1998 Eclipse

Consumer Reviews

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

$1,190 - $8,562  MSRP Range
1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

GSX - The Best Choice

by Jozef from Garfield, NJ on Mon Oct 23 2006

When it comes to looking for a cheap used AWD Turbo car with power, look no further than for Mitusbishi Eclipse GSX. This car really is worth the value. When it's treated good and cared for, this car will last, all the maintaince should be done as recommended. If you would like this car to be even faster, simple upgrades can make it fly. And since it's a Japanese car, the parts are not that expensive. Overall, this is a awesome car to have. If you happen to come across one, test drive it....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun runner

by Tim from Battle Creek MI on Thu Nov 01 2012

Bought this car in July, and its more fun than a barrel of monkies. Quick, maneuverable, great gas milage. Am selling mine due to a back injury from Viet Nam. Keeps flaring up due the seat design. That has been my only problem Car gets a lot of envious looks.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We loved ours!!!

by Sun lover! from Annapolis, MD on Wed Apr 15 2009

My husband had this car from the time I met him until we started having children last fall. It does better than you would expect in snow and you can't beat it when the weather is nice. Trunk is big enough that we took ours to the beach and for weekend trips. My husband always has the scheduled maint. done, and it was a very reliabe car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Fun Car To Drive

by Pap from Plymouth Meeting, Pa on Mon Dec 08 2008

I have a 98 GST Convert. 5 speed manual in which I am going to sell in the spring.I broke my ankle and it bothers me to shift so reluctantly I am selling it. It has only 79,000 miles on it and a new top. It's quick and fun to drive especially in the summer months. I actually get two small golf bags in the trunk.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Autocheck says runaway as fast as you can

by Reality Check from on Sat Aug 18 2012

Ran "Autocheck" record search on this particular vehicle. Leased vehicle 11 different owners in FL, IN, IL, MI Title history is not clean 2 collisions resulting in significant damage

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome all around

by tim from on Mon Oct 05 2009

what can i say this car is awesome mitsubishi designed a wicked sick car I dont know too many people that would bad mouth the jdm versions of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Eclipse Spyder: Stylish and Fun to Drive

by Car lover from Sioux Falls, SD on Sat Aug 17 2013

This car is reliable, stylish, and fun to drive. The 2nd generation eclipse had the best exterior styling with the turbo bump on the hood. Reliable and a great investment if well cared for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Disapointment

by Jamiem from Yonkers on Mon Jan 23 2012

The car is designed to go fast but the power given by the engine and chrysler transmission does not do justice to its design and worse of all even with best aftermarket replacement and work done by A-techs the cars performance will only goes down. Ride is not very comfy as it comes with stock suspension system, and with force intakes drivetrain seems to absorb more power then supplying to wheels and electronic system is complete rubish.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK

by Edward from Chicago on Tue Sep 04 2012

This car is so amazing! There is so much you can do with it! Make sure you dont get the turbo though! GREAT ON GAS AND GREAT FOR SUMMER AND WINTER DRIVING! IF YOU FIND ONE OF THESE GET IT!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun & Fully Customizable

by Joseph from Yakima, WA on Thu Aug 17 2006

Plus- Looks Performance Handling Minus- Interior Room

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

The last few years have been tough ones for sports coupes. Sales have dwindled as buyers moved from sports cars to sport-utility vehicles.

Despite recent overhauls that have increased performance and improved styling, the mighty Chevrolet Camaro, Pontiac Firebird and Ford Mustang are faltering. And the list of dead Japanese sports coupes is long. The Toyota MR2, Mazda RX-7, Subaru SV-X and several others have been given the checkered flag.

But the aggressively styled Mitsubishi Eclipse has been the one sports coupe that has bucked the trend. Last year, the Eclipse shot past the Pontiac Firebird and was the industry's third best-selling coupe behind the Mustang and Camaro.

The Eclipse has proven... Read More