2004 Lancer

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer

$1,075 - $5,963  MSRP Range
2004 Mitsubishi Lancer

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

19 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best value in this class

by topchieff from Libertyville on March 3, 2007

Amazing how much quality and fun you can buy for so much less. really happy that I did not get the Civic or the corolla. Great platform for people who want to make more of their mid size sedan and really strong car for every day driving. I love this toy and nothing special to maintain, it even uses regular gas, but the performance... oh the performance. Just drive one that is all you need.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great simple car

by heading down the highway from Hollywood Florida on May 5, 2013

I recently bought this car . It is a simple basic 4 door auto. Exactly what I wanted for a car to drive to work, It has no bells or whistles. Electric windows and door locks are about it. But it has a roomy interior with basic interior instrument panel.I like the exterior shape of the car. No blind spots for a short gal like me. Handles well on the highway . Good exceleration. If your looking for something simple to get you from point A to point B this may be the car to give a try.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sports car!

by Dadmobile from Phoenix, AZ on May 11, 2009

Bough this car used in 06. It has been excellent in every way. Mine definatly has cruise control, so I'm not sure about that other review. 2.4 liter engine has a lot of power. Handles well, brakes well. MPG has been right around 29! Lots of room all around and a really like the gauge cluster.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Doesn't get enough credit!

by KelsMaster from Queens, Ny on March 15, 2007

A verry comfortable ride, the front seats were made to hold you in for reckless driving. The speed this car gives for the price is great, a few small upgrades and there no forced induction car with 4 cyl that can touch this car in a 1/4 mile without doing a good amount of work to it. The handlings amazing, interior style is terrible, lets face it, the Evo's styling is terrible for 33,000, and this is a poor version of an Evos interior...that howevers its only major flaw. Its a perfect value for the money, and the exterior stlye is great. You can always tell by how many people pull upto trying to race you... You know they feel intimidated by its very strong look. Im around 50,000 miles with no major problems, just the usual wear and tear, Im just upset the car holds no value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not happy with it.

by Reeree from Glendale, Az on January 31, 2018

I've had my 2004 Lancer for about a year. I bought it used and have had problem after problem. I've replaced the motor, radiator, front axle on driver's side, wheel bearings on both sides in the front, struts in the back. I loved the car when I first got it, but it's been a very big expense for me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OZ Rally

by average driver from morton, IL on September 30, 2014

I purchased the OZ rally edition off this site from a used car dealership and honestly even after the doing a test drive and now owning the vehicle for a week I am completely impressed. The vehicle had more get up and go than I originally thought from the test drive and the handling is a dream. The mpg was exactly what I expected, and as a daily driver I am completely satisfied. Interior has the sporty feel to it as it should being the oz rally edition of the model, one thing I did not like and changed right off the back was the radio head because the gauges in the dash we're bright white with deep red lighting but the radio was an off teal color and didn't match up. Cosmetic yes but looks much better now with matching colors. The second thing i changed was the rear braking system being drum brakes and i prefer disc brakes all around for a sporty type car. otherwise this vehicle is very nice for daily driving and or a more sporty environment, a good mix between the two worlds.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Largest little wagon around

by Crookhammer from Pittsburgh, Pa on September 23, 2006

I originally bought this car for its excellent factory warranty. How can you beat a 5-year/ 60,000 bumper to bumper warranty? Add to that a free 45,000 mile dealer service plan that even includes oil changes. There were some cheap interior features I couldn't imagine still being used like stiff heat/ac controls (like a lawn mower speed lever!) and a clock designed like the very first digital one ever made for a car (with the ugly green LED screen that doesn't match the rest of the dash). I noticed my paint beginning to chip almost immediately so I had the dealer add mud guards that solved the problem. The rest of the exterior is beautifully executed with good fit and finish all around. My wagon came with a 162 hp. engine that gets reasonably good gas mileage (25 mpg average) considering the amazing power. It accelerates like a sports car. I still have good brakes after almost 30,000 miles. The only money I had to spend was on windshield wipers to date so the cost of operation is better than any car I have ever owned. There are a few things that concern me that I hope to have corrected the next time I have it serviced. Since new, the ac compressor stops working for no reason for minutes at a time. This happens in rainy weather when I need the defogger as well in warm weather when I need cold air. Also, I thought the car had some kind of traction device that transferred power to one drive wheel if the other one started to spin. I have an awful time in the lightest snow or in gravel. It took some getting used to, but I am very happy with my Mitsubishi. This is my third one. I would recommend a Lancer Sportback but it was made for 2004 only.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

feisty little beast

by Fun Factor from OH on July 19, 2011

The Ralliart's 162HP just enough for me. It is very easy to drive. The car is solid enough to tolerate (not brutal but) hard driving style without the slightest complaint. The manual gearbox and the handling is fantastic, outshines every other car in the category! The suspension obviously is tuned for street driving, but a bit on the sporty side. Brakes are average, but they do the job very well for every day driving situations. Has a few issues just like any other car, but not significant problems. Not the fastest, or the prettiest, or the most reliable but overall it is one of the best package among the sporty econoboxes.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Love this Car from Indiana on August 5, 2010

I have a 04 ralliart. It is the best car i have ever owned. I have 120,000 miles on it and it still drives like new. The ralliart has a 2.4 in it and has awesome pick up when you step on it. It handles like no other car in its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good car do not be afraid to buy it

by ivan from slc on November 6, 2010

I got mine 2.4 manual ralliart with 24K with salvage title. I got no problems at all for the last 30 000 miles Only a oxygen sensor has been changed Bad is the interior is a bit cheap , paint is a bit cheap too, its loud on interstate bad for long rides:). Good is : Excellent price, strong engine tough transmission interior room is better than competition impreza, sentra, civic, mazda3. Good acceleration and enjoyable for hills with close gear ratio, but again bad for long trips its just keeps 3rpm on 60 mph its about 4 rpm on 80 because of tranny:) be aware this car is not very comfy sedan:)

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer

Lancer Ralliart is the middle child of the Mitsubishi family of compact sports sedans.

There are three flavors of sport-enhanced Lancers, starting at the top with the fast and furious Evolution, a true high-performance sedan packing a turbocharged 271 horsepower and fully developed race suspension. Known to its pals as Evo, it has become one of the most popular sporting machines among youthful import drivers.

At the other end is the Lancer O-Z Rally, which may look like a tuned import but is actually just a dressed up version of the standard compact car. The 120-horsepower O-Z lacks any real performance equipment and comes across as a mere poseur.

Stuck between them is Ralliart. Although... Read More