2019 WRX STI

Consumer Reviews

2019 Subaru WRX STI

$31,598 - $40,702  MSRP Range
2019 Subaru WRX STI

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Subaru WRX STI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best sport car owned

by Chuefue Lor from Westminster, Colorado on Sat Jun 15 2019

This is my dream car ever since 10. Seeing it and now owning this car, it looks and is amazing in person. Cannot stop smiling every time I get behind the steering wheel. It’s everything I dreamed of, think of, felt of. Exactly what I want my first car to be, the dream car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 owner STI

by BooSTIn from Boston, MA on Tue Feb 19 2019

I really love the driving experience in the STI. It is raw, demanding, always rewarding. Fun in the snow. This car is old school. I have a key and manual seats (wight savings). The connection is real. Proud to have the wing. Therapy on wheels.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finally!!!

by Jonathan Guerra from Kylertown, PA on Tue Nov 20 2018

Finally own a 2019 Subaru WRX STI! A dream come true! This car puts a smile on my face everytime I get behind the wheel and when I make people turn their heads and they just stare lol

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far the best Subaru I've owned

by Larry from Raleigh, NC on Wed Jun 05 2019

Stepped up from a WRX and I do not regret my decision! So much fun to drive everywhere! Sticks to the road like a cat on a screen and moves like a scalded dog!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love everything about it

by Jocelyn Bujanda from El paso TX on Sat Oct 06 2018

I like everything about my STI. Its is very spacious in the front and back. Is my first manual transmission car and love the way it shifts, smooth but with power. I like the apps such as android phone makes it easier to focus on driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Performance, Beautiful Car

by JCCarlos from Dayton, OH on Tue Jun 04 2019

I wanted a sporty sedan (family man) that looked good, performed great, had 4 doors, and had good resale value. The STI has it all. There are not many cars in this segment without going all out and spending a bunch from other luxury brands. I will never race this car, it will remain polished and waxed all it's life, even as a daily driver, or even more so as a daily driver, but someday a bit of spirited driving will happen!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sporty fun car.

by Rick Romero from Antonito, Colorado on Thu Apr 25 2019

I love this car more and more every day, I love getting in it to drive it. It’s just an all-around fun car looks cool sounds cool.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car for the money.

by potterdood from Pelzer, SC on Tue Oct 22 2019

I've enjoyed every second of owning this STI. AWD Turbo, 6 speed, is a lot of fun to control. My sons car seat even fit in the back seat safe and comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What a fun car!

by Railduke from Odessa on Mon Oct 15 2018

I was hesitant due to the old tech engine, but what a pleasure to drive. I love the handling and the throttle mapping on the 19. The upgraded head unit and Harmon Kardon on the limited is a plus. I had a 16 WRX and the stereo was horrible. Mileage is why at 23 mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What porsche wishes they could build

by jeff from Gaithersburg on Fri Apr 26 2019

Superb car - handles like a 911, reliability like a Subaru, stealth, easy to work on, great I/O for the user. Reasonable cost. Great options out there. Not showy without the big wing (have the low profile model).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2019 Subaru WRX STI

The verdict:

The Subaru WRX STI’s rally pedigree still shines through, but the car’s performance chops don’t overcome the car’s roughness.

 

Versus the competition:

The freshened 2018 WRX STI needs a more comprehensive update and a better interior to catch up with other compact performance cars.

 

For fans of performance cars, the last couple of years have been a breath of fresh air. Sure, we lost the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution to the scrap heap of history, but we gained the Ford Focus RS in 2016, and the Honda Civic Type R finally made its U.S. debut as a 2018 model. Those two, along with the Volkswagen Golf R, are a strong set of competitors (compare them here) that really give the WRX STI a run for its money.

The Focus RS is the most performance-driven, the Type R is incredibly fun and agile, and the Golf R combines interior quality with everyday livability and good performance credentials of its own. So where does that leave the 2018 STI?

Changes for 2018

The 2018 WRX STI gets a slew of... Read More