2001 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2001 Subaru Outback

$1,407 - $7,295  MSRP Range
2001 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car ever

by Soob Dood from Hamilton, ON on Mon Jun 28 2010

I have owned this car from the begining. I now have 316,000 km and it showes no signs of stopping. since me buying this vehicle I have talked it up so much that 3 of my friends each bought one, and so did my wife and she never listens to me. The car obviously speaks for itself.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mixed feelings? Hard to say

by Mr Random from Upstate, NY on Sat Nov 14 2009

My wife bought this wagon from her parents last year ('08). Her parents were told by a dealer, shortly after they bought it in '02, that it had the motor (2.5L) replaced already...really?!?! Whether that's true or not, the car held up it's end very nicely since then. It's not old, but it has 175K and a rust problem (thanks NY!!). I spent a good $500+ on parts this year since her parents didn't want to sink any money into it last year (hence selling it dirt cheap to us). I can say, for the miles, 2 front struts, a knock and camshaft sensor, catback exhaust, rear wheel bearing and control arm bushing, front caliper, pads and rotors all around and a tranny fluid change are pretty good for the amount of miles. The most expensive part ended up being a set of tires; sadly, 1 is almost shot already due to noticing too late that the rear end was out of alignment (control arm bushing loose). The motor and tranny are very smooth and are leak/smoke free. You really have to hit the gas to climb a hill and the car does not have much power, especially with passengers. Very comfortable ride with lots of space front to back! Heated cloth seats are wonderful when -20* outside! Heater and a/c are amazing! Worst con: avg mpg in low 20s with 4 cyl. Car is way too heavy, even with AWD. Best mileage was 26 on hwy trip. The gas mileage and rust holes are making us look for something else likely in the coming spring.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!!!!

by OUTBACK LOVER from NYC, NYC on Tue Oct 19 2010

I love My outback, it's awsome in the snow and it rides smooth, I got about 130k on my outback LL bean editions and it doesn't look like it's gonna quit anytime soon, it rides like a horse.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car!

by Vika from Tobyhanna, PA on Sat Sep 22 2012

I recently purchased a 2001 Subaru Outback and I LOVE IT. It is a reliable car and a great deal for my money. I recommend this car for anyone who wants an all wheel drive stylish reliable vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First car I've owned in years

by bonbon from Apple Valley, MN on Tue Mar 27 2012

I've been driving jeeps and minivans. This is the first car I've owned in years. I really enjoy driving it. The mpg is great compared to my last vehicle. Hope to have this for years. The only annoyance I've had is the wind noise in the driver's side front window. There is no frame around the window (which I love when the window is down) but there is wind noise on the driver's side. Don't know if that can be remedied or not.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

dependable

by globug from vermont on Sun Nov 14 2010

Very dependable in vermont winters, especially on our steep dirt road. One problem I have, and that is with the latch to the trunk. It is routinely very hard to open due to rusting. Other people that I have talked to that own a Subaru outback have also reported the same problem

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car- has held up well

by Model Boater from Boston area on Thu Apr 30 2009

Bought new in '01, have 120K miles on it now. Car has been incredibly reliable. We have 4 cyl with 5 speed manual. Had one major issue-- at about 85K miles, the head gasket was leaking. Estimate was $3K for repair-- but it turned out to be covered by a recall- so it was no charge. Pluses: - still very comfy - heated seats are great! - Interior materials have held up well to 8 years of wear. - we have averaged about 24 MPG Minor complaints: - Interval wipers are not adjustable- you can't vary the rate. - keyless entry system has stopped working

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bought when baby was new, now he will drive it

by garbo from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Jul 25 2017

The Outback has been a great family car, very reliable for daily driving as well as camping and road trips. It's been going for 16 years now and we are planning for our kids to learn to drive on it. NB however, it DID suffer from the dreaded head gasket issue that plagued these model years, and has had redone heads, a rebuilt transmission and sundry other problems now that it has over 130K miles on it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 outback - backin' out

by joksta from Norwalk, CT on Tue Oct 05 2010

Not a bad car overall but the wind noise is a pain and we've had to have the brakes done every couple years... but it's safe and mostly reliable

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

very practical car, mechanical disappointments

by steve from jay, maine on Mon Nov 26 2007

i bought this car used at 96000 miles. up here in snow country, Maine, all wheel drive is the way to go and i would rate this car very highly as practical, safe transportation. it has started every day and gotten me through lots of snow and rough roads with all season tires. the layout and dimensions of the car are convenient and practical for both passenger and cargo carriage. i have run into serious mechanical problems that i did not expect with a subaru: the transmission went, requiring replacement, at 120 000 and right now the engine is being rebuilt because of a ring failure and leaking head gasket. i am a careful driver and maintenance fusspot so this has not been an abused vehicle. the transmission replacement cost $1300 (parts and labor) and the head gasket/short block replacement will cost about 3000 +-. these sorts of main item failures seem excessive and make me question subaru reliability. that said, my research suggests that both ring and manual transmission failures are pretty rare issues for these cars so i might have just had bad luck. head gasket replacement, though is pretty standard. i would buy another one simply because, for the money, noone else offers the features i want= manual transmission, all wheel drive wagon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Subaru Outback

Quick, what's the difference between a Subaru Legacy GT wagon and a Subaru Legacy Outback H6-3.0 VDC wagon?

If you said about $7,000, congratulations, you most certainly have a mind that gets to the bottom line very quickly. For those who want to know what that extra $7,000 gets you, read on.

This side-by-side comparison presented quite a challenge because I rank the Subaru wagons at the top of the segment. Subaru just has this segment down, and all-wheel drive across the board only sweetens the deal.

My test started with the top-of-the-line 2001 Subaru Legacy Outback H6-3.0 VDC, which starts at 31,895 (the tested model went for $32,390 with the destination and delivery charge). Now... Read More