NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2014 Pathfinder

Consumer Reviews

2014 Nissan Pathfinder

$9,644 - $21,772  MSRP Range
2014 Nissan Pathfinder

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

98 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 98 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Problematic

by Rwp53 from Wautoma, WI on Thu Jul 25 2019

I bought a certified used Pathfinder with about 50k miles on it. It now has 82k miles. Problems I've had that were covered by warranty include a major transmission problem, a wheel bearing, and a cv axel. Problems I've had or am having NOT covered by warranty include needing all new brakes, A/C compressor, electronic power steering pump motor (VERY expensive if bought new thru Nissan), and a recurring problem with the button for releasing the back hatch gate (very cheap plastic bracket hold the button in place, but the bracket has broken TWICE). I also chose the Pathfinder because it is rated to tow 5,000 lbs. It does. However, I went from about 20 mpg to 6 mpg while towing a small camper. If I ever get all the small things fixed I will get rid of this and buy a pickup (but not a Nissan)!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2014 pathfinder

by Bernie from SAN DIEGO on Tue May 02 2017

I bought mine from a dealer/pre- certified with 10,000 miles on it. it has the 7 year/ 100,000 mile warranty. It is the platinum, 4 WD. The transmission was replaced at 50K, under warranty, although I was not having any problems, when I took it in for the recall, they replaced it and extended the warranty. Having had five ford explorers over the years I am surprised by the acceleration and MPG of the Pathfinder, much better than all my explorers, and about $10,000 less for the same equipment. The passenger airbag was replaced under a recall. After I first bought it the fuel pump replaced under warranty, no problem Dealer took care of it and gave me a loaner car. Other than oil changes, rear brakes and tires I have had no other problems. I live in SOCAL and drive the freeways, so not much experience in cold or wet climate, but two years ago I went on a 1,000 mile Round trip to Baja and had no problems. My dealer, Mossy Nissan has done a good job when I bring it in for warranty issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A VERY STABLE AND SAFE VEHICLE!

by Alan (Car enthusiest) from San Diego, CA on Wed Jul 04 2018

This car is extremely comfortable with all leather interior and even seat warming mode! I love the stability of this car too as it does not have much side sway as my prior Toyota Highlander did!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Cheaply made. I hate it!!

by ABCmomof3 from Newmarket, NH on Sat Oct 13 2018

I cannot wait to get rid of this cheaply made vehicle. All the plastic things are breaking. It was so cheaply put together with cheap plastic parts. It also has horrible blind spots. I cannot wait to get another car that is not a Nissan!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Family Car

by Mandi4615 from Oak Ridge, TN on Thu Mar 27 2014

Very roomy. Love the panoramic sunroof feature. Drives like a crossover with the room of a large SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

i got what i want

by miss happy from nissan of lake charles la on Fri Oct 30 2015

i when to nissan of lake charles looking for a pathfinder sl used at a great price and i did. my saleman desmond really help me pick out the pathfinder. im very happy with my suv.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Transmission and axle problems

by TaraH from Mansfield, ohio on Mon Oct 15 2018

Terrible, with too many problems with it. Transmission, axle, shaft problems. I don't feel safe in it. company Doesn't care. Will never purchase another Nssan.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Replacement vehicle

by BePop from Millbrook, NY on Sun Mar 26 2017

Started out looking for a 2013 Pathfinder Platinum edition but because of the convenience of shopping on Cars.com I was able to search and finally obtain a 2014 Pathfinder Platinum..... As for the Pathfinder I bought it from a Nissan dealer, it's exactly what I wanted. It has all the factory installed options I was looking for, especially the front camera I use for parking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roomy, Reliable, Affordable, Safe, Powerful SUV

by ThePickyDriver from Largo, Florida on Wed May 17 2017

The best SUV out there! Fuel-efficient and lots of horsepower! Very spacious with 3 row seating for the average height person. High quality and reliable. Very safe for kids/family. Affordable for all models. Rides very quiet and lots of options you can add to improve comfort, especially for long trips. Excellent AWD in rain/snow conditions and still saves gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable vehicle

by bethe1204 from Danbury Connecticut on Thu Jan 04 2018

Excellent riding vehicle, driving very easy,no blind spots,great line of sight, front,side,and rear camera make it very safe to drive,for the site of the vehicle you get good gas mileage, does not have the typical front end wear on tires, 2/3 or full folding 2nd and 3rd seat is great for packing items inside the vehicle, great on brake wear excellent value for the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder

Editor's note: This review was written in November 2012 about the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Nissan admits that it's among the last automakers to offer a crossover with three rows of seats, something Honda and Toyota have peddled since the early 2000s. Through September, three-row midsize and large crossovers have edged north of 660,000 sales. Every major automaker except Volkswagen now offers one, and that may soon change (see the post).

Nissan's solution: Re-imagine the aging Pathfinder — historically a truck-based SUV, most recently with... Read More