2006 Lancer Evolution

Consumer Reviews

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

$8,852 - $42,980  MSRP Range
2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

31 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Last "Real" Evo

by Professional Driver from Phoenix and Marana, AZ on Tue Dec 20 2011

Owning an Evo has been a dream of mine since I was a teenager. I was fortunate enough to own one for a year and loved my MR Pros: Angry, high revving turbocharged engine Near perfect steering feel 6 speed manual transmission is a gem Rigid chassis and Bilstein shocks AWD traction and composure World class Brembo brakes Distinct styling Throaty, "exotic" exhaust note Recaro seats and BBS alloys Excellent driver ergonomics 4-door usefulness and a real trunk Perfect reliability (but for only 9700 miles) Cons: Anemic engine below 2500 rpm Everyone tries to race with you Eats the stock Yokohama tires quickly Said tires are unreasonably priced No cruise control- even as an option Tempts you to attack every corner and road 17-23 mpg with 19 mpg average on premium Expensive synthetic oil required Lack of side air bags Rear seats don't fold (rear brace impedes) Steering too responsive at high speeds I will never regret owning this car. I have driven many sports cars since and this is still one of my favorite cars dynamically. I used it as a daily driver and it was a lot of fun. It needs cruise control as it loves to run fast and you will be speeding badly by accident as soon as you stop watching the speedometer. My ex-wife had another driver make a left turn into it and it was "totaled." I almost bought a used one to replace it, but found that it is hard to to find one that hasn't been abused or modified to excess. In that, the way people react to you on the street, and the way the machine goads you into going faster and faster, it is a lot like a motorcycle! It isn't over priced to purchase, but it costs a lot of money to keep well maintained. It is the last Evolution that kept to the original formula, and it is my second favorite car I have owned to date. If you can find a clean Evo VIII or IX, I highly recommend it if you love a real driver's car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow.

by Tim from Austin, TX on Thu Jul 02 2009

Bought my Evo 9 about 2 weeks ago and barring the shoddy clutch work that the previous owners did, this car is brilliant. I can take 90 degree turns at 40 without even slight concern. I don't understand why people want to drag these cars, they are RALLY cars... made to run as fast as possible around a tarmac/dirt track with lots of twisties. I have owned a few fast vehicles: '02 Mustang GT, '86 GSXR 1100, '65 hotrod Chevy. Nothing comes close to the acceleration AND cornering. The 5 speed is freaking awesome (now) and the visibility out of the car is phenomenal. Every day I find myself looking for ways to drive somewhere. The Mustang was fun, the Evo is downright felonious. No real way to describe it, once you've driven one, or something like it... that's the only way to properly understand. Also, unless your just a techno-freak and can't live without a button on every square inch of the dash, the interior is nice. I like the fact that there's a stereo and an a/c. That's it. What the heck else do you need? You've got a cell right?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is an awesome ride!

by Ztejabobster from Denver, CO on Thu Jul 21 2011

We debated long and hard on the Evo vs. the STI and spent a lot of time looking, driving and considering the plusses and minuses of each. We purchased the Evo (2006) in the end and have been thrilled with its performance thus far. In addition to its duty as a limited use daily drive vehicle, we have also entered it in the local rallycross circuit (stock all wheel). While the vehicle has exceeded our expectations in terms of performance, the STI's are still kicking our behind! We are now convinced it has something to do with the DRIVER! EVO - Excellent Vehicle Option

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rays review

by ray from on Mon Jul 26 2010

very good car all around....it can do really great, the car can handle hard turns and the performance for the car is outstanding

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A morphed sabrewolf-cheetah in lamb's clothing

by Lecky928@yahoo.com from Houston on Sat Oct 28 2006

This car is truly phenomenal. Anyone who rides in an Evolution exits the space shuttle grinning from ear to ear, some drool...Excellent buy for anyone in the market. High resale value. Nothing in this price range offers this much performance. This car sticks to the road like peanut butter to the roof of your mouth. Heads always turn when this car stops at a light or is sighted on the freeway. The 2.0L four puts out a prodigious 286HP and comes with such racecar essentials, among other niceties, as forged pistons, multi piston Brembo calipers, huge rotors, a Momo steering wheel, and a slick 6spd transmission which gives you a satisfying "snick" with each gear selected. Evolution and especially MR sightings are generally rare. The MR model is made in low numbers thus enhancing it's resale value. This car is an instant collectible. Thumbs up to Mitsubishi for bringing this road rocket to our shores.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Never drove anything we so much performance

