2005 Maxima

Consumer Reviews
2005 Nissan Maxima

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

31 Reviews
2005 Nissan Maxima
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Maxmia: Reliable, Luxurious & Fun!

by Maxima lover from on June 23, 2009

This car has been wonderful for me. It performs like a champ but also has the luxury & comfort inside that I love. It has been the best car I've ever owned by far, I'd HIGHLY recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance Rules!!!

by Performance Man from Arlington , VA on July 6, 2006

This is the most powerful Maxima to date. 265hp is more than enough to get this sedan moving. But it does cause it to guzzle a great deal. I get roughly 22 MPG, but I get it's worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Four Deep

by Amyr2U from Washington, D.C. on April 19, 2012

Im on Maxima number 4. I started with a 2000, 2002, 2004 and I still have my 2005! What can I say? I LOVE this these cars. It really is a 4DSC (4 door sports car) Im looking at car.com for my next one. Buy one and you'll love it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Maxima does live up to it's hype....

by Maxxxxx from Boston MA on August 20, 2012

name is dani, bought my '05 Max brand new, Silver/Black leather w/every option except NAV, paid 29K which was a good deal!!! V6 power but wait, mine is a very very rare 6-speed manual shift!!!! Yes i ordered mine like that bcuz the 2nd gear has no mercy on the road, platinum silver is by far the best color with black interior, my car has 174K and still runs great, one downfall which all max owners wud agree on is the turning radius, a 3 point turn is actually a 5-6 point turn lol, i havnt spent too too much on maintenance although last year i had the timing chains slip and that cost me around $1,800 to fix, change the oil every 5,000 miles which is okay, the shocks and brakes are very good, once in a great while my clutch will slip and its hard to go into gear but thats if ive been using the car all day and shifting for hours, im in the process of trading it in for an automatic same year and color bcuz my GF doesnt know how to drive a manual shift and barely reaches the clutch!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Automobile

by Luxury Sports Car Lover from Tampa, FL on May 25, 2006

Drives like a sports car. Luxury everywhere. Reliability is second-to-none. Pleasing in every aspect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nissan Maxima

by Anne from Seattle on June 2, 2006

Overall, it's a safe car with comfort and affordability. It is quiet and looks sleek and smooth. The way the engine is set up makes for easy maintenance and repairs. It also gets about 21 miles per gallon, which is nice. The Maxima has a lot of power and "get up and go." Also, the brakes have been wonderful, especially in those last minute stops. I've enjoyed my car, so far!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Maxima

by AlexQ from Kingston, NY on March 20, 2014

I bought this Maxima with 63000 miles on it & so far no problems other than the small wear tear problems that come along with owning a car. The Exterior & Interior of this car are very stylish! The speed in this car is amazing!! The only complaint I have about this car is that the space is limited for a tall person height & leg room are somewhat limited. But Its a really nice dependable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money!

by Really good car! from Boston, MA on February 28, 2014

I bought my 2005 Nissan Maxima almost 2 years ago and it is the best car, never have had any problems with it, super reliable. Its sporty yet has the luxury feel. Best 10G I've ever spent. Only complaint is the turning radius is very small but it's because its a large car. Other than that, everything else is great. Very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smooth Operator

by Caramel from Bronx, NY on October 12, 2011

This is a really nice car. The car has a nice power kick to it and it drives smooth. It's a nice comfortable car which has plenty of leg room. I love my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprised by this car

by browni1983 from Hampton, ga on June 4, 2012

purchased the car used, But I was surprised with the ride and feel of the car.. It's great.. Performance is great, I had to get used to the powerit will move out. I have the SL model and its more than I expected. Overall Im very satisfied with the vehicle. but what is more surprising is the gas mileage.. It really does get 27mpg. My only complaint is the turning radius.. My smaller car does better on the turning radius..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2005 Nissan Maxima