Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$17,637 - $28,317  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

68 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Maximus Prime

by JamesG from Midwest, IL on Fri May 13 2016

The 2016 Nissan Maxima is a intermediate level sports sedan which some serious attitude. This new Maxima sports a V6 mated to a CVT that produces 300 horsepower and a SR trim level which is performance based and offers some great driving excitement. Styling is really a departure from the norm. The exterior is bold and has a presence. That ending roofline to back window does look at bit odd when the car is equipped with other colors other than black or grey but, its livable. Interior design is driving focused and the infotainment system is easy to use. Maxima also, offers a nifty sport mode to get your heart pumping when on the go. Overall, this Maxima is stand out in its class and deserves high praises for the bold presence it has and for the quality of vehicle it brings to its segment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car.

by Dac from Wilmington, Mass on Mon Jan 02 2017

This vehicle is unbelievable. I bought a 2016 Nissan Maxima Platinum used. This vehicle has everything. The diamond cut leather seats look amazing, bose stereo sounds great, the remote car starter which is standard, love the lights that go on under the car when you unlock the doors and so much more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is the ultimate Dad Car

by apfaff from daphne, al on Fri Jun 16 2017

Move over BMW 5-Series, the latest update to the "4 Door Sports Car," the Nissan Maxima is nothing short of brilliant. From an aggressive exterior styling that feels more "GTR" than "Altima," the Maxima has once again started to define the Japanese Full Size car segment with an affordable, fun to drive, and well balanced vehicle. I call this the "ultimate dad car" because it does three things very well, that most other mid-size and even full-size sedans do not: 1. I can fit 2 infant or 2 convertible car seats in the back seats , all while I (6'2) and my wife (5'9) sit comfortably in the front seats. 2. I can fit a ton of luggage, including a double jogging stroller, 2 coolers, a suit case and a diaper bag all in the trunk. 3. If and when you want it to be fast, IT IS. Nissan got some flack for the CVT transmissions in the Pathfinders and Altimas in the 2013 era, but it seems that the latest Flagship Maxima is using it to it's advantage. They tuned the classic Nissan 3.5L V6 engine (originally debuted in the reincarnation of the 350Z in the early 2000s) into a 300 HP Beast (much more than even the twin turbo BMW 528I) all while averaging about 26MPG in mostly city driving. I drove the vehicle to and from texas (600+Miles each way) and got a combined 29MPG. While i love nearly everything about the car, three things really stand out as being merely "manageable." The maxima platform (used for the pathfinder as well) is front wheel drive. I get it, it's hard to get the Japanese automakers to create anything RWD aside from a few Lexus products - however, making an AWD version would create an even better driving experience. The second is the departure angle. While I know the styling is that of a sports car, and in reality, the ride height is pretty darn great, I do find myself scrapping the bottom bumper a bit more than I would like. Finally, make a 6 Speed manual option. I love the sport mode, and when the kids aren't in the car, I throw this baby in Sports Mode with manual control and have a blast. But for those of who "enthusiasts" who need a 4 door full size sedan, but want the feel of a weekend beach racer, a manual transmission would be the perfect balance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR

by Donna T from Brandon,FL on Tue Apr 11 2017

This car is by far one of the best cars I have ever had. I prefer it to my Mercedes I had a few years ago and chose it over BMW when car shopping a few months ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 4DSC has returned

by Rusty01526 from Cape Cod MA on Tue Jul 18 2017

I shopped all of the popular choices in the Class. Cadenza, Fusion, Accord et cetera . I chose the Maxima because of the driving feel. The style gets many compliments. Average MPG is 28 in very spirited driving. Powerful with a great interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Nissan owner from Pennsylvania on Mon Sep 14 2015

I have a 2016 Nissan platinum wit 1,000 miles on it. I traded in my 2009 Nissan Maxima SV. The interior styling is much better and the car is loaded with new technology. You get all around camera with motion detection, a little more front leg room and a multi information screen. It is too early to tell u about the reliability but I had no problems on my 2009 soil don't expect any problems on the 2016. The car had good pick up power for any situation and handles nice in the sports mode.the platinum comes with every option. I love the look of the new body style. Once you get adjusted to all the technology in this car you will begin to see that there is no reason to spend more money on another top end car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Maxima Yet

by Al from Roswell, GA on Fri Aug 26 2016

This is my 6th Maxima and the best one yet. The revised engine is an absolute rocketship and the CVT provides seamless, effortless and immediate power delivery. It is vastly improved over the previous generation Maxima. The interior quality rivals that of a luxury car costing thousands more, and the new exterior styling is very attractive. Fuel consumption is particularly low for such a powerful car. On the negative side, I find the driver's seat to be not as comfortable as my 2012 Maxima. I have the SV and the sound system could also be a lot better. Had I realized that the sound system was so mediocre, I would have probably spent a couple thousand more for the SL. Nissan Connect doesn't work, and I have tried just about everything, but that is not a major concern for me. Lastly, the Continental tires were horribly noisy so I replaced them with Yokohama YK740's which ride a lot smoother and are very quiet. I don't know why Nissan put such horrible tires on their premium vehicle. In summary, this is an excellent vehicle for the money, although there is some room for minor improvement in the areas I described. Overall, a commendable job by Nissan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Nissan Maxima SR is the best

by Bosnian Driver 2016 Maxima SR Owner from Des Moines Iowa on Wed Jan 18 2017

I purchased a brand new 2016 Nissan Maxima SR. Had it for one month and already have 1200 miles on the cae . The car is awesome , some would say its a rocket when you hit the sport button and use paddle shifters, i love the way it handles around tight cornors and grips the road and the engine keeping it high in the rpms so you have Instant power ,although i think Nissan needs to bump up the hp on this car to maybe 330hp , yes this car has a CVT and its my first car with CVT and i honestly dont mind it . I have full power whenever i step on gas and dont have annoying gear hunting like other car makers .its fully loaded but the SR doesnt come with sunroof because they get sportier suspension which is fine by me . Its got all the bells and whistles on the car , foward collision alert ,blind spot mointering , adapetive cruise control . so far ive been getting decent gas millege 22city havent done much highway, interior is 10 out of 10 seats are comfy My only compliment would be the foglights are not led and the headlights are bright white hid which make fogs look cheap , ive driven it in snow storm and got around fine with it , tire size is kinda weird on SR so makes finding tires hard or you have to wait for most places to order. Love the remote start heated seats and cooled and also heated steering wheel. Overall i would give this car a 8 out of 10 just because its got some stuff that could be changed . Bigger engine led fogs , resale value on these cars are horrible but i bought it brand new and plan on keeping it for long time , local nissan dealer was amazing to deal with . If you plan on buying test drive it for me then hour so youll see if you like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Fourth Maxima

by Pinky from Bethany, CT on Mon Jan 18 2016

Smooth, fast, comfortable, great handling and looks great inside and out. This is the best Maxima out of four that I have owned. Gas mileage actually beat the window sticker estimate on the highway. Purchase car in July 2015 and not one thing to complain about.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly stylish and handles well

by MikeS from Elizabethtown on Tue Mar 14 2017

The Nissan Maxima has more power and style than previous years. What used to be a Toyota Camry or Honda Accord of cars as stepped up their game to BMW or Lexus. I am not disappointed by its handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car... Read More