2020 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$36,120 - $49,865  MSRP Range
2020 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

68 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2nd 5th Gen 4RUNNER

by JM from St. Paul , MN on Tue Oct 22 2019

This is my 2nd 4RUNNER and doesn’t disappoint at all. I loved my 2011. Drove 90k trouble free. Traded it for a Tacoma but missed my 4Runner way too much. We decided to buy another one. The updates for 2020 are awesome. Just enough technology to stay current but not over the top with stuff you’ll never use. Apple CarPlay is awesome. The 4runner is wonderfully awesome truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Awesome & Bold , Border line Ostentatious!

by Mrs Make it Rugged and Green from Grovetown Ga on Tue Oct 01 2019

I absolutely Love everything about it , down to the color . It rides well , it now has all the Upgrades for modern technology. It’s rugged and Beautiful at the same time . Toyota did a job on this TRD pro , I look forward to learning more about how it handles on and off road. It’s rides pretty smooth for a Off road vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by Yayonepiece from Houston, Texas on Sun Dec 01 2019

Amazing car, just missing some stuff like to open the trunk with the remote key or close it; I dislike that anyone can come up to my vehicle and open my gas door and possibly take the gas lid. Also would’ve been nice if it had the rear view camera mirror. A lot of new vehicles come with this so would expect it as well just because when I fill up my trunk I can’t see what’s behind me anymore.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's for truck lovers stupid

by MD from Poughquag on Thu Aug 06 2020

If you want a reliable, useful, and durable vehicle that can bring you just about anywhere - then the 4Runner is for you. If you want to drink tea with your pinky in the air and go pick up Buffy at the Spa, then maybe this is not your type of vehicle. And that's OK - but people like that should not be writing the reviews!!! This truck handles well both off road and on, gets better gas mileage than advertised and has ample horse power to get up and go. The shifting is smooth and the motor sounds bad a s s when you step on it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth drive for an SUV

by vinceman from Goose Creek on Thu Jan 02 2020

I love the changes for 2020 especially the screen size. I also like the Gunner package and comfort. The safety issues are great. I would recommend that the side mirrors had the blind spot notifications

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very solid suv

by Don from Rigby on Sun Oct 27 2019

The 4Runner is very stout. Was a no brainer after owning a 2014. Completely reliable and reasonable cost to maintain. Very pleased with my decision.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TOYOTA KEEPS DOING IT

by Toyota Fan from Atlanta, GA on Sun Jan 12 2020

I love almost everything about the 2020 4Runner. There is one glaring miss: blindspot detection. Toyota-tight suspension is precisely what I expected from the 4Runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2020 4Runner!

by Mother of busy kids from Bloomington, MN on Sat Jan 18 2020

This SUV meets all my families needs. Love the comfort, the ride, the size and all of it's amazing features. My 2 dogs think it's a great ride too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice upgrade

by Bushburn from OR on Sun May 17 2020

I’ve had a BMW X5 for a long time (2005) it was amazing. I love the 4Runner already. It’s completely different than a luxury suv. I just wanted something new that felt a bit older if that makes sense. The Toyota doesn’t even come close to the punch the BMW had. Even for a car that is fifteen years newer but it’s not the same kind of suv. The 4Runner is high off the ground and feels great on road. It’s new but I feel like it’s ready to get off the street and dirty. It’s more of a utility feel than luxury. It’s perfect for get around vehicle in Oregon. If you have kids like me and can’t get a Tacoma get the 4Runner. It checks all the boxes

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with this vehicle so far. Definitely!!

by Grateful RN from Freeland, MI on Thu Nov 28 2019

This vehicle checks all the boxes. I’m so proud to finally drive a Toyota! I feel so safe behind the wheel. All of the technical features are cutting edge. Plus it has features that I never knew I wanted. Something to be very thankful for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7