2005 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota 4Runner

$2,951 - $15,423  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

62 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wow

by Aimee from Sacramento, CA on Mon Feb 23 2015

My car was in shop one day for maintenance so my friend at work let me borrow her 4-Runner to run an errand. Very impressed. 220,000 miles on it and it drives like its brand new. I asked her if she has had any problems with it, she said the only thing they had to fix other than maintenance is the AC knob and that only cost $20.00.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great value

by kt from frederick md on Sun Sep 27 2009

this is a very comfortable reliable and safe vehicle i wold recommend a test drive if youre in the market for one you will not be dissapointed!!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've Owned

by BrimeTime from Clinton, Maryland on Thu Nov 14 2013

This vehicle is hand down the best suv I've owned. Prior to this I owned three Jeeps, needless to say, I'll never purchase another Jeep. This car is 8 years old and still runs like its brand new. I love the way it handles, the smoothness of the ride, the interior isn't too bad either. My only issue I have is that the tire pressure symbol goes on and off, but as long as it keeps riding the way it does, I will have this car for a very long time. I am very satisfied, trust me, if you can get your hands on one, DO IT!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Machine after 14 years.

by Gilles from seattle, Wa on Mon Feb 25 2019

Excellent machine after 14 years and 180,000 miles. Still shifts smooth, 4 x 4 works perfect, engine is smooth and powerful. Purrs like a kitten, but v6 is powerful when you step on it. Pleasure to drive on long road trips, commuting around town, and in deep snow. Never been stuck. Over the years have done cats and head gasket but a small price to pay for a car that brings a smile to my face every time I turn it on. Paint has held up very well and all electronics work perfectly. Driving around with 5 windows down and sunroof open feels almost like a convertible. If you are tall custom seat extenders make driving much more comfortable. Available on line. JBL stereo is great. This car is based on the Land-cruiser Prado which is designed to last for 25 years. Most cars are designed to last 10 to 15 years. I believe it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota for reliability

by Teri from Spring, TX on Thu Oct 20 2011

My 2004 4-Runner was totaled while we stopped at a traffic light. It was the most reliable vehicle I've everr owned, so I wanted to replace it. We bought the 2005 which is a little bit of an upgrade, and are very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has Been a Great Vehicle for 12+ Years

by BTKIndy from Westfield, IN on Wed Aug 23 2017

Initially bought this vehicle to tow my boat, but I never got to use my boat much. But this 4Runner has been great. Excellent for towing and 4WD worked great in snow. Very comfortable for long family trips or just driving back and forth to work.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car

by Rpatten from Colorado on Fri Jul 20 2018

My 2005 Toyota 4Runner is my all time favorite car. It drives amazing, very good gas mileage for the size of the vehicle. Would highly recommend to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 4Runner Sport

by 4runner girl from on Mon Apr 24 2017

I love my 2005 4Runner, sad to have to get rid of it 110K miles later. Great for everyday but the tow pkg made it good for hauling motorcycles on trailer any distance too. Only mechanical problems were self inflicted (pulled TPMS off when 4wheeling through blizzard and trying see if I could get stuck (nope, even buried to the rails))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable, just not for me right now

by junipersun from Tacoma, WA on Wed Jul 10 2019

I love this car. It really is fantastic. Comfortable, powerful, reliable... I just needed a car that was made for everyday highway driving and a 4runner just isn't that. But it's still the best car I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, capable off-roader, and highly fuctional

by Anthony G from Portland, OR on Tue Jul 17 2018

I have owned my 4.7l v8 4runner for three years now and couldn’t be happier. I bought the truck at 120,000 miles, currently have 192,XXX, and haven’t ran into any problems (only regular maintenance). Although the gas mileage is poor with the v8, it more than makes up for it’s performance such as the added tow rating and slightly more power than its v6 counterpart. I have traveled long distances countless times and have had to sleep in the trunk of my car, however, I was always comortable because I could essentially lie flat and fully extended (I’m 6ft tall). Additionally, my favorite part of the truck is that the back window can roll down, not only allowing for great airflow and easy unloading, but also allows for longer cargo to be easily carried and secured.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7