by Love to feel the G'sss!! from Queens, NY on Tue Jul 06 2010

At first drive the car felt instantly different than anything else I've ever driven. The way the car responds is nothing but amazing. You point it shoots. You gas and it'll just pull away. Its does have its flaws because nothing is perfect. Terrible turning radius and a very basic interior beside the Recaro seats, which keep you very snug. Base stereo is definitely the worst I've ever heard, but then again you buy this car to enjoy its perfromance. As far as it's reliability I cant make a fair decision because I've only drove it about 2k miles and purchased with 15k. It's still a baby but Ive drove it nothing less than insane and its held up. If your into performance you will love it!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely Evolved Experience

by Wheel Nut from Knoxville, TN on Sun Nov 24 2013

This is my 2nd Lancer Evolution. Both 2006 MR editions, which summarizes the power of this vehicle. Cons that, by now, everyone is aware of: - Econo-car interior that's much more practical than magical. Basic but thoughtfully appointed and designed nonetheless. - 20/27 city/highway mpg - 6 Speed Manual gearbox, with one of the stiffest clutches you'll ever use - Bilstein shocks with macpherson struts. Sticky Advan tires wrapped over forged 17" BBS wheels communicating every detail of the road. - Carbon Fiber wing, aluminum roof/hood/fenders. Pros: - There are non-performance related reasons to purchase this vehicle, however the 2006 Lancer Evolution IX MR is a car worshipped by lovers of driving and the passion for engineering, for the exact reasons it is brushed off by non-enthusiasts. The sum of all the special parts masterfully integrated into an indescribable experience which lifts machine beyond a subservient tool into one of life's secret joys. Power- it's delivery to the road and to the senses; telepathic steering; massive stopping power are each individual addictions. No other automobile brings a bigger or more relentless rush and resulting smiles. So, polarizing and extreme - very. Matched by none. .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Starting to worry only 8 mo/5500 miles old 06 MR

by EvoDriver from CT on Tue Aug 22 2006

Power steering pump replaced Catalytic converter replaced Turbo inlet hose keeps popping off oil cooler leak lug nut lose as received from dealer boost gage failed (kink in line) dealer lied about parts replaced Do I have a lemon?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding car for the right type of owner.

by JD from WA on Thu May 01 2008

I've owned a lot of high performance cars...a 250 rwhp Miata with double-braced roll bar, lots of chassis bracing and suspension work, and Wilwood brakes...a Comptech supercharged S2000, a BMW 330ci... The Evo IX is my favorite out of all of them to go rip a backroad. Along with the Corvette, it represents the most bang for the buck you can get in terms of performance. A IX can run high 11s in the quarter mile for $1000-1500 of easy bolt ons, and the handling is absolutely outstanding. Sharp turn-in, huge grip, great stability and manners--very easy to be very fast. Ride quality is good, too (for this type of car). With a nice trunk and backseat, along with AWD, it has great practicality as well. The interior is complete garbage aside from the Recaro seats, but something has to give to make this price point with this performance. There are a lot of rattles in the dash. Tire and clutch life are poor and abyssmal, respectively, and both are expensive. Mitsubishi customer support sucks, too. Still, if you don't mind paying to play, it is a TOP shelf performance machine, and can haul a family on a trip for a weekend, to boot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

absolutely brilliant

by car lover from nottingham on Sun Mar 11 2007

i truly love this car it looks beautifull drives likea dream and very reliable(as u would excpect from a japenese car manufacture)its been equiped very well.the only downside to this car is its thirsty and high insurance but overall its a absolute brilliant car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Nasty!

A short opening paragraph, but appropriate.

The 2006 Mitsubishi Evolution IX is exactly that -- nasty, though in a wicked good way.

The Evolution line comes from a company that lost its luster in the face of competition from Toyota, Honda, Subaru, Nissan, Kia, and Hyundai. This car helps make Mitsubishi shine again.

The ninth-generation Evo, the second of its kind on America's roads, provides only a taste of what may be coming when the Evo X sits at the starting line next year.

Two years ago, at a venue that mixed road endurance, racetrack, and drag strip, I watched a highly tuned Evo dust away the best that Viper, Corvette, Porsche, and others could throw its way. And think: This came from a... Read More