2017 Lancer

Consumer Reviews

2017 Mitsubishi Lancer

$9,987 - $24,037  MSRP Range
2017 Mitsubishi Lancer

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

24 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Mitsubishi Lancer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

More for the money

by Not Telling from Wi on Sat Apr 07 2018

Find an SEL with AWD and the Sun and Sound package and enjoy. It's a lot of car for the money. When the 2017s are sold off you will never find a deal like this again. Ran into an ice storm going through mountains, Pushed the 4WD switch and my Lancer became a mountain goat. The "professional" critics dis the little Lancer, listen to owners these things are loved.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

dj777

by dj777 from Woodbury on Thu Apr 27 2017

this car is easy for a fat old guy like me to get in and out of and comfortable to ride in. this car is sharp looking fast gets good gas mileage and has 4x4 for snowy minnesota winters.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance and Reliable

by sportscarfan from Vancouver, BC on Wed May 31 2017

I own the two vehicles and I loved them. I currently own two Mitsubishi models of it. One is a Lancer SE 2014 and one is Evolution 2015. Fuel efficiency and very reliable car. Plenty of storage space at the back. No mechanical problems. Yes, I definitely buy this car again. I might go for GTS, to get a bit better in performance than SE. SE is standard sports edition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable and Best Looking Car I?ve Owned!

by Lonjay L from Milwaukee, WI on Mon Apr 23 2018

All of my ratings are relative of course, to the price point. I?ve never gotten so good of performance out of a commuter car. It?s sporty, fuel efficient (29-31mpg on average) and extremely customizable. I?ve gotten way too many compliments for its looks and performance that I?m actually shopping for a 2017 model right now! Never had issues, never had an engine light, never had any weird noises, just an all around beast of a car.. well done Mitsubishi, well done.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm very happy with my new car.

by Mitch321 from Calgary on Thu Jun 08 2017

I love it so much i was in a coma for 3 months and then wheel chair then cane for a total of 2 years and I was told I'll never drive again but I passed everything to make driving possible. I then bought a 2013 Lancet in 2015 then I upgraded to check buying a new car off my bucket list and I did a 2017 Lancet Limited Edition Sport AWC. I'm extremely happy I was able to persevere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable. Drives smooth.

by Cbgibson55 from Asheville, NC on Wed Aug 30 2017

This car has met all of my needs. As a registered nurse, I have to go to work in all types of weather conditions. The AWD has helped me through deep snow without any trouble.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Lancer SE

by RobertC from Baldwin, NY on Mon Dec 18 2017

My wife and I exchanged our leased Outlander Sport SE vehicles for a new Lancer SE 2017 and a new Mirage Hatchback. Both cars have exceeded our expectation and the little 3-cylinder Mirage is much better than we expected. The Lancer SE is an excellent car and the only complaint I have with the Lancer SE is that it doesn't have a rear window wiper. But it drives great, and has been extremely enjoyable so far. Highly recommend both for people looking to keep down the cost of new cars. This is the last year for the Lancer though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

lancer 4x4 buyer/owner

by dj from woodbury on Sun May 14 2017

this car is easy for a fat old guy like me to get in & out of & is very comfortable while i am in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

it is evey relible , great on gas

by cw from Charlotte on Thu Mar 08 2018

it is just the right size and great on gas it is very comble to be the passger and as the driver it rides great

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

spacious car

by Solid-Snake from Chicago, IL on Tue Jul 11 2017

Decent gas, good front passenger leg room space and very reliable cars, I guess the only down side is not much back passanger room.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2017 Mitsubishi Lancer

The verdict:

The 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer offers a comfortable ride and optional all-wheel drive, but its sedate driving experience and class-trailing technology drag it down.

Versus the competition:

Compact cars were once a barebones offering that provided a way for people to buy a new car rather than a used one. Today, compact cars offer a wider variety of amenities — even a luxury experience — that can belie their small size. The Mitsubishi Lancer is a throwback to earlier compact cars; it lacks the variety and sophistication of features found in the rest of the class — notably in the multimedia department. Rather than being barebones alternatives to used cars, most of today's compact cars offer a wide variety of amenities — sometimes even a luxury experience — that can belie their small size. Not so for the Lancer. It does, however, offer all-wheel drive — a rarity in this class — and has a comfortable ride.

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2016 about the 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Lancer competes with cars such as the Ford Focus, Honda Civic and Subaru Impreza. You can compare them here.

Exterior & Styling

The Lancer is not an ugly car and never has been. It's been an angular sedan since day one. The rest of the market, by comparison, moved to more of a jellybean shape — particularly the Focus — before returning to that more angular appearance (best observed in newer Imprezas). It's interesting, in the... Read More