2002 911

Consumer Reviews

2002 Porsche 911

2002 Porsche 911

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

37 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Porsche 911?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Porsche 996 Twin Turbo

by Dr. Porsche from Rochester, NY on Mon Apr 16 2012

It was a dream of mine to get a Porsche that was actually fast enough to scare me, and this fits the bill. Mechanically the cars are great. When buying a used model there are several things you should look for. 1. Try to get a car that is fully documented (service-wise) 2. Make sure the option sticker is intact under the hood, it?s a good way ensure the car wasn't in a front end accident 3. Run the VIN through AutoCheck (it's not a perfect way to check out the vehicle, but is nice to have) 4. It isn't unusual to have minor cosmetic issues with cars of this age, but avoid ones that look like they have been abused. If the simple things aren't taken care of, you can bet the expensive things were not either. 5. Curb rash is a big issue with these cars; I wasn't able to find a single car in my price range that didn't have some minor rubbing on the rims. The cars have now depreciated to the point where there are "affordable". If you don't buy one from a Porsche dealer, make sure you have it checked out by one before purchasing. The cost is usually about $400. These cars are very fast, and be prepared to get both looks and "race" invites from all likes of drivers. Also, maintenance is very expensive. 30k, 60k maintenance packages are about $1300-$1500. To change the spark plugs they need to take the rear bumper off. A set of tires averages about $1200. Lastly, if you get one, join your local Porsche Club. You won't regret it. I highly recommend these cars, they look great, are reliable and a pleasure to own. I have owned over 10 different models over the last 20 years and the twin turbo is definitely the best so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

48 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

YOU WILL LOVE IT

by New with Porsche from NY on Mon Apr 19 2010

A great true sports car, otstanding handling, a thrill to drive, huge throttle response with precise handling,worth every $ k.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply perfect....none better

by charlie from virginia on Thu May 20 2010

You have to drive it to believe it. This is without a doubt the best Porsche made. Ive owned Porsche's forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Porsche model

by Charlie from Laguna Beach, CA on Sun May 06 2012

Lots of car for the money. Corners like its on rails. Classic Porsche looks. 2002 was the first year of the larger 3.6 engine and 996 face lift which included the glass rear window. Great Car. Reasonable price in the used in used/resale market. Great Value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by Charlie705 from Laguna Beach, CA on Mon Oct 21 2013

Owned my 2002 911 Cab for 12 years. NO PROBLEMS with it at all through 56,000 miles! Still looks present and handles amazing. 2002 is the first year of the larger engine, bumper/design refresh and the glass rear window on the cab. Lots of value for the money. An amazing car...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by cali from on Tue Jan 18 2011

First porsche for me. I love this car. You can not lose the rear end in the C4 on any corner. Killer speed, handling and looks. With that being said, definitely get a high end radar detector.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent driving and very reliable car

by Jeff on Thu Oct 05 2017

Car handles exceptionally well and the performance of the engine and transmission are also excellent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value in a 911

by 911 fan from Sisters, Oregon on Tue Nov 21 2017

I am a first time Porsche owner, but have owned Mercedes and BMW as well as other makes. I am very impressed with the quality and handling of this 911. In addition, it is economical. Our first road trip averaged 28.5 across the Oregon Cascades and back. Everyone should own a 911 once.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Jass101 from Los Angeles, CA on Fri Jun 23 2017

This car is the most thrilling, heart pounding, gratifying driving experience I've ever had. I found myself taking the long way to every destination just so I could hear and feel the engine a little longer. Sometimes I just take it out and drive around the block just for the thrill of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun I've had on 4 wheels.

by Drdave from Mohrsville, pa on Sun Jul 16 2017

This has been a great car that I love drive. Never had any problems. And it's great to put the top down, find a nice curvy back road and go.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 Porsche 911

There's an unwritten rule when it comes to test driving cars that you drive the base model before slipping into the top-of-the-line rendition.

That way, you can appreciate the base model for what it is, low-cost entry into the lineup, and the top-of-the-line model for what it represents, the best in the stable and what owners of the base model can aspire to.

We broke the rule when it came to a pair of Porsche 911s, the 2002 Targa and Carrera 4S, with the high-performance 4S taken first, the open-top Targa second.

The Targa is no slouch. It's powered by the same 3.6-liter, 320-horsepower 6-cylinder engine teamed with 6-speed manual as the 4S. But the 4S comes with all-wheel-drive that allows... Read More