2005 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2005 Subaru Outback

$2,852 - $10,560  MSRP Range
2005 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

46 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Outback turbo ROX

by Driver guy from Phoenix Arizona on Thu Nov 10 2011

2005 Outback 2.5 XT I have put 100,000 miles on this car, so I now feel like I'm qualified to write a review. For me- this car has struck just the right balance between luxury and utility , comfort and performance, style and practicality. I love the turbo- especially going up steep hills on the highway- the car eats them up. Car has held up well, I have had to replace a few items - CV boots are a constant, but I live in Phoenix where the heat is the enemy of all things rubber. One achilles heel on this car (5 speed) is the clutch throw out bearing is good for about 50K. If you are considering buying one- ask when the clutch bearing was last replaced - about a $400 job. Besides that - Outback is a winner in my book.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keeps on hummin'

by Subaru lover from Tempe, Arizona on Thu Jun 14 2012

I have owned my Outback for about 50,000 miles. It now has over 108,000 miles on it, and no problems at all. The car still has the original front brakes. The turbo engine is super fun, I get 20mpg in the City driving normally. Passing on the highway is a pleasure, the turbo really shines. AWD makes cornering in the mountain roads a rush.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

what a vehicle !

by keith m from winona texas on Thu Apr 13 2017

i owned a 05 subaru outback and really put it through the test. drove over 60 miles in 12 in of snow and never slipped one time. drove 70 miles an hour through 6 in down poor of rain . drove down beach where only 4 wheel drives were allowed never got stuck. put over 250,000 miles on it and still drove like new. it was really amazing what this car is capable of doing . its like a tank. it also saved my wife's life. she was hit by an 18 wheeler and another car at 55 mph on driver side impact was so hard the car was severed 3/4 in half . my wife walked away with minor bruising and a bad head ache the people in the other car did not make it alive. state troopers and ambulance drivers sayed in bad wrecks if they were driving a subaru they servived . so to say im currently in the market for another two for my wife and for my daughter that is about to start driving. i will say i will never buy anything else than a subaru.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru Outback 2.5 XT with manual transmission

by CO Subie from Denver, CO on Wed Jan 14 2009

The turbocharged 4 cylinder engine is very powerful and there is plenty of torque to climb up steep hills. The traction is especially good with the manual transmission and power is most enjoyable in 2nd and 3rd gears. The gauges are very easy to read and I like the red color of the dials for night driving. The cargo hold is a bit small when there are 4-5 people and gear for a trip, skiing, etc. Overall, I am very pleased with the car and love driving it as much now as when it was new in 2005.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Review from Owner

by HillBilly from Jamul, CA on Thu Aug 10 2006

We own a 2005 Sport Outback and are very impressed with this vehicle overall. It handles unlike anything we've ever driven in the corners and has the "get up and go" to move when you need to move quickly. No delay in response. The driver can use the panel controls easily and the sound system is terrific. Our one concern is the fact that is takes premium gasoline. In today's market and depending on your driving habits, that can be an added monthly expense you didn't count on. Other than the gas issue, its a really terrific car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

140K without a problem

by MikeC from Iowa on Sat Jan 10 2015

I've owned our 2005 Outback Sport since March of 2005. Other than normal maintenance it's never needed a single repair. It consistently gets close to 30 MPG, and the ability to tackle snow covered rural roads is second to none. The interior isn't fancy, but it serves it purpose and is well laid out. Maintenance is easy-clearly Subaru designed this to be maintenance friendly. The handling is sporty, but when confronted with bad roads, is very predictable. It's been completely reliable and very trouble free.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SUbaru for Truck

by RC from Danbury, CT on Thu Jan 19 2012

Only reason I sold this Subaru (Outback L.L. Bean LOADED) was because I needed a truck to haul stuff off my property. Hard to part with. One of the BEST cars I've owned. Trips to Vermont in deep snow were effortless!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great handling, rotten brakes.

by Good Driver from Newtown,CT on Fri May 06 2011

I love how my Subaru handles, but so far I've had to replace brakes and rotors twice (and I don't ride the brakes, far from it).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hands down this is the best car I have ever had

by TZILLA on Mon Aug 07 2017

Other than the headgasket issue which is standard on all Subaru's from around that model year, this is by far the best vehicle I have ever had. It is versatile, i have driven it on dirt trails where it held its own with Jeeps and other 4 wheel drive vehicles. I have taken it across the country 3 times, it was able to pull my roommate's car out of a snowdrift. It lasted a winter in the coldest incorporated town in the continental US. I have even lived out of the car for over 2 months with all of my gear and belongings packed on top. Always had great gas mileage, it was a perfect car for my needs. I would recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for those that enjoy the outdoors!!!

by NE Indiana Kayaker from Fort Wayne, IN on Sat Jun 24 2017

The Outback is an all around versatile vehicle that allows me to fill up the hatch with camping and fishing equipment while towing my 1200 pound teardrop camper with ease. The cabin is quiet and comfortable and compared to small SUV's this car does better on gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2005 Subaru Outback

This is a time of transition for Subaru. The car that evolved from the cheap but popular tin box of the early '80s into the all-wheel-drive favorite of New Englanders in the '90s is going hot and upscale.

Its WRX Sti sports car is in a dead-on race with Mitsubishi's Lancer Evolution for top-dog production rating among the tuner set. It offers a designer model, the Outback LL Bean edition. And who would have ever thought we'd hear a classic McIntosh sound system booming with grace and power from a Subaru?

For years, Subarus have sold in numbers disproportionate to relative population in New England because of two major factors: They were for a long time the only readily available all-wheel-drive car/station... Read More