2004 Legacy

Consumer Reviews

2004 Subaru Legacy

$2,174 - $8,466  MSRP Range
2004 Subaru Legacy

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

10 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Subaru Legacy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car for my daughter

by Dick from Lincoln, RI on Tue Apr 26 2011

I was looking for a car for my daughter and had a budget which allowed a certain amount, not enough for a new vehicle. Under Consumers Reports, they listed the 2004 Legacy as a Used Car to Buy. I went on line and found one that was about 60 miles away from my house (which in Rhode Island) is far. I e-mail them and purchased the vehicle, bargained a bit and drove up there with a check to pick it up. They were worried that I might want to test drive the car, I said, "no, it's a Subaru, I know how it will drive." Simple an excellent buy! Have had the car for 3 months without any issues. This is the 10th Subaru in our family. In New England, can't think of any reason not to own a Subaru!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Sports Car!

by Owned Subaru's my whole life from Alaska on Sun Nov 14 2010

A sexy car that has the speed and still has the luxurious interior. Subaru's are very reliable and are known to run for 20 years and still be running strong. Easy vehicle to work with.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not for tall folks.

by Looking for reliability from Anchorage, Alaska on Tue Feb 05 2008

Sedan is sporty looking. Pretty good ride. Lugs in third gear. Will hit your head upon entry if you are too tall. Not happy when oil leak developed around 40,000 miles. During a collision, the vehicle sustained drivers side rear quarter panel damage so severe that it was totaled even though it did not look that bad. May look at a used Forester but then again may look at other brands.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUbaru LEgacy wago

by Car enthusiast from on Fri Aug 21 2015

I've had one for 5 year in a area with a snowy and fridgeid winter. Does a phenomenal job in the snow and is very stable in the road. A very reliable car, with the great motor.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my '04 Sue Legacy GT

by 80 yr old Opa from Kingston NY on Mon Oct 09 2017

Bought it new. 14 years of faithful service should say it all. Here in upstate NY boonies, it loves snow like my Huskies. Just bought 4 new snow tires, so plan on keeping it. I take care of it and it reciprocates nicely. Since I start work at 6am, it's a toss-up whether Subaru or the Plows hit the Highway first.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car I Have Ever Owned

by Phoenix from Sheffield, MA on Sun Apr 15 2007

This car is simply one of the best cars on the market right now, it is safe, handles excellently, extremely comfortable, and powerful. I love my 2004 Subaru Legacy 35th Anniversary Edition!!! This is the best car I have ever owned and never had any problems with it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One of the safest cars on the road

by Froggie from New Jersey on Sun Aug 24 2008

Other than needing more power, I have no complaints. There is a great feeling of safety when you drive this car. Have over 92,000 miles on it and it is tight as a drum. No squeeks or rattles. There is always room for improvement on any car. As I sad, a little more power and a 5 or 6 speed auto transmission would solve most problems. Fit and finish are as good or better than Toyota or Honda. Give it a look.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

I Hate My Suburu

by Sad & Disappointed Suburu Owner from Columbus, Ohio on Tue May 27 2008

Unfortunately, have another year or so of payments on it. Early on, it was in the shop several times for oil leak & knocking upon cold start. Sounded like it was going to blow up. Finally was told there is a problem with these vehicles pistons not positioned properly & short engine block was replaced. 2 years later, it's now sounding that way again. In very cold weather it clanks & bangs so loud upon start, you'd think it is going to fall apart. I think these vehicles may be over rated.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Stay away

by jwv from White Mountains of New Hampshire on Tue Apr 09 2013

I bought this car used, 35th anny. auto, pzev engine. When i bought this car i was looking for better mpg with 4wd and it brought me to this car. It was great for the first 5 months and 10k miles, then; 1st: started to smell burnt anti-freeze, feared the blown head gasket, but was just clogged radiator($900, with timing belt kit replacement, 100k mile Subaru recommendation ). 2nd: back brakes(rotors and pads) upgraded to cross drilled and slotted with premium pads. 3rd: cluster gauge lights started to go out, but good tip if you hit above them on the dash, some times they come back on. 4th: back brakes again(pads and rotors), back to stock again. 5th: burnt anti-freeze smell again, no leaks, not in the oil, goes through about half a gallon a month and starts to overheat every once in a while. 6th: for a 4 cyl. car it gets worst mpg then some V6's and V8's - 21-23mpg. 7th: water leaks in some where, so the car has a musty smell. 8th: there is only 122k miles on it now. 9th: NO POWER, have to make sure there is more then enough room to get out into traffic. 10th: sounds like a diesel truck, but every subaru owner/mechanic says it sounds better than most, even have a letter from subaru about the sound and how it's ok. so unless your a subaru mechanic i wouldn't buy this car!! On the upside it's great in the snow, handles and rides very good

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Handling and Reliable All-Weather Sedan

by DavidR from Pardeeville on Sun Jul 22 2018

The 2004 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT (Gen 3) is a sensibly sized, well-designed, good handling and good performing all wheel drive sedan. I previously owned a 1996 Legacy 2.5 GT (Gen 2) that seemed a bit more agile, edgy and sporty than the 2004 version. Although the 2004 has more horsepower and torque, the 1996 had the twin overhead cam engine with a 6500rpm redline (vs 6200rpm) which made for better sounds higher in the rev range than the single overhead cam heads on the 2004. Overall, the 2004 feels more refined, structurally sound, roomier and quieter. The heated leather seats, side air-bags, in-dash CD-changer, 6 speakers plus rear shelf subwoofer, moonroof and SportShift auto trans is a step up in entertainment, luxury and safety from the cloth seats, 4 speakers and cassette deck in the earlier model. This car has 175,000 miles and still feels tight. But that is to be expected with a Subaru, considering my 2003 Baja has 415,000 miles and still looks great and is running strong, especially considering it has weathered through 15 sloppy, salty, beat up road Wisconsin winters. I'm hoping to sample a Gen 4 Legacy Outback 3.0 R someday as that has higher ground clearance for winter snowstorms and the more powerful flat-6 engine for enhanced driving excitement.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1