2020 Ascent

Consumer Reviews

2020 Subaru Ascent

$31,995 - $45,045  MSRP Range
2020 Subaru Ascent

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

73 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Subaru Ascent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Compare to others best ever

by Jason from Athens Texas on Tue Aug 27 2019

Traded a 2019 Toyota Highlander limited. We bought the touring high end, I would ask you make a checklist of what you are getting then compare. This vehicle is very nice great ride. I am very impressed with all the safety features. Once again compare to Toyota, Mazda,Honda and even the high end brands and you will be shocked for the bang for the dollar. I can also say none of them have anywhere close to all the safety features!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 3-row SUV for my needs

by Mr. Aluminium from Apple Valley, MN on Thu Dec 19 2019

The Subaru Ascent Premium trim, option pack 12 (8 passenger convenience) is in my opinion the sweet spot in the range with great features at a reasonable price and without unnecessary "fashion" items (20" wheels, leather and navigation for instance.) The Apple Play and Subaru Eyesight systems work perfectly and the engine is really punchy. There are bigger cars out there but they drive like buses - unless you need to carry adults in the third row regularly then this is the most comfortable, fun to drive and practical 3 row SUV currently on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by CeCe from Sacramento, CA on Sun Sep 01 2019

We’ve had our Ascent for 3 weeks now and we’re still fighting over who gets to drive. We couldn’t be happier with it. The leather interior is beautiful and it’s got so many safety, security and comfort features that we’ll be studying the user guides for a long time. But that’s ok, we plan to keep it for many years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very roomy and extremely comfortable

by Cheri RRN from Camarillo, CA on Tue May 26 2020

This SUV met all the needs I was looking for. Very elegant, and the exterior color inside and out was superb. I owned A Mazda CX5 prior to purchasing the Ascent. I loved my CX5 but it just became too small. We needed more space as we will be doing more driving after my husband retires soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Car I've Driven

by Amy 'Subaru Fan' from Apple Valley, MN on Mon Dec 02 2019

I love all the safety features the Subaru Ascent has. The lane departure, blind spot detector, and hands free features are top notch. We looked for a car for 9 months and after many test drives of all AWDs in this class the Ascent was by far the BEST!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First non ford car in 45 years

by Jim mac from sandwich mass on Tue Aug 27 2019

This is the car I have been looking for size comfort cost and Subaru reputation for durability and safetythis the car I should have gotten years ago

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable SUV

by Physicist001 from St. Cloud, FL on Fri Dec 20 2019

I was concerned about the pickup as it is a large 4 cylinder engine. It has a supercharger so the pickup is snappy. The continuous variable transmission is very smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great features, great in snow!

by Badger fan from Milwaukee , wi on Sat Dec 28 2019

Traded in an outback and love the additional room and smoother ride. No problems with turbo engine or cvt transmission. Great comfort and safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my Ascent

by wecoopers from palm beach fl on Sun Dec 15 2019

This car meets and exceeds all my wants and needs. It is fun and even a thrill to drive. And it gets the mpgs they said it would. It feels like an auto that I would have paid much more to own and drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Have had my Ascent for 1 week and LOVE IT!

by KCLynn from Hamilton NY on Sun Nov 24 2019

Carbone Subaru met all my needs leasing a car for 1st time. They kept my payments where I needed them and were very understanding of the time I needed to test drive several cars to see how my dog would do in each car! They were super 🐾pet friendly🐾 and even allowed my four legged buddy to try out each car for the best fit! A special thanks to Peter K. who sold me my 1st Subaru (WRX) a year ago. He made me not feel pressured into choice of another Subaru, was honest and patient! The Ascent has a smooth ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2020 Subaru Ascent

The verdict:

Subaru is ahead of the curve when it comes to combining safety, practicality and affordability, but its lineup of five-seaters has left bigger families at the curb – until now. The new 2019 Ascent delivers all those things and has the space larger families need.

 

Versus the competition:

Other three-row SUVs may be roomier, classier or more fun to drive, but the Ascent’s impressive blend of safety and value is unmatched by many rivals.

 

The Subaru Ascent looks like a plumped-up version of the Outback wagon and fills the hole in the automaker’s lineup left when the unimpressive Tribeca three-row was axed after the 2014 model year. Compare the Ascent with the Tribeca.

The Ascent is Subaru’s biggest vehicle ever, designed to satisfy larger families with its seven or eight seats. It competes against the likes of the Honda Pilot, Toyota Highlander and Volkswagen Atlas; see them compared. Trim levels for 2018 include base, Premium, Limited and Touring.

Creature Comforts

It’s not just size that matters to families; comfort, safety and convenience features are also key. Yet kids — and dogs and the second-grade class gecko — are often filthy... Read More