenty of room. The car is fun to drive extreamly reliable. I have no problem getting around in the wisconsin winters. keep in mind you can only use premium gas. closing on that its affordable to drive and if your looking for a practical car that will give you the sport car feel this is for you. I smile whenever i look at it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best

by Mini owner for life from New York on Wed Jun 20 2007

I have never owned a car that I love and enjoy driving more than my cooper. The car handles like a sports car and is so much fun to drive. People always look at it and can't help but smile.I have owned many new cars but this one is hands down THE BEST. Order this car if you view driving as a" fun thing to do" and you will not be dissappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Go to Car next to my Porsche 911 - Dependable

by Carstock from Sacramento on Tue Sep 02 2014

The 2007 performs while delivering great responsive steering and acceleration. The bullet proof transmission has a geer for every demanding corner and straight-away. I look forward to the Mini driving experience and iconic feel each time I drive this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beware the CVT transmission

by weedsinfrederick from Frederick MD on Tue Feb 25 2014

This car has the CVT automatic that is notoriously unreliable. Look at MINIs with either a manual or the steptronic 6 speed automatic on the "S" version....

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mini

by Spartacus from Richmond , Ky on Mon Dec 05 2011

After turning loose of my smart car due to only the 2 seats thing I bought a mini in excellent condition with low miles and still under warranty. I must admit I love this little car. Perfect fit form my self and small family. My son loves it too. Just waiting to see how it will do in the snow. ?? Steve E. Richmond Ky

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great practical sports car

by ur hmbl servt from Pittsburgh PA on Fri Sep 17 2010

Love the little car and you can actually get four adults in the Cooper for short trips. It handles like a go-kart, gets excellent fuel economy, and goes well in Mid-Atlantic winter weather (Lots of snow last year). Resale value is excellent and everyone loves it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3