1996 900

Consumer Reviews

1996 Saab 900

$902 - $2,906  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

12 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1996 Saab 900?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by m@ from Kalamazoo, MI on Sun Oct 29 2006

I have wanted one of these for 14 years. I finally got one and it has over 120K miles on it. This car has a lot of pick up, the 2.0 liter engine with the turbo is outstanding. Mechanically it is very sound but you need to be someone who doesn't mind getting your hands dirty because the repair facilities act like it's a BMW. Parts are expensive at a dealer but you can get them reasonably from independent part shops and it is easy to work on. I loved my SAAB, but the back seat is a bit too snug with 3 kids.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fantastic convertible

by Jeff from NC on Fri Mar 09 2007

1996 Saab 900 S convertible. Bought with 130,000 miles. Have thoroughly enjoyed driving for a year, loved it so much I bought a 2002 9-3 SE turbo on a semi-impulse. Turns heads, incredibly fun to drive with top down. Visibilty out the back with top up is better on the 9-3. Handles really well, much better feel for the road than my previous cars, Mazda 626, Nissan 240SX, Acura Integra. Most fun car to drive I've had since my 1982 280ZX turbo. Fairly reliable, a couple trips to the saab specialist but nothing major considering the mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

181,000 and still going

by Nick from Philadelphia, PA on Sat Nov 10 2007

My saab has 181,000 miles on it original engine and manual transmission. The only think major i had to replace is the top but only because of the back window the actual top is in good condition and it was NOT garage kept. I love this car and will drive it until it drives no more and maybe after that i might just put another motor in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ve ever owned!

by Saab Lover from Waukesha, WI on Tue Nov 22 2011

My car has over 260000miles on it and has just required routine matinence which I was able to do at home in my own garage due to the accesability of the parts and ease of repair. Large engine cavity makes it so easy to get at anything you need plus it gets great milage!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, so good

by pmz2999 from Berlin,CT on Thu Feb 07 2013

Purchased a used 1996 Saab 900 SE turbo convertible because I always wanted to won a Saab and was in the market for a convertible. Love the car so far, it of course is used with 116,000 miles on it so it is not new, but I am enjoying it and look forward to summer days with the top down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

SAAB 900 Turbo

by Ex-SAAB Enthusiast from Washington DC on Thu Jun 01 2006

This car has been a repair nightmare. Major components fail at an alarming rate turbo($1400), fuel pump ($900), power steering pump ($920), plastic idler pulley failure , transmission mounts, front end work ($1100), and what seems like about a million repairs for various electronic component failures. The "Check Engine Light" is a feature that really gets a workout on this car. Now the check engine light is on, again and the transmission is hard up-shifting/down-shifting. This car drives great to and from the repair shop. Purchased SAAB when 4 years old and had 45,000 miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Reliability and cost to repair make it a nightmare

by mikeyb from CA on Thu Dec 07 2006

I purchased a 1996 900S convertible earlier this year. The handles very well and has reasonable acceleration. It also very subtly attractive. It is "near luxury" car with leather seats, premium sound, and other bells and whistles. But within 2 months, the convertible top failed to a cost of $2800 even though it had been fixed the previous year. In addition, other minor but expensive failures make me extremely nervous about overall reliability. I think Saab/GM was still experimenting when they designed this car and I have heard that reliability has improved. However, I cannot recommend this model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

false vehicle description

by adam from Traverse City on Mon May 22 2006

vehicle does not have a/c, needs new timing belt, leather is in bad condition, sunroof does not work, much mechanical work needed

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Missing My SAAB

by Dip from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Sep 25 2017

Used to own this. Like a dummy, co-worker in need of a car because her son wrecked hers. At the time I had Saab and Jeep. Sold Saab at mechannic's suggestion. Worst advice I ever took. Have missed that car since. Jeep eventually needed its SECOND transmission - I trashed it. And, I don't even want to know because I am sure my Saab is still running.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully reliable car

by Ben from Ann Arbor, MI on Sat Sep 16 2017

The car has been a joy to own, and has been trouble free from the beginning. We are selling because we are downsizing to two cars rather than three.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1996 Saab 900

One of the better-kept secrets on the American automotive scene is the performance capabilities of the Swedish-built Saab.

Saab is an acronym for Svenska Aeroplan Aktiobolaget, or Swedish Aircraft Co.

The company's automobiles have a strong technological tie with aircraft design and construction. And product-wise, the company has always marched to its own beat.

The newest of these products line is a 1996 Saab 900 S 5- door, a front-wheel drive, five-passenger sedan.

The five-door combines the potential for sports sedan performance with family car utility, depending on what lies under the hood. The model's four-cylinder motors are not large, but they are muscular, especially in turbocharged form.

By... Read More