2002 Impreza

Consumer Reviews

2002 Subaru Impreza

2002 Subaru Impreza

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

29 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Subaru Impreza?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best All Around Car Ever

by Mario from Seaford, DE on Wed Oct 20 2010

This is the best car I have ever owned! Its packed full of power, comfortable, very reliable, and just tons of fun to just in all conditions. The handling in snow and in rain is amazing. I'll be buying another Subaru when I'm done with this one. Subaru fan for life now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Impreza WRX Wagon

by Stan from Loveland, CO on Wed Dec 30 2009

These cars are alot of fun and very capable on dry roads and snowy roads. Here in Colorado, it seems like every thrid car on the road is a Subaru. It's that way for a good reason. They're great all weather cars. The WRX has great seats, lots of power, and the handling is pretty secure. The only well documented weakness in these cars is the transmission syncros, which can make shifting a little noisy and uncomfortable. Otherwise, it's a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been a great little car

by DesignMama from Las Vegas on Sun May 14 2017

This car has served me well in the 10 years I have owned it. 170k and counting. Still gets good gas mileage and reliable commuter car. Hauls quite a bit in the hatchback. Love the AWD. This is my second Subaru and I would consider Subaru for my next vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

"Dude,,, you got beat,,, by a WAGON!"

by Infosaur from New York, NY on Thu Aug 31 2006

Yes it's true, I took my WRX to a performance driving seminar and shamed many performance cars costing many times more. If the WRX has any faults it's that it does so much well it's a bit schitzophrenic. It's a sports car, it's an econobox, it's an SUV, it's a commuter car. The only thing it doesn't do well is road trips, for some reason after 5 hours in this thing I start getting serious back pain. I used to drive taxi's for 10 hours a day and never had this problem. Nor do I have this problem in other cars. Might be age though. I am determined to get this thing stuck in winter. 5 seasons and I've thrown away my shovel. Thing is like a goat in snow, claws it's way out of 3 foot drifts. Handling could be better at the limit. Drive to deep you WILL get understeer. Slow in and quick out seems to be the best approach to corners. Power is a blast though, hope you don't have points on your licence. Wagon seems to be a bit more invisable to cops though. Nice stock stereo, in dash 6-disc was not available in a lot of cars in 01. Sound is less impressive. Interior is on the cheap side, more like utilitarian. But you get power windows, locks and keyless entry. Plus side airbags. Daytime running lights are a pest, and it's ugly as an alley cat, but it runs like stink and can haul your junk too.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Performance Car Ever?

by Berny from Southern Maine on Tue Dec 25 2007

I can't think of a car built that has this combination of performance and reliability. All wheel drive, turbo, modified exhaust and ECU chip, my car has over 100K on it and has needed nothing but very basic maintenance. Daily driver, 6 New England Winters and many summer nights at the drag strip. Takes the phrase "can't kill it" to another level.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

i love this car

by vroom vroom wrx from rochester ny on Sun Oct 14 2007

when i bought this car it was five years old with 95000 miles on it. it still impressed me even with the amount of miles on it. it has the power i want, the handling i'll use, and the brakes to stop me. ok so it might be kind of an ugly car with those headlights but who cares. i didnt get it for the looks. i cant wait for the snow to come so i can tear up some back road with the awd. dirt roads are a blast to go insane on. the car doesnt even get sideways, it sticks to whatever your driving on like its pavement. so it might not have the insane power of some other cars or the crazy torque, who cares, i dont want to spend a lot of money on tires like some other cars would that this car will beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply Fun to Drive

by Subaru Fan from Washington, DC on Wed May 06 2009

I had the pleasure of driving a WRX daily for 7 years. The best thing about the car is simply that it was fun to drive with its turbo-boosted acceleration and AWD handling. Not to mention it looked great and was fuel-efficient, averaging 23 mpg and maxing at 27 mpg on the highway. Finding parking was easy as it could slip into tight spaces with ease. My WRX was extremely reliable with no major repairs necessary. Not to mention, I never had to pay a penny for regular services, thanks to the generous 3% rewards points from purchases made on my Subaru Mastercard.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchace discision i ever made

by Whilla from Chicago on Wed Dec 05 2007

This car has everything, speed, style, and AWD. Subaru thought of everything with this car from metal pedals to the 6 disc changer. I could not believe such features would exist on an affordable rally car that boasts times of 5.3 second 0 to 60.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by AWD Guy from Florida on Sat May 31 2008

Most Reliable Car I've Owned! Very good handling. Great for car enthusiasts who are looking for a great AWD drivetrain and loads of power. WRX and STI models a must for great features. Very good with part compatability and performance enhancment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I feel safe driving it and it is reliable

by daidhaid from No. IL on Sat Sep 13 2008

This car has probably saved my life on two occasions when I needed to maneuver in a dangerous way that really exceeded my actual skill. The all wheel drive is significantly better in performance than some other vehicles laying claim to all wheel drive. I average 23 mpg and the best I've ever gotten was 27.5 in mixed driving. It is zippy and fun to drive, and the wrx is even better way better, as far as zip goes. I've driven both I actually prefer mine for mpg mainly. It is very reliable and all the mechanics I've dealt with regarded it as well made. The interior is not so sweet and the back seat is uncomfortable, but for driving it is sweet. Cons; The horn sounds like a baby goat and the cup holders are for baby sippy cups...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Subaru Impreza

If Mazda boasts "zoom, zoom," Subaru should lay claim to "hold on."

Subaru is the Japanese automaker known for initiating the craze to crossovers. It produces a lineup of sedans, wagons and sport-utility vehicles that since 1997 all feature all-wheel-drive.

So, Subaru has gained a reputation for being a vehicle that provides sure-footed motoring in foul weather--a winter necessity like boots, gloves, window scraper and snow blower.

Subaru spokesman Mike Whelan bangs his chest and proclaims: "All-wheel-drive is a shield that we proudly carry."

OK, when you're a hired company pitchman, you get carried away at times. But in riding AWD into battle through snow, sleet... Read More