2002 Impreza

Consumer Reviews

2002 Subaru Impreza

$1,686 - $10,786  MSRP Range
2002 Subaru Impreza

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Subaru Impreza?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best All Around Car Ever

by Mario from Seaford, DE on Wed Oct 20 2010

This is the best car I have ever owned! Its packed full of power, comfortable, very reliable, and just tons of fun to just in all conditions. The handling in snow and in rain is amazing. I'll be buying another Subaru when I'm done with this one. Subaru fan for life now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru owner for life!

by subiefan4life from San Jose, CA on Mon Jul 15 2019

I bought my first 2002 WRX wagon in '04 to replace my Honda CRX Si for a growing family...the car had 48k miles...I had it up until 2017 with 268k miles running a Stage 2 tune. The car was bullet proof and I ran it hard! A car ran a stop sign and took out my rear axle and quarter panel totaling it. After my 02 was totaled (and a lot of sleepless and all-night weeping), maybe 2 months later, the stars were aligned and I was able to find an identical car (year, color, wagon) but with Stage 3+ modifications (300 whp) with only 110k (currently at 180k) and in immaculate condition. No matter rain or snow or w heavy winds, Subaru AWD felt like driving on dry pavement. You really do hug the roads and super stable. I actually LOVE how rough (and uncomfortable says the wife) the car feels because driving a WRX is all about the experience and really feeling the asphalt, dirt of gravel... add all the bells and froo froo whistles and you'll numb the senses of real Subaru boxer engine experience. It truly is a beast and hell of a driving experience that can barely rival it. I feel you'll get better reliability with the older EJ series motors than current/modern Subarus. The wagon (with my roof basket) allows me to carry nearly anything I've thrown at it...and I use the basket weekly...always toting things around. I'm after another Subaru to add to the family because you just can't beat safety, performance, reliability , and resale value of a Subaru...Looking for an 04-06 Forester XT.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has been a great little car

by DesignMama from Las Vegas on Sun May 14 2017

This car has served me well in the 10 years I have owned it. 170k and counting. Still gets good gas mileage and reliable commuter car. Hauls quite a bit in the hatchback. Love the AWD. This is my second Subaru and I would consider Subaru for my next vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun, but a compromise.

by WRX-owner from BayArea, CA on Wed Jun 05 2019

I had loads of fun driving and owning this car. It had lots of mechanical feel to it that kept me connected to the road and car. Plenty of power for its age and weight, with decent enough room to haul stuff around. It just always felt like a compromise to me. It was fast, sure, but it still had less than 300hp. It had room for 5 people, but it had trouble hauling stuff around. It was reliable sure, but it needed very touchy maintenance. It wasn't awful on gas (22 mpg combined), but it wasn't great either. Overall I had a lot of fun and made some unforgettable memories but I am moving on to something else.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Performance Car Ever?

by Berny from Southern Maine on Tue Dec 25 2007

I can't think of a car built that has this combination of performance and reliability. All wheel drive, turbo, modified exhaust and ECU chip, my car has over 100K on it and has needed nothing but very basic maintenance. Daily driver, 6 New England Winters and many summer nights at the drag strip. Takes the phrase "can't kill it" to another level.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

"Dude,,, you got beat,,, by a WAGON!"

by Infosaur from New York, NY on Thu Aug 31 2006

Yes it's true, I took my WRX to a performance driving seminar and shamed many performance cars costing many times more. If the WRX has any faults it's that it does so much well it's a bit schitzophrenic. It's a sports car, it's an econobox, it's an SUV, it's a commuter car. The only thing it doesn't do well is road trips, for some reason after 5 hours in this thing I start getting serious back pain. I used to drive taxi's for 10 hours a day and never had this problem. Nor do I have this problem in other cars. Might be age though. I am determined to get this thing stuck in winter. 5 seasons and I've thrown away my shovel. Thing is like a goat in snow, claws it's way out of 3 foot drifts. Handling could be better at the limit. Drive to deep you WILL get understeer. Slow in and quick out seems to be the best approach to corners. Power is a blast though, hope you don't have points on your licence. Wagon seems to be a bit more invisable to cops though. Nice stock stereo, in dash 6-disc was not available in a lot of cars in 01. Sound is less impressive. Interior is on the cheap side, more like utilitarian. But you get power windows, locks and keyless entry. Plus side airbags. Daytime running lights are a pest, and it's ugly as an alley cat, but it runs like stink and can haul your junk too.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

i love this car

by vroom vroom wrx from rochester ny on Sun Oct 14 2007

when i bought this car it was five years old with 95000 miles on it. it still impressed me even with the amount of miles on it. it has the power i want, the handling i'll use, and the brakes to stop me. ok so it might be kind of an ugly car with those headlights but who cares. i didnt get it for the looks. i cant wait for the snow to come so i can tear up some back road with the awd. dirt roads are a blast to go insane on. the car doesnt even get sideways, it sticks to whatever your driving on like its pavement. so it might not have the insane power of some other cars or the crazy torque, who cares, i dont want to spend a lot of money on tires like some other cars would that this car will beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Impreza WRX Wagon

by Stan from Loveland, CO on Wed Dec 30 2009

These cars are alot of fun and very capable on dry roads and snowy roads. Here in Colorado, it seems like every thrid car on the road is a Subaru. It's that way for a good reason. They're great all weather cars. The WRX has great seats, lots of power, and the handling is pretty secure. The only well documented weakness in these cars is the transmission syncros, which can make shifting a little noisy and uncomfortable. Otherwise, it's a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by AWD Guy from Florida on Sat May 31 2008

Most Reliable Car I've Owned! Very good handling. Great for car enthusiasts who are looking for a great AWD drivetrain and loads of power. WRX and STI models a must for great features. Very good with part compatability and performance enhancment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchace discision i ever made

by Whilla from Chicago on Wed Dec 05 2007

This car has everything, speed, style, and AWD. Subaru thought of everything with this car from metal pedals to the 6 disc changer. I could not believe such features would exist on an affordable rally car that boasts times of 5.3 second 0 to 60.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 Subaru Impreza

If Mazda boasts “zoom, zoom,” Subaru should lay claim to “hold on.”

Subaru is the Japanese automaker known for initiating the craze to crossovers. It produces a lineup of sedans, wagons and sport-utility vehicles that since 1997 all feature all-wheel-drive.

So, Subaru has gained a reputation for being a vehicle that provides sure-footed motoring in foul weather–a winter necessity like boots, gloves, window scraper and snow blower.

Subaru spokesman Mike Whelan bangs his chest and proclaims: “All-wheel-drive is a shield that we proudly carry.”

OK, when you’re a hired company pitchman, you get carried away at... Read More