2008 Cayman

Consumer Reviews
2008 Porsche Cayman

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

29 Reviews
2008 Porsche Cayman
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car to Drive but Worrisome to Own

by Chitown388 from IL on March 17, 2013

Instant power on demand, surgical precision steering, comfortable daily car, exciting car when pushed, nice rumble sound in and outside the car. However, the generation 1 Cayman has several designed flaws, some can cause catastrophic failure with little to no warning. Those things can constantly nag you in the back of your head - and can reduce the joy of owning one. - IMS (Intermediate Shaft) Failure. A design flaw that when it fails, a new engine is needed. Porsche rectified this by not having an IMS in Gen II Cayman. - RMS (Rear Main Seal) Failure. The broken seal is not so much of an issue, the problem is that it leads to the IMS failure - Cracked piston. A design flaw with porous engine head. - Water and Oil Separator failure. Apparently this can fail often. And when it fails, the tail pipe will belch out a massive amount of smoke. I am not sure on the damage to the engine when this thing fails. Another thing to worry about. - Water pump failure. This can fail even with just 5K miles on the odometer. When it fails, it will leave you stranded. You don't have this kind of problem with a BMW, Lexus, or Infinity. Just another thing that nags you in the back of your head.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cayman S 2008

by Heel and Toe is my MO from NY State on March 20, 2009

Eventhough the Porsche 911 has experienced longevity and worldwide success, the Cayman S is truly the modern sportscar. The German engineering behind the vehicle is very apparent and it is so good, it can make an average driver look talented behind the wheel. If you know how to drive fast, there is no other vehicle like it. The Cayman S is reasonably priced (compared to others out there), comfortable on long journeys and very discreet in appearance. You will be impressed with what this car can really do and all this while happily smiling away. Room for improvement? I would increase horsepower and further lower the centre of gravity. As for road holding, this car is awesome. At home either down town or on the highway, her true pedigree shines out on a twisting country or mountain road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST EVER

by SPORTS from on November 22, 2008

I just bought it last month and it is just superb. The engine is good, interiors are superb, very comfortable and the best overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have owned

by Caymenlover from Algonquin, IL on May 28, 2012

The Caymen 2008 Special Design Edition has superior cornering ability as even compared to Porsche flag ship of sport's car, the 911. It makes even an average driver look very good. The Caymen can be safely described as a car on rails. An exhilarating driving experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Early Anecdotes On A Great Sports Car

by Domo from Santa Cruz Mountains, CA on July 3, 2013

My red Cayman S purchase was a private transaction. It was only 24K on a 2008, but I still ran CARFAX and had the Porsche dealer check it out. Interestingly, a lot of Porsche's are only driven at weekends. That seems a waste to me. The only major mod was after market sport springs that stiffened up the ride a bit and made getting in and out more of a work out. The performance is excellent. The car runs like is in on rails. Realistically, you aren't going to push the CS to its handling limits on public roads. I live in the mountains with plenty of corners to play with. Steering is very precise. Clutch and manual shift are easy to get right. Engine response is smooth across the range. I miss not having either BT or a MP3 player interface, but the engine sound puts a smile on my face in the morniing. So if you want a fun car that isn't a crazy price, then this is a good bet. I used to own a Miata - That was fun too!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

by ChileS from Orlando, FL on August 15, 2008

This car is incredible...truly! I looked at a bunch of different brands, GT500, C6 (vette), Challenger, and although the HP is less than the above, this car is soooo light, that the HP / Weight ratio has to be close to the others. It is a little rocket, and a blast to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2 weeks in and love it.

by tfeiten from Knoxville, TN on February 16, 2015

Like many I dreamed of a 911 and really wanted the 89-93 body style for its classic lines and reliabiltiy. However from a comfort and driveability once I started driving the Cayman it seemed like an easy choice. Nothing against the 911 the comfort, ride, and overall performance seemed to be just what I needed for my first sports car. And after just 2 weeks it will will not be my last. I found a one owner 2008 with 34K on it and its solid. Paid some good money for paint restoration and c quartz finish and it looks new. Cannot belive how it holds the road in the Tennessee Mountains!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cayman

by Cayman Owner from Virginia on May 13, 2011

Great car. Excellent interior and exterior. Best driving sports car I have owned. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Rocks!

by Craig H from Cherokee County, SC on December 1, 2017

Great german made car. Love it. You actually feel like you are driving something vs. the tin cans or plastic bubbles as with other automobile manufacturers. Sturdy, dependable, rock solid, handles great!! This is my 4th Porsche - once you own a Porsche, you will not want to buy another manufacturer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No better car for the money

by DylanSanders from Santa Monica, CA on February 7, 2018

It's a great sports car for a fraction of the price. I personally like the body style better than some 911s. It's an all around perfect car, you just have to plan group drives accordingly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2008 Porsche Cayman