2005 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota 4Runner

$4,472 - $15,064  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

47 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wow

by Aimee from Sacramento, CA on Mon Feb 23 2015

My car was in shop one day for maintenance so my friend at work let me borrow her 4-Runner to run an errand. Very impressed. 220,000 miles on it and it drives like its brand new. I asked her if she has had any problems with it, she said the only thing they had to fix other than maintenance is the AC knob and that only cost $20.00.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great value

by kt from frederick md on Sun Sep 27 2009

this is a very comfortable reliable and safe vehicle i wold recommend a test drive if youre in the market for one you will not be dissapointed!!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome vehicle

by my 4th new toyota from elizabeth pa on Tue Sep 16 2008

solid vehicle, i have 95,000 miles and it runs like new. i also own a saturn(no comparison), the toyota is built much better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've Owned

by BrimeTime from Clinton, Maryland on Thu Nov 14 2013

This vehicle is hand down the best suv I've owned. Prior to this I owned three Jeeps, needless to say, I'll never purchase another Jeep. This car is 8 years old and still runs like its brand new. I love the way it handles, the smoothness of the ride, the interior isn't too bad either. My only issue I have is that the tire pressure symbol goes on and off, but as long as it keeps riding the way it does, I will have this car for a very long time. I am very satisfied, trust me, if you can get your hands on one, DO IT!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota for reliability

by Teri from Spring, TX on Thu Oct 20 2011

My 2004 4-Runner was totaled while we stopped at a traffic light. It was the most reliable vehicle I've everr owned, so I wanted to replace it. We bought the 2005 which is a little bit of an upgrade, and are very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has Been a Great Vehicle for 12+ Years

by BTKIndy from Westfield, IN on Wed Aug 23 2017

Initially bought this vehicle to tow my boat, but I never got to use my boat much. But this 4Runner has been great. Excellent for towing and 4WD worked great in snow. Very comfortable for long family trips or just driving back and forth to work.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, capable off-roader, and highly fuctional

by Anthony G from Portland, OR on Tue Jul 17 2018

I have owned my 4.7l v8 4runner for three years now and couldn?t be happier. I bought the truck at 120,000 miles, currently have 192,XXX, and haven?t ran into any problems (only regular maintenance). Although the gas mileage is poor with the v8, it more than makes up for it?s performance such as the added tow rating and slightly more power than its v6 counterpart. I have traveled long distances countless times and have had to sleep in the trunk of my car, however, I was always comortable because I could essentially lie flat and fully extended (I?m 6ft tall). Additionally, my favorite part of the truck is that the back window can roll down, not only allowing for great airflow and easy unloading, but also allows for longer cargo to be easily carried and secured.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE THIS CAR

by tony from VA on Mon Aug 21 2006

OVER ALL I'M VERY SATISFIED WITH THE PERFORMANCE. I HOPE TOYOTA WILL MAKE A 3RD SEAT ROW FOR 4 RUNNER.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 4Runner Sport

by 4runner girl from on Mon Apr 24 2017

I love my 2005 4Runner, sad to have to get rid of it 110K miles later. Great for everyday but the tow pkg made it good for hauling motorcycles on trailer any distance too. Only mechanical problems were self inflicted (pulled TPMS off when 4wheeling through blizzard and trying see if I could get stuck (nope, even buried to the rails))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only Toyota for now on

by Mr. Oli from Maple Valley, WA on Fri Sep 22 2006

I have had this vehicle for 10 months and absolutely love it... The 4 wheel drive is the most powerful I have come across in mud, snow, and water, tows my boats great, and comes with awesome handling, I had to give it a little less rating for the stereo being so large with a cassette tape deck... Do people still use cassettes? I was lucky enough to still have a few from college in the 90's to try and see if it really worked.... Overall I could not be happier and will not buy another brand of vehicle again....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5