2016 Sentra

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Sentra

$7,388 - $14,952  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Sentra

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

122 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Sentra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

CVT lasted 30k miles

by KaylaGalbraith from Fayetteville Arkansas on Thu Mar 07 2019

I bought this car new in 2016. I have had all the required maintenance done. The car started performing worse and worse. Rough acceleration and then started dying after driving for more than 30 minutes at a time. The cv transmission completely failed at not even 30,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with my Nissan Sentra Sv.

by Hicham Chamarkhi from Frisco.Tx on Sun Apr 08 2018

Great, and reliable vehicle. I used my to commute to work as well as transportation for family. I love it❤. I am used to driving European cars such as Bmw, and Sentra truthfully satisfy my thirst.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First car I've ever owned.

by Ulzii25 from Cincinnati, OH on Thu Sep 21 2017

What can I say? I am a student and Nissan Sentra meets all my needs: Moneywise: It's new and I still can can afford it! Comfortable?: Yes, very! Reliable?: I am a new driver and I rely on my car very much! Exterior and interior styling: Not bad for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Transmission fails

by DudeWheresMyCar from Berwyn, IL on Mon Oct 22 2018

The transmissions on the latest Nissans are not reliable! The CVT type transmissions are not meant for hard driving and are likely to fail as mine did at 62,000 miles. Do NOT purchase this brand!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great looking car

by MarshaT Uber Driver from Spring Valley Ca on Sat Mar 04 2017

So far very reliable. I've had it for a year. I had a 2004 Sentra before this one and it had to be good or I wouldn't have done it again. Actually it was very reliable, nice looking, good mileage, and a good value. A good car all in all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The payments are on my budget

by Diablo from Phoenix, Arizona on Sun Aug 19 2018

The car is very roomy. It’s an economical car with gas and parts. Good on miles. The seats are very comfortable. This car is good for a family of five.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Nissan

by Dallas1 on Sat Mar 10 2018

The car has nice chrome exterior. Love the interior and is fully equipped. Very nice car . Good performing vehicle for commuting back and forth to work.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An amazing and reliable car.

by Hunterrice14 from Johnson City, Tennessee on Tue Jun 09 2020

I love this car it has served me well the past year. It is great on gas mileage and an easy car to maneuver. I would recommend this car to anyone. Great starter car as well. The only reason I am saying goodbye to this amazing car is because I need a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i've ever had

by kalona HI. from maui,hawaii on Tue May 02 2017

I love my 2016 Nissan Sentra standard shift smooth riding car and a very nice style of up grade from previous models Mahalo, Sharon

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love this car!

by John and Alane from Ozark, AL. on Mon Jun 11 2018

A great car for family road trips & around town. It's comfortable and reliable. This is the 3rd Nissan we currently own. We would buy this car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Sentra

The verdict: The refreshed 2016 Nissan Sentra adds needed refinements to its styling and safety technology while retaining its two strongest selling points — good value and passenger room. But vague steering and sluggish acceleration remain.

Versus the competition: Improvements make the 2016 Sentra better overall but don’t give it a leg up over recently updated competition such as the 2016 Honda Civic, which is better to drive and has a nicer cabin. The Sentra does offer superior value with its lower trim levels, however.

Nissan has refreshed the 2016 Nissan Sentra in an effort to keep pace with the competition, including two main rival compact sedans that got full redesigns this year:... Read More