2009 G8

Consumer Reviews

2009 Pontiac G8

$1,802 - $25,866  MSRP Range
2009 Pontiac G8

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

86 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Pontiac G8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 86 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

It's a keeper

by G8 Lover from Youngstown, Ohio on Wed Jul 04 2012

When the spouce and I we're in the market for a new car we went to a combo GM dealer to buy a new Caddy CTS. But when she saw the G8 in black the looking was over. Overall I was extremely impressed with it. The styling is what is most impressive. Comfortable, handles well, rides better than expected, plus many more positive adjectives to describe it. It does have a few quirks that I don't like. First off, no auto diming rear view mirror, not available. Second, the placement of the power seat controls, very tight fit between the seat and the door panel, third, the side mirrors could be larger. You do have to careful when approaching driveways or pulling up to a curb as the front is actually lower than my Corvette, and I have had some mishaps. That is not a fault of the car, just the driver. I've had this car 3 years now and plan on keeping it . Overall, it's the best.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It ROCKS!

by Vetteman from Montgomery, AL on Thu Jun 16 2011

I've owned my G-8 GT for a little over a year. Purchased it used with 15,000 miles on the clock. It was a GM corporate vehicle. GM has a long history of getting a car right and then killing it. The G-8 is SO RIGHT they had to kill off Pontiac just to be internally consistant. Good looks, blistering performance and comfortable. The only annoying thing so far is a rattle in the rear deck partially due to the subwoofer I think. It is fun to just L-E-A-V-E everyone but maybe a Vette or a Porsche sitting at a light. The GT is crazy fast. The GXP version with another @60 hp may well be the ultimate modern sleeper. I've got an old crome bumper Vette and the G-8 feels a lot faster. I average 19-20 mpg in mixed driving and have gotten about 23-24 on the highway at 70-75 mph. GM will be even more stupid than usual if they do not bring this car back as a Chevy/Buick. The front of the car should be changed as little as possible. The back could use a bit more personality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tell the wife its an economy car!

by Road Warrior from NC on Sat Mar 21 2009

As a traveling rep, I spend a lot of windshield time behind the wheel. I've owned both foreign and domestic vehicles, and put well over 200K on most of them. I decided that for once, I would get a car I desired. No disappointment in my decision, as with only 3400 miles it performs as expected and more. The car is very fast, comfortable, and with the 6 speed auto and tall gearing relaxed at cruising speed. It is only turning 1500 rpm @65mph, and 2000 rpm@80. At a steady 65 I can get 31.8 mpg. The problem is that everyone want to seem to race you. When you punch it, you are doing over 90 mph before you know it. The interior is spacious, the seats comfortable, and the handling is excellent. The ride is just a little hard, but considering the handling, it is the best compromise, and the vehicle is rock solid under all conditions. Just a few problems are the seat angle adjustment is by a knob, and the window switches are in the console. This is a drivers car that outperforms anything in its price range. If you need a 4 door Camaro or Corvette, this is your only choice. It will scare the wife when you put your foot into it, and make Camry's, Accord's, Acura's, Lexus's, Audi's, Mercedes, & most BMW's disappear in your rear view mirror in a matter of seconds, all on regular 87 fuel. At less than $28K out the door, why would one settle for anything less?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pontiac G8 GT

by Car nut from Fairfax on Thu Feb 25 2010

This car is an amazing bang for the buck. A great Vette V8 nestled into a 4 door sedan means fun for the whole family. The auto transmission is well suited for this car and allows for throttle matching when in manual mode. Only a slight hint of under-steer during aggressive cornering, however remains very predictable. Controls are in good locations and an over all exterior look of a BMW, which is nice. HUGE amount of room in the back seat, I am 6'4 and I sit very comfortable in any seat in this car. Enough trunk space to feed a small country and enough horse power and torque to jump start Idaho. Fun and safe all wrapped up in a car that has a badge which will fetch a collectors fee as Pontiac drifts into memory.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 door Firebird

by Pyro car guy from York, PA on Thu May 24 2012

This car is amazing! It can fit any size person in the front or back while still scaring little children and the elderly as you race on by. For a 6.0L V8 it gets suprisingly decent gas mileage with the variable valve timing (4cylinder/8cylinder mode). This car is a blast to drive. Pontiac pricing with BMW 5 series performance and style. This car is basically a 4 door Firebird (or Camaro is you prefer since it is still around). This car does not ride like a car that can handle almost 1 full lateral G around a corner, it rides similar to a Cadilac. GM really shot themselves in the foot discontinuing Pontiac and shot themselves in the foot again by not rebadging the G8 and bringing it back in Chevrolet or Buick's clothing. If you want an instant classic that will have your passenger squirming in the seat next to you when you hammer that right pedal while still maintaining decent, normal driving, gas mileage and a comfortable ride then this car is for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome performance, great comfort, excellent

