2008 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota Avalon

$4,697 - $13,373  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota Avalon

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

52 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by Ron from San Diego, CA on Tue May 26 2009

I purchased this 2008 XLS new. It has all the features of a Lexus at much less cost. It handles beautifully, rides smooth, and has great braking. I love it's sharp turning radius. I get appx. 20-21 MPG around town and 32 MPG on the highway. The acceleration is very impressive and I very much like the interior layout. The sound system is beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Large Luxury Toyota

by soccer mom from westwood, nj on Sat Aug 21 2010

I have owned a Toyota Tercel/Corolla and Camery XLE. (And the Honda Odessey x2) Love Toyota's quality and reliability. The Avalon Limited 2008 isno different but it has the luxury w/o the price tag of other luxury cars. Love it. Con: side mirrors do not fold in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle!

by Just a car lover from Scottsdale, AZ on Sat Dec 25 2010

Bought a limited a couple of weeks ago after much research and reading the reiviews. All I read was right on the money! No car is perfect but this one comes close. It was a one owner lease return and I happened to be at the dealership at the right time and got a good deal. Love the heated and cooled seats- perfect for Arizona. Bluetooth and JBL sound are great. Ride, power of the V6 are awesome. Handling is better than I thought it would be even if it's not sporty. Look forward to many years cruising with this car in town and on trips. Would definitely recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect in every way...

by Avalon Fan from Lynchburg, VA on Tue Jan 26 2010

Have driven my Avalon for two years. Ride, comfortable seats, limo-like legroom in rear seat area, power, quality, quietness, fit & finish are best I ever had. Truly an Interstate cruiser and the best part...nothing breaks...all it ever needs is an oil change every 5,000! Great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Buy for the price

by Avalon lover from Rockwall, Texas on Sat Sep 10 2011

This is the second Avalon we have owned. A 1998 for 10 years with 110,000 miles trouble free. Now we have a 2008 Limited with 62,000 miles trouble free. You just have to take them in and get them serviced and they will last forever. Super car, Super value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car For The Money

by MRB from New York on Wed Jul 20 2011

Car rides smