2018 Forester

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru Forester

$22,795 - $36,090  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru Forester

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

392 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru Forester?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 392 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car!

by Subaru Forester from Conroe, Tx on Mon Oct 02 2017

Love this Subaru! This is my third one. My wife is 5 feet tall and the Forester fits her well. I only have one thing I'd like to be changed. My knees hit the underside of the dash so I have to keep the seat pulled back farther than I'd like. This makes the steering wheel a little harder to reach because it doesn't come back far enough for me. I'm 6 feet tall and it is a little bit uncomfortable. But, I still LOVE this car even more than the other two models I had. One of the reasons I bought it was the eyesight system and the fact that Subaru's last forever!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tall guys usually have to settle for less!

by Thomas K from Seattle, WA on Thu Jan 18 2018

At 6'6", my options are limited, but I'm positive I'd buy the same car again even if I magically lost 11 inches. This car is fuel efficient but powerful, spacious but compact, elegant yet utilitarian... it's paradoxically the best of both worlds in every category. I went for the 2.5i Premium Black Edition, and it's ridiculously slick. The steering-responsive headlights were a luxury I didn't know I needed, but now I can never go back -- driving through the woods and backroads at night will never be the same. I can't say enough good things about this car, so instead I'll just identify the VERY FEW areas that could see improvement: -- The driver sits a little high. at 6'6" I still fit great, but it's a slightly unfamiliar position. -- The CVT can feel kind of chunky at lower speeds. It's not a big deal at all, but I need to find something Subaru can do better for the 2019!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wish I Knew Sooner

by Ken "Georgia" on Fri Sep 08 2017

My wife and I love this car. We were looking for something to take on long trips and with a little off road capability and this works perfect. The seats are comfortable and even if it's not the quickest car it delivers more then adequate power for our needs. I wish I had thought of Subaru sooner. In fact we are looking at replacing our Honda with another Subaru.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprise

by Grandfather who shares his car with his grandson from Santa Cruz ca on Sun Nov 05 2017

I did quite a bit of research on cars and I still didn?t know what would fit my needs. Second car, I have limited movement due to my Arthritic back My son who resides in Seattle,takes his family camping boating and cycling in his Outback. I live near a few dealerships,so I test drove a few different suvs. My preference was the 2018 forester premium. The ease to get in and out of the car,the power seat and ease of driving. The price was fair. The salesman Mike was amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle

by Dekeeble from Savannah, Ga on Mon Jan 15 2018

I had a 2014 and it saved my life so went back to dealer got 2018 just like the one I had. Would not own anything else

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

safe reliable

by Maris from Bohemia on Mon Mar 05 2018

most underrated car in the industry. Does not get the attention it deserves . Passengers in it for the first time are always impressed with the look and drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car!

by new subaruf an from New Jersey on Mon Apr 30 2018

I have my 2013 Honda Pilot and I have my 2018 Subaru Forrester. When I want to drive away on vacation on a long drive on good roads, I will drive my Pilot. When I am driving in the mountains in bad weather in January, February and March, I will be very happy to be driving my Forrester. Driving through the snow is not a problem whatsoever. Good gas mileage, very confident driving in bad weather conditions, very reliable car. Excellent value for the money. My only criticism is that the technology of the sound system and radio is counterintuitive. Not thrilled with that, but I am willing to overlook that since I love everything else about the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most intuitively designed car on the market

by Steve from Dahlonega on Wed Nov 08 2017

It starts with the ease of entry and comfort of the driver's seat... then it's the view from the broad wrap around windshield... the intuitively designed dashboard... and tightness of the construction... real quality and fun to drive... !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Subaru

by Richball50 from Eatontown,NJ on Sun Nov 26 2017

Amazing vehicle very reliable and good on gas. But most important safe during those winter trips to New England.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classiest car I have seen in years & years!

by Helen from North Chicago, Illinois on Mon Jun 25 2018

The car handles like a sports car, the ride is smooth like a luxury car, economical as a Volkswagen, a head turner wondering what the name & style of this car is

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 40