by Car Guy from Michigan on Fri Sep 03 2010

The G8 is a driver's machine. Great balance, handling, braking and all out performance. Muscle car performance with sports car handling and luxury ride. Huge comfortable backseat, enormous trunk. Good mileage (25 mpg highway) for a V8 performance sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Styling & Fun to Drive

by Speedster from Fort Worth, TX on Thu Apr 15 2010

I bought the V-6 with leather and no sunroof, just what I wanted. The V-6 does sound rough accelerating mildly below 1500 RPM as some magazines have noted, BUT it sings wonderful music on its way to 7000 RPM and 256HP. I love the sound when on the throttle. I purchased the car certified pre-owned with 9000 miles on it. I have had two check engine lights in the first thousand miles of ownership, but the dealer appears to have it fixed. I rated reliability average for that reason. Its been great the last 2000 miles. The handling is a great balance between comfortable on the highway cruising and carving up the corners. Most of my miles are highway, and I love how this car is comfortable and fairly quiet, but allows easy passing when you need to get around slower traffic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pontiac - went out with a bang! RIP

by Pontiac Loyalist from Edgewater, NJ on Wed Apr 21 2010

It's always a shame when you see something you're fond of fade into memory. That is really how I feel about Pontiac. From the days of grey plastic interiors and body cladded exteriors to solid, reliable, performance cars, Pontiac had come a long way. I've owned the two cars that Pontiac imported from Holden in Australia and they are, without a doubt, two of the finest cars I've been in for the money. I always believed there was a market for Holden cars and with a little more design intrigue, maybe they would have caught on. Maybe the good ol' days of muscle, muscle, and more muscle have passed and we really are living in a world of efficient, 4 and 6 cylinders with direct injection and forced inductioin. If so, then I am proud to own one of the last true muscle cars...a G8 GXP with attitude to burn and nicely wrapped around one of GM's best interiors. The G8 has a tight, European ride, but never lets you forget that it's American...maybe not by birth, but in it's heart and soul. Good-bye Pontiac. You will be missed by a select few that understand what you really stood for. RIP

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My GXP

by JOHN477 from Central Illinois on Fri May 03 2013

I purchased this car new. The design caught my eye, and the performance sealed the deal. What a car. For the money, one cannot find such a car on the current market today making this an unsurpassed value. If your taste is for a car that functions extremely well as a workhorse, and performs like a sports car, without draining your bank account...get this one. This car is the reason Pontiacs should still be produced today. If the Chinese would have endorsed these instead of the flash-chrome-Buick, these WOULD still be built under the Pontiac nameplate. This car feels like a 4 door Vette, is as roomy as a Caddy, and has trunk space galore for actually traveling by car. They are also sleepers. The unsuspecting Beemer pilot gets very embarrassed, and the cop gets fooled. Your friends and neighbors say oooh, and your banker says aaah. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Crazy fast for a four door sedan

by jhwkh8r from Chicago, IL on Fri Aug 16 2013

I bought a used 2009 G8 GT a couple of weeks ago. I fell in love the minute I hit the gas pedal. 6.0L is no joke. Combine that power + the look of a European sports car, and you have a win-win. Interior controls are confusing at first, as they are set up in reverse of most US made cars, bc this is GM's Australian muscle car shipped in to give them a rear-wheel drive sedan to compete with a rival Detroit automaker from 2007-2009. This is a good looking car and has an engine to meet anyone's needs. 3.6L for the casual driver, 6.0L(GT model) or 6.2L(GXP, good luck as there were less than 2000 of these monsters produced for 2009) for the enthusiast. Very easy to modify if you want it to feel like a 4-door Corvette. I've owned a Trans-Am WS6, and both the super charged Bonneville SSEI and Grand Prix GTP. The G8 looks, feels, and acts like a step up from all of those high performance Pontiac models. Who wouldn't want a car that looks like a luxury sedan on the way to work, but has the alter ego of a muscle car every time some teenager in a hot-rod 4 cylinder pulls up beside you. Racing 0-60mph in a swift 5.3 seconds does the talking for you. Pontiac truly rode off into the sunset at the top of their game with this beauty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2009 Pontiac G8

If you haven't heard yet, GM is dropping its Pontiac brand; it's scheduled to cease operations by the end of next year. Pontiac has a history of performance cars, but it hadn't had a serious performance sedan in recent years, until the debut of the G8 for 2008. Pontiac upped the ante for 2009 with the 415-horsepower G8 GXP, which is the trim level I tested. The GXP is an immensely gratifying sports car, which is why it's so disappointing that it will be gone soon.

With a powerful V-8 and responsive chassis, the GXP rewards enthusiast drivers yet is civilized enough for daily use, thanks to its comfortable ride and spacious interior. Weighing it against a Dodge Charger SRT8, I'd take the Pontiac any... Read More