2017 Macan

Consumer Reviews

2017 Porsche Macan

$25,464 - $58,700  MSRP Range
2017 Porsche Macan

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Porsche Macan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Macan

by JoJoDriver from Westlake Village, CA on Thu Apr 06 2017

I test drove all competitors products in this segment, i.e., mid size luxury SUV. I was looking for an SUV that had style and practicality. However, my first priority was driving dynamics, handling, fun to drive aspect, and the overall feeling you get when you are in the vehicle. Without a doubt, compared to the competition, no SUV came close to the Porsche Macan. Furthermore, in my opinion, the base Macan with the turbo 2 litre engine was the best of the Macan lineup. Yes the Macan S and the Macan GTS are much more powerful vehicles with 0 to 60 times like a that of a muscle car. But where other than a race track would anyone use that power. More importantly, the base Macan feels lighter and more responsive in corners and is a better solution for driving fun in the real world and within the confines of speed limits. Nevertheless, driving a base Macan through canyons and twisty road allows for a perfect blend of power and handling offered by the 2 litre turbo. It never runs out of power and it handles better than the other Macans. So I recommend saving the money and adding more fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

63 out of 63 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything you want from a Porsche

by LarrynCarrie from Redmond, Oregon on Mon May 01 2017

My last Porsche was a 96 911 targa and I loved it but as time went by and the family grew so went the 911. Recently bought the Macan and wow has Porsche stepped up to the plate in terms of high tech in every way from handling to electronics. This car begs to be driven and even though it has enough room for 4 possibly 5 it handles like a real sports car. The power is amazing and the transmission shifts so fast and precise, I will never go back to a manual. Very happy with the car, build quality is superb, visibility is perfect and handling is...well, lets say it's what the badge implies, pure Porsche.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned them all, this is the best of all.

by MurMan from Charleston, SC on Thu Jul 13 2017

From looks to performance, I've enjoyed the whole experience. I've been driving 64 years, & this is the most complete experience to date. It's spacious and gives acceleration when asked for. Let me add that my wife loves it, so , that's a plus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV!!!

by Birdie man from on Mon Apr 10 2017

Love the user friendly interior and the exterior looks great. The style is 10 years ahead of other manufacturers. It drives well and you are in total control. The Macan is built with care and is very well balanced.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Day One

by AndyS from on Tue May 02 2017

After 24 hours love it. The apple interface takes some time to get used to but once set up is awesome. The car in sport or sport plus mode is a blast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly smooth ride, plenty of power

by Dency from Fremont, WI on Fri Sep 15 2017

This is Macan S model, 340HP, feels stronger than that. Much roomier inside than it looks, high quality interior materials, staggering amount of electronic features and buttons, great visibility all directions, twin glass roofs, precision shifting 7 speed automatic, extra fun in sport mode. Back seat room tight, who cares? Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Porsche SUV

by Happy Owner from Tulsa, OK on Tue Apr 10 2018

Having owned 3 911s over the past 30 years, when it came time to replace my VW GTI, I wanted to consider a luxury SUV. The Macan shares a lot of structure with the Audi Q5 but I preferred the looks of the Porsche and the engine and suspension are unique to the Macan. I found a dealer loaner for a nice discount off MSRP. I got the base engine which has all the power I need for a sporty driving style and the premium plus safety package which the main reason to abandon the 2009 VW. Luxury features are great. Rear seat legroom is a bit tight but seats are very comfortable and it's rare that I have rear seat passengers. Cargo area with all seats up is not as spacious as the Q5, but, again, there's plenty of room for two passengers' gear on a trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Car

by RobinW from Santa Ana, CA on Sun Apr 02 2017

For the money, the Macan delivers the performance you expect from a more expensive car. It's a beautiful ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's perfect car for me .

by Sy Wang's car on Mon Aug 21 2017

This car is perfect for me,I love it, not because performance only, looks great and makes you very happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect combination of a sports car and an SUV!

by Tall Grey Guy from Fremont, WI on Wed Sep 26 2018

I have a 2017 Macan S model with the 340 HP V6 Twin Turbo. Plenty of head, shoulder, leg room for my 6'4" size. Super handling, acceleration, and strong braking. Excellent traction in snow without dedicated snow tires. Throaty exhaust note in sport setting and during every start up. Back seat legroom is minimal. You can open hatch remotely, but must push button in hatch to close. Inserting key in the left side of dash is different, but easy to get used to. Oil changes at $250 are a bit steep. No dip stick to check oil. 1st and 2nd year depreciation is extreme. Very disappointed to find that trade in values are far less than the sales guys tell you even with low mileage. Takes about 3-4 months to order one. Dealer stocks are limited and tend to be the overloaded option versions with very high MSRP's. Even the 4 cylinder models can approach $70K. Overall a truly great car in every way. Porsche Customer Care is outstanding and super supportive. Local dealer staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2017 Porsche Macan

The verdict:


The 2016 Porsche Macan S SUV is the apple that doesn't fall far from the tree in Porsche's repertoire, delivering a high-performance driving experience in an unlikely shape.

Versus the competition:


You can spend similar money on larger SUVs, but they can't rival the 2016 Porsche Macan's combination of athletic driving experience and luxuriously appointed interior.

Editor’s note: This review was written in February 2016 about the 2016 Porsche Macan, but little has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Porsche has been more than just a “car” maker for years, since the introduction of its wildly popular Cayenne midsize SUV. The compact Macan is a smaller, more affordable SUV introduced to the Porsche lineup for 2015.

Smaller doesn’t mean cheap, though, and the Macan doesn’t exactly have an apples-to-apples competitor, which makes it an interesting little SUV. The 340-horsepower Macan S starts at $53,595 including destination... Read More