Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 xA

Consumer Reviews

2006 Scion xA

$2,261 - $7,361  MSRP Range
2006 Scion xA

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

51 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Scion xA?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best used car out there

by lunyty from Knoxville,Tn on Mon Sep 26 2011

wasn't looking for a scion,just a car good on gas..i saw a couple listings for the scion xa,went and took a look and bought one..toyota quality at a fair price,36 mpg all day with auto,and a/c blasting ,who could ask for more....the newer model xb does not get near the mpg of the 04-06 xa,,,i dont know why toyota would make such a great car,like the xa ,then make it bigger ,with a bigger more thirsty motor,,,it does not make sense?,,if your looking for a small car with good mpg,you cant go wrong with the xa

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Scion xA

by mikhael from San Francisco & a Bay Area on Wed Nov 17 2010

Totally awesome around town kind of car (200 mile + radius)! Serves the purpose 100%. If you are thinking taking it to the mountains with 4x200 + lb passengers inside, I would think twice. Hello, it's 1.5 L car let's be reasonable. We also own 2004 xA. Same thing, totally awesome care! 2006 though got tons of extras, side air bags, side curtains, both front and rear, sound insulation was improved, iPod hook up and more. Before purchasing 2006 we've looked at a newer body of xA. Absolute lack of room inside!!! Toyota narrowed top portion of a care a bit, but that little translates in huge discomfort / turn off! Also, they stop putting 1.5L engines in it. It's 2.4L now. Not sure about Japan or Europe, but no 1.5L for US that's for sure. Why? Dumb move if you ask me. On top of all that 2.4 I test drove is way noisier that 1.5L I have in my both 2004 and 2006. With that in mind, we decided to go for another xA, same body style but newer year model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

more than what you'd expect

by vetteOwner from Raleigh, NC on Fri Aug 04 2006

It's unrealistic to expect gobs of power and torque from a modest 1.5 liter engine. This IS NOT a performance car. Having said that, this car is geared PERFECTLY to make up for this fact. Takeoffs almost feel peppy, the handling is better than I would have expected, and the brakes are very responsive. The interior is solid, and it comes standard with CD and power everything. I have been getting a combined 35 MPG from mine. I drive my vette on the weekend, but the scion is my daiy driver... It can't be beaten for the 70+ mile round-trip to work. Cons - the windshield is at an awkward angle which seems to lead to constant bombardment by rocks. Very noisy, both in terms of road noise and in terms of the engine. This is undoubtedly due to the fact that you can't wring any significant power out of a 1.5 liter engine under 3,000 RPMs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just had to have another.

by Believer in Scion from Denver, Co on Wed Jul 04 2012

Feels like a much bigger car than it is. Size does make it easy to get into small parking places. Very roomy in front. Rear cargo area more than adequate for basic storage needs. Easy to enter and exit. Standard equipment surpasses comparable vehicles. Good power for a small car and excellent gas mileage. Averaged 33 MPG in the city, haven't driven on the highway yet.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have ever owned

by Love my Scion from St. Louis, MO on Mon Jun 25 2007

My husband and I purchased this car because of the price and the gas mileage - and we have been pleasantly surpised. We purchased the car in Florida and drove home to Missouri. The car was comfortable to ride in, THE GAS MILEAGE IS GREAT - any where from 35+ mpg. The only complaint we have about the car is that it does not handle well in windy weather. But other than that, we are very happy with the car and plan on keeping it until it dies!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It does what I bought it to do.

by frugal freddie from Pittsburgh, PA on Wed Oct 30 2013

I purchased a 2006 Scion xA after reviewing cars for 3 months. I needed a car that was comfortable for me, dependable, looked like a real car, and got very good gas mileage without being a hybrid or needing a drop cord. The Scion xA fits all of these categories. The car will seat 4 people for a quick trip to lunch or a movie, not much room for basketball players in the rear seats, but anyone under 6' can sit comfortably. Scion is sold at Toyota dealerships, that covers the dependability part. The styling on this model is smooth for such a short wheel base car, I am not going to say it is cute, but my wife and daughter both like it. The fuel mileage has been as good as anticipated, 34 mpg in city driving, twice what I was getting previously. I am looking forward to many years of satisfaction with this car, a little TLC, regular maintenance, and it will be around until I retire.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cute and eficient!!!!!!

by good mpg from koxville, tn on Mon Feb 04 2013

This car is soooo cute. Cuter than a bug***. the flint mica color (sparkley grey) is my favorite, but the black makes it look like a sports car. the inside has just enough compartments for all your car stuff, but not a console-that way you CANT JUNK UP your car very fast. I haven't had this car very long, but almost never fuel up. It's great! This car is perfect for driving on the freeway a lot or just going to work every day. With the back seats down( they fold straight down- 180*) there is just as much cargo room as anyother car. With the back seats up, it is still enough room for some groceries. The designers of this car were VERY SMART because even with 5 people in it, there is a lot of room and it still feels spacious. the steering wheel controls are also a plus for safety. And my car has 8 airbags! Also, since the car is so small on the outside, turning around is a BREEZE. You rarely have to go from R to D, then R to D more than just once! with a GiAnT SuV many turns the Scion XA makes are impossible. One PROBLEM with this car is that you can't sit in the back cargo area without hitting your head...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 Scion Xa

by LittleOl'Lady from Cape Vincent Ny on Tue Jan 01 2013

Great little car. Great on gas. A bit sluggish in the quarter mile, but I almost never go to the drags any more.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome

by Polski from Beaumont, TX on Mon Jul 17 2006

I bought my XA one week ago, and I LOVE IT!!!!!!!! the gas mileage is perfect and the power under the hood is fine. I live in TX and have no problem keeping up with all of the 18-wheelers on the road. I enjoy driving again and would not hesitate to recommend this car to someone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have ever owned.

by Summitshadow from Montana on Sat May 27 2017

Purchased new in 2007 and have put almost 90,000 mi on the car. I have only preformed basic maintenance on this car and car still runs great, 10 years now and I have not even had to replace a single light bulb in this vehicle. For a compact car the Scion Xa has great leg room and surprising amount of head room. The sport style seats are always comfortable and have not broken down like other vehicles I have owned. It is too bad they still don't make the Xa. I live in the Northern climate and with a good set of snow tires this car will go through several inches of snow with no problem. The workmanship on this Scion Xa was top notch and quality is awesome. Day today driving I get around 24mpg, hwy pushes 29mpg @65mph and 26mpg @75+mph. This has been a great vehicle to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6