2017 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2017 Subaru WRX

$20,528 - $32,760  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

55 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love the WRX Base model but...

by First Time Subaru Owner from Piscataway, NJ on Tue Mar 07 2017

Very happy with my purchase. Car is the most powerful and sporty I've owned and driven, so it is definitely a learning curve to drive it. Car's ride is stiffer and bouncier than all others, but I have yet to overtax it in any corners. Shifting the manual transmission from 1st to 2nd can be very clunky especially under load/higher acceleration, but thereafter the shifting is clean and precise (that 1-2 shift is smoother when the engine isn't under high load / heavy acceleration). Throttle and turbo response is VERY fast, so having to get used to that. Mine has the Hill Assist, which is taking some getting used to as it holds the brakes a little longer than I'd like when starting on an uphill (have driven manuals since the 1980s). On the highway, fuel economy definitely zooms up, I usually see 28 mpg (above their 27 advertised). Around town though, it drops to low 20s even with light driving. It has the typical (somewhat "rumbly") WRX sound. I only have about 2000 miles on it, so can't really speak to the long term, but I am happy with it. A little puzzled why they don't offer the higher end models/features without the sunroof (I am too tall for one), as I would have liked a couple of the features in the higher models. Also, not sure why they put "summer" tires on these cars in snow regions, as opposed to an all season performance tire.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

17 WRX

by Jmoney from Oceanside NY on Mon Mar 27 2017

Great car for the money. Handles very well, has good pickup due to turbo. Pretty fast for a factory car. Ride is a little rough but its a sports car so thats what you get. Would recommend to anybody looking for a fun car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first all wheel drive car.

by Andrew from on Sun Apr 02 2017

It's an all wheel drive sedan with a turbo flat four. It's not the fastest car I've ever driven but it's definitely one of the most excilirating. Buy it and your daily commute won't be so boring and it's fun for the weekends to go cruising.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best of both worlds

by smokey from West Virginia on Fri Apr 07 2017

Few cars have AWD and sporty. The WRX is that car. My wife has always owned front wheel drive cars. She drove my 2016 WRX and was hooked. The excitement of manual transmission and performance at a good price. We upgraded some features and got her in a 2017.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

amazing value for money

by snowman123 from on Tue Apr 04 2017

amazing car. the performance in this vehicle for the price point is what it is all about i think. could be a nice ride but that is fine as long as you can go around corners at any speed you want.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 WRX!

by rscottcolorado from Cascade, CO on Wed Mar 29 2017

Just bought a 2017 Subaru WRX Premium. It came with the STI performance package and I love it! Great daily driver, excellent power, drive ability, and safety. Looking forward to many years with REX!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most bang for the buck

by Sabbas718 from Montgomery Village on Thu Apr 20 2017

As far as affordable sports cars go I don't think there can be one better than the WRX. A potent engine coupled with smooth shifting transmission has made it an enjoyable daily commute. The interior was better than I expected where they've revamped the styling and materials used for the seat and refreshed infortainment screen. My only complaint is the plastic dash that seems a bit out of place but its nothing too noticeable once you put your foot on the pedal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 WRX!

by rscottcolorado from Cascade, CO on Wed Mar 29 2017

Just bought a 2017 Subaru WRX Premium. It came with the STI performance package and I love it! Great daily driver, excellent power, drive ability, and safety. Looking forward to many years with REX!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nifty little bugger

by Subimaster from Boston mass on Wed Apr 26 2017

The 2017 wrx is definitely a car enthusiast must drive the handle acceleration even stopping is really incredible in the wrx and the looks itself is a strong selling point really am enjoying this beauty!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by WRXJack from Rochester NH on Sat Apr 15 2017

Drives as good as it looks

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6