2017 Maxima

Consumer Reviews
2017 Nissan Maxima

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

130 Reviews
2017 Nissan Maxima
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan has come a long way. Believ that

by Dan Corbo from on March 18, 2017

All the bells and whistles. BMW better pay attention. This car is at 5 series at half the price. Interior is spacious and ultra luxurious. Hi quality paint job. 2 yes 2 moon roofs. Fast and faster. Hold on to your jewels. Handle like your tiding on rails.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Maxima

by Jhembree from Maryville, TN on April 22, 2017

This is our second Maxima and we love them both. There are so many features on the 2017 that we are still learning!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow! What a car!

by GroundControll from Akron Ohio on July 19, 2017

More bells and whistles than anyone would need! Looks great, handles great, very comfortable and very quick! Much nicer than our 2014 Maxima which was loaded, too! I'll keep buying the Maxima as long as they keep making them!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 sr maxima

by Jumpjet88 from Chicago,IL on March 29, 2017

Recently bought the 2017 maxima sr. No complaints thus far. Love the styling and camel interior. Only qualm I have is I wish they had done a little more for the 2017 model vs the 2016.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value and performance

by paulb from Big Stone Gap on March 11, 2018

This car is a four door sports car in every way possible. Luxury styling but powerful and sporty. This car over delivers in features and capabilities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FUN. FAST, NIMBLE, ELEGANT & MUSCULAR

by James H.L, Creative Soul from San Jose, CA on July 30, 2018

I test drove several vehicles in this class before settling on the 2017 Maxima Platinum. This car would replace my 2007 S Type Jaguar. I wanted a high performance, 4 door mid size sedan with many of the features that attracted me to my S Type, I was looking to buy a 1 year old car with around 10,000 miles on it for around $30.000. I started by looking at Jags but for the money I had, I could only afford an entry level, base model Jaguar XE which boasted a 4 banger with turbo and plastic interior. I was further turned off by the driving experience....the engine sounded like a wind-up toy. Now I could get a 2 year old XF with a meaty V6 with 24,000 miles on it, which was very fast, handled well and was fun to drive, but again plastic interior. To get real leather I would have to step up $20,000 more so I started looking elsewhere. Although the Maxima Platinum exterior design is stunning and unique, with an interior that is fresh and very premium, from a performance standpoint on paper anyway, the Maxima had a lot going against it...FWD, CVT trany. Most car reviewers scoff at the idea that these two things are compatible with a sporty or high performing fun drive, but somehow they magically are in this pakage. It was not quite as fast or nimble as the XF but it was not that far off. In deference to car experts bias against CVT's and FWD I test drove the Chrysler 300, RWD and conventional trany...a bit too large...not as fast, not as nimble, not as fun to drive. Test drove the Mercedes C Class...RWD with a conventional trany, 4 banger with turbo,,,plastic interior-no real leather,...navigation system looked like an after thought and although it handled well and is a beautiful car to look at, it lacked the deep engine note and quickness of the Maxima I also drove the Chevy Impala and Toyota Avalon...stodgy interiors, not as fast, not as nimble, not as fun to drive as the Maxima, although their ride was a little smoother and more refined. After weighing a lot of factors, I defied conventional car guru wisdom and went with my pure visceral "behind the wheel" experience and the design features that dazzled my senses inside and out. The 2017 Maxima, although lacking the Jaguar or Mercedes badge , is "push you back in your seat" fast, and for its size, "nimble as a cat." In my opinion the CVT in this car, rivals, if not exceeds competitors geared transmissions and will, eventually get the respect it deserve from car experts in spite of their instances to the contrary. If I were to change anything about the Maxima today, it would be to ditch the FWD for RWD which would lighten the front end, shorten the turning radius and eliminate that annoying torque steer that can occur while pounding this car around curves. In summery, for the money, this car is a great value with many of the features and abilities of cars costing $20,000 more, minus the expensive maintenance of a BMW or Mercedes. Luxury, style and fun without the badge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More luxurious than my wife's 5 series

by DC from NY on April 9, 2017

This is one amazing vehicle. BMW should take a closer look at what the Maxima has to offer. All for 20K less than I paid for a 2015 5 series xdrive. The ride is better. The interior is more luxurious . The only thing it's missing is the kidney shaped from grills.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good looking car

by Geemoney05 from New york,ny on March 9, 2018

the nissan maxima was a great car to drive dual pane sunroof dual climate heated and cooling seats in the platnium model. The car has a great sound in sport mode.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

3rd Maxima we've owned

by The McLechs from Providence,RI on April 28, 2017

It's a a car that offers a powerful V6 and amenities such as supple leather and Bose sound. Great ride for anyone who wants a combination of luxury and performance for a price that can be tolerated.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 maxima

by Elcomeqk from Miami fl on April 13, 2017

Only a week with the vehicle and everything is perfect, surpassed my expectations. So far only down side is MPG

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13
Our Expert Review: 2017 Nissan Maxima