2006 Torrent

Consumer Reviews
2006 Pontiac Torrent

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

31 Reviews
2006 Pontiac Torrent
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Torrent AWD

by Family man from South Dakota on March 30, 2008

We have found the torrent to be a very reliable, comfortable, and enjoyable vehicle. We purched it new in 2006 and in 2 years rolled on 60,000 mile driving everything from highways to snow/ice covered winter roads and found the handling and preformance above expectation. In fact we loved it so much we just purchased a new 2008 in order to add leather, sunroof, XM, and 100,000 mile warrenty. Not that we would have need the warenty the 2006 was never back to the dealer and the only expense we had for it were oil changes and a set of tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV!!

by Janice from Alberta,Canada on December 6, 2009

I have only owned my '06 Torrent for 1 month and I love it!!! Easy & comfortable to drive,lots of room.Mine has heated leather seats and let me tell you for Alberta winters this has been great!!! The cargo area is a little small but at least you can fold the back seats down for more room.So far no complaints Im qui9te happy with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2006 Pontiac Torrent

by INXORTE from Houston, TX on December 22, 2010

Spacious interior, lots of room for the rear passengers. inconveniences: The starter, sone times is difficult to start the vehicle. The automatic tail date opener is extremely dificult to access. If the relay fails, there is no other way to open back gate but to disassemble the gate.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking and verstaile

by PK from MN on March 26, 2010

We LOVE our torrent. It is the only vehicle in this style we found that can accomidate a rear facing infant seat with moving the driver seat forward or folding the handle down before you install the seat. If you aren't ready for a minivan, this is a great vehicle. I sometimes pull a small trailer with ease. The 5 speed auto trans handles and shifts well. The only drawback is the large turning radius. Sometimes I call it "the bus" when maneuvering in parking lots. We have owned the car for 2.5 years and had zero maintinence or breakdown issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by very happy from Oromocto,NB on August 19, 2006

We purchased the Torrent after having many problems with our Rendezvous. We like the looks of the Torrent as soon as we saw it. Ours is the sport model with AWD and the sun roof is great. We have driven this vehicle now for approxiametly 2 months and no problems. We do not like that the rear door because it hasn't the means of opening just the glass but instead you must opening the whole door which at times things fall out. I would prefer that the emergency brake be a foot brake near the brake. Also it took sometime to deal with the Tacometer being on the right side instead of the left side. I would prefer that the interior lights on the console be a different color than red. The ride of this vehicle and room space is just great, we usually travel with another couple and we are not small people but there is plenty of room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my torrent

by Jan from Shohola PA on June 11, 2014

It was a gift from my mom and heard some really bad reviews about it. After this winter I trust this car with my life. The roads I drive on are so bad and it handled very well. I felt safe. I also live on a steep incline so with the ice I wasn't sure how the AWD would work but it was wonderful. I agree with people about the turning radius and the cup holder issue but over all I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever owned.

by Dave M from Buffalo, NY on October 23, 2017

This car had plenty of room for Driver, Passengers and cargo. (Soccer Mom). Great Gas Mileage. Cool looking SUV. Just Inspected and again needs nothing. Regular maintenance always on time since I bought it New. Garaged and no rust. Could easily last someone 10 + years if you take care of it like I did..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Torrent

by Family Man from South Dakota on June 6, 2006

I purchased the 2006 Torrent about 4 months ago. It hase been a wonderful car. It drives very nice, has a sedan feel in ride and handling. With AWD it preformed marvioulsly in the early spring snows. The interior flexablity make a perfect fit for long trips with the family to sort runs to lumbar yard. With the sliding back seat adults over 6ft are comfortable in the back seat even on longer drives and a car seat can slide in very easily with out having to adjust the front seats. The V6 feels very peppy and has returned for me better than sticker fuel mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Dependable Ride

by Mak 219 from Indiana on April 29, 2017

This Front Wheel Drive SUV took me through a snow storm when other cars were getting stuck in the snow. It had no issues except for your normal maintenance. It was fun to drive for years. It was very dependable. I thoroughly enjoyed driving this SUV. The white color with the dark tinted windows made it a very nice looking vehicle. My only complaint would be that when you scrape the ice and snow off of your windshield in the winter, it made it a little more difficult then normal windshields because of how they had made it. This is a minor detail.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great first car

by natesoc on August 1, 2017

I've owned this car now for 5 years. If I could, I would drive it for the rest of time! The gas mileage isn't great, but it's super comfortable, with a massive amount of space!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4