NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 Forester

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru Forester

$18,752 - $38,253  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru Forester

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

444 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru Forester?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 444 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car!

by Subaru Forester from Conroe, Tx on Mon Oct 02 2017

Love this Subaru! This is my third one. My wife is 5 feet tall and the Forester fits her well. I only have one thing I'd like to be changed. My knees hit the underside of the dash so I have to keep the seat pulled back farther than I'd like. This makes the steering wheel a little harder to reach because it doesn't come back far enough for me. I'm 6 feet tall and it is a little bit uncomfortable. But, I still LOVE this car even more than the other two models I had. One of the reasons I bought it was the eyesight system and the fact that Subaru's last forever!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wish I Knew Sooner

by Ken "Georgia" on Fri Sep 08 2017

My wife and I love this car. We were looking for something to take on long trips and with a little off road capability and this works perfect. The seats are comfortable and even if it's not the quickest car it delivers more then adequate power for our needs. I wish I had thought of Subaru sooner. In fact we are looking at replacing our Honda with another Subaru.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle

by Dekeeble from Savannah, Ga on Mon Jan 15 2018

I had a 2014 and it saved my life so went back to dealer got 2018 just like the one I had. Would not own anything else

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car!

by new subaruf an from New Jersey on Mon Apr 30 2018

I have my 2013 Honda Pilot and I have my 2018 Subaru Forrester. When I want to drive away on vacation on a long drive on good roads, I will drive my Pilot. When I am driving in the mountains in bad weather in January, February and March, I will be very happy to be driving my Forrester. Driving through the snow is not a problem whatsoever. Good gas mileage, very confident driving in bad weather conditions, very reliable car. Excellent value for the money. My only criticism is that the technology of the sound system and radio is counterintuitive. Not thrilled with that, but I am willing to overlook that since I love everything else about the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most intuitively designed car on the market

by Steve from Dahlonega on Wed Nov 08 2017

It starts with the ease of entry and comfort of the driver's seat... then it's the view from the broad wrap around windshield... the intuitively designed dashboard... and tightness of the construction... real quality and fun to drive... !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Subaru

by Richball50 from Eatontown,NJ on Sun Nov 26 2017

Amazing vehicle very reliable and good on gas. But most important safe during those winter trips to New England.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Car Owner

by Lonedriverkk from Portland, OR on Sun Mar 18 2018

I have only had this car for a little over a week. I can say though that I had 2003 Forester that I drove into the outback on my own and I always came back safe and sound. I just had to go with another Forester when I bought a new car (major engine repairs needed and I just went new rather than repairs to around 3K....it was a tough decision!). I love this new car with all the bells and whistles. Yet to know if I end up trusting it as much as the 2003. Time only tells. So far so very good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car to date

by abytex from New York, NY on Mon Apr 23 2018

I think it's one of the best cars, especially for where I live. When it was snowing heavily, I didn't have to think twice about getting to work safely. It's very responsive, feels comfortable for long distance driving, and it loves going uphill especially and going over bumps and potholes effortlessly while driving in the city. This is my first Subaru, and I am sold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great new Vehicle, sporty, reliable and great safe

by Leon VB from GUELPH on Wed May 23 2018

After driving leased vehicles the past 30 years with work I did alot of research before buying my first new vehicle. test drove other similar priced SUV class vehicles - Ford Escape, Toyota Rav 4, Jeep Compass and Nissan Rogue. Very pleased with my choice. Vehicle is more spacious than others in its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classiest car I have seen in years & years!

by Helen from North Chicago, Illinois on Mon Jun 25 2018

The car handles like a sports car, the ride is smooth like a luxury car, economical as a Volkswagen, a head turner wondering what the name & style of this car is

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 45