Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2015 Cayman

Consumer Reviews

2015 Porsche Cayman

$34,009 - $73,905  MSRP Range
2015 Porsche Cayman

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

6 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Porsche Cayman?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 6 of 6 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance

by HPDE Instructor from New Jersey on Sun Sep 27 2015

I purchased a 2015 Porsche Cayman GTS a month ago and am very pleased with it. The performance is excellent, and the build quality is superb. It is a 6-speed manual, and the gear shifter is very precise and has positive engagement / throws. The engine has more than adequate power and pulls well. The electromechanical steering has very good feel and weight to it; it does not seem to be a step back from the hydraulic steering of previous generations. My two favorite features are the automatic rev-matching on downshifts (in Sports Plus mode) and the Sports Exhaust. I had taken the car to the track recently and its handling is very good. Being a mid-engined car, it is very well balanced. When pushed hard, the Porsche Stability Management is non-intrusive but will step in to correct if the car slides too much or starts to spin. It is a car that you can drive everyday on the street and enjoy it as well as take it to the track. When driving sedately on the highway, it gave me 26 to 27 mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one of a kind

by flat sixer from Bullhead City Arizona on Sat Jul 02 2016

I've owned Porsche 914's, 911's, A 912E & a prior 2008 base 5 speed Cayman. I just purchased a new 2016 Base Cayman PDK. This is probably the nicest, most engaging Porsche I've ever owned. As this is the last year for the flat six in the Cayman, I made the decision to not wait for the 718. I was not disappointed. The PDK is a fantastic transmission with lightning fast shifts at the perfect RPM's. The 2.7 liter six has that flat six 911 wail when pushed & has more than enough power for any street requirement. This thing handles twisty roads like a magnet to metal. In my view this is the most engaging sports car on the market. Save 15 to 50 grand over a base Carrera or upper trim Caymans & get a base Cayman with PDK

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sports car for the money!

by NHMAN from Alachua, FL on Mon Nov 06 2017

The Porsche Cayman S is the epitome of sports car value. For many people, the Porsche 911 is simply out of financial reach along with many other makes and models, but the Cayman is in a more affordable price bracket and its mid engine performance is unbeatable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You'll blow through 700 miles in a blink

by Rag Dog from Westport, CA on Fri Dec 22 2017

I put 5k miles on my 2016 Cayman GTS before I made my first payment. It is utterly amazing on the open road. It can be pushed right to the limit with complete confidence. The sound in absolutely intoxicating screaming down a remote canyon in the mountains with the engine symphony encompassing all senses. You will never want to drive down an interstate highway again after an experience through the roads less traveled in this mid engine marvel of engineering and design.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic value for the money

by MTDriver from Connecticut on Sun Jul 12 2015

I read the "expert" review on this site for this car and I strongly recommend that if you are shopping for a two seater sports car, that you test drive it yourself and don't give too much wieght to his review, especially about the streering feel. I own a 2015 Cayman with a manual transimission. It is not the S, GTS or GT4 model and I find it to have more than enough power (5.4 seconds 0-60) and plenty of torque to immediately accelerate at any speed smoothly and with great sound. It has a free-revving engine and the clutch and gearshift are the best feeling combination of any car I have drivien (41 years a driver). It is equally easy to drive around town as it is racing it on a track. Having never owned the previous generation Cayman I don't know how that steering felt, but I find the feedback on my car to be perfect - not jarring and not numb - just right, like Goldilock's pudding! Also, the interior is very nice; bordering on luxury even in its base form. The seating postion is low (though it can be adjusted higher) and the driving dynamic is just fabulous. The Cayman is so much fun to drive. It is by far the best car I have ever owned, which has been many. Becasue is is mid-engine, the Cayman is very well balanced and so driving through corners will give you great confidence behind the wheel. Want to go away for the weekend in the Cayman? No problem. It has a large "frunk" under the front hood and the back is a hatch. I can easily carry two large duffel bags and four large bags of groceries and still have room for more stuff. There is good storage in the passenger compartment too. If the price seems high, it is not. It is actually a huge bargain. The option list can increase the cost quickly, but with minimal options, you will have a brilliant car like no other. Insurance is comparable with any similar car; BMW, Lexus, etc. but the Cayman is so distinctive and special that it beats them hands down! It is a true sports car. Finally, the Cayman is very reliable and the service intervals are at 20,000 miles. It is quite simply a fantastic sports car you will enjoy every time your drive it. The only downside is that your cheeks may hurt from all your smiling. But don't take my word for it, go test drive one yourself, you will be glad you did!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

porsche

by porsche fan from irvine,ca on Fri Mar 02 2018

great car once you have owned you always want another after owning one ; well made fun to drive beautifull workmanship, so why dont you own one ,this will be my 4th

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2015 Porsche Cayman

Editor's note: This review was written in May 2014 about the 2014 Porsche Cayman S. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2015, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The redesigned 2014 Porsche Cayman is more luxurious than its predecessor, but performance-car purists will lament its diluted steering feel.

The Cayman is Porsche's entry-level coupe, if you can call a car that starts at $53,550 (including a $950 destination charge) entry-level. Unlike the iconic rear-engine 911, the Cayman is a mid-engine car like the Boxster, its convertible sibling.

The all-new 2014 Cayman weighs less and is... Read More