2020 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2020 Subaru WRX

$24,057 - $36,872  MSRP Range
2020 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru's Latest Baby STI!

by Drewskii93 from Maricopa, AZ on Fri Feb 28 2020

This car is awesome! It's a great all around car. A fun, fast, rev-happy, turbocharged, daily that goes toe to toe with other tuner favorites! Ours has Recaro seats, Brembo brakes, and an STI short shifter that makes all the difference. Six gears, three pedals, and one tank of gas are all you need to have a great time, or roadtrip, in your Subaru. We also got the 2020 White Edition which adds bronze wheels, black mirrors, and upgrades your car to keyless entry, push to start, and LED turn sensitive headlights. Turning your wheel at night? Watch your headlights follow before you make the turn. So far our experience has been great! I expect this car to last for a while without incident. The FA20 engine, versus the EJ25 in the STI, produces less overall horsepower, but makes more torque at the low end. The STI will go faster in the long run, but the WRX is just better for day to day driving. The interior is put together beautifully, and may not have the fit and finish of a German car, but is light years ahead of it's own competitors. Rear leg room is of abundance, and head space is generous. Room for a helmet for a day at the track? Check. In my personal opinion, the exhaust could be a little more throaty. It's pretty quiet, but that can be remedied in the aftermarket department. No biggy! Overall value for money is good if you're looking to buy new, but most will turn to used options if you truly want to build a track day monster. The reason being is Subarus strict modifications rules regarding warranty. You cant do too much to it and keep the warranty. Maybe if you find the right shady dealership! $36,000 is a steep price to pay for my exact WRX, but overall I'm pleased so far. She'll treat me right, as long as I do the same to her. I reccomend Subaru, and the WRX & STI specifically, to anyone looking to have a sweet daily ride. One of the last car brands offering manual six-speeds, join the 1% club!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most fun you can have with 270HP

by AlmostCool from Kenosha, WI on Tue May 19 2020

This car exceeds any expectation I had coming into this. Pulls HARD, super quick, eats corners for snacks, almost 30 mpg on the highway, creature comforts like heated seats, heated wipers and heated side mirrors, of course Bluetooth and backup camera like most vehicles these days. Just the right amount of tech. Whats important here is how much fun this is to drive, the looks it gets on the road AND it will not kill you at the gas pump. PERFECTION FOR ME.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great so far, but it only been a month.

by Cars from Cincinnati on Fri May 15 2020

So far, I really enjoy this car it the majority of what I was looking for when I was considering what to purchase...performance, a usable backseat, good styling, good interior features and options (I bought the limited) and all wheel drive. For just over $30k it’s a very good all around car. There’s a few things I dislike, one being as I mentioned I bought the pretty much loaded limited version and only the drivers seat is power and on top of that doesn’t adjust up and down for ride height. Another thing is that it has a very short power band, it just seems to only deliver good power for about 2,000 rpm then falls off. All in all a good car that’s fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it, great daily driver

by Charlie Shellenberger from Hoffman Estates, IL on Tue Apr 28 2020

Car is quick, roomy, great safety rating, has a manual trans option, great visibility, the legendary Subaru awd system, and looks beautiful. Gas mileage is decent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Has a great sport look

by Tre from Parkville,MD on Wed Apr 22 2020

This car is awesome and is a special edition def worth the buy. It feels great so far. I can feel the difference from my older wrx.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No Brainer ... Get it, love it!

by JeffM from Delaware on Sat Nov 16 2019

Traded a 2017 WRX for a 2020 WRX. Subaru raised the car from very, very good to superb. The 2017 vehicle had several things I did not care for: the shifter was clunky, there seem to be a power/turbo lag, and the bluetooth seemed to delay p[aying music for one or two minutes. Well, Subaru fixed all the issues in the 2020: power is instantly strong, the shifter is smooth, and the bluetooth plays music almost instantly. It is a very engaging car and a joy to drive. 100% satisfied. Get it, love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car and very fast.

by Tad NH from Keene NH on Tue Jun 30 2020

My wrx is amazing it's a head turner. Absolutely love this car. I recommend Subaru of Keene to everyone. They are awesome car dealers and professional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, safe and reliable

by Elizabeth R from Garden Grove, CA on Thu Oct 15 2020

I fell in love with the Subaru WRX after I my test drive. I feel that Subaru is the best car when it comes to comfort, reliability and safety. I absolutely Love it! It's sporty and fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most prettiest car ive owned

by Hanna Collin from Chicago Illinois on Mon Jan 27 2020

This car is the best purchased I've ever made.though a little expensive but overall the perfomance and design are worth it. And i love the color

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Going to be a great daily car

by MasonREX from Green Bay on Wed Nov 04 2020

Best bang for your buck. Great design inside out, handle flawlessly, very fun and I always looks back after parking it. Best upgrade is the Brembo brakes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2020 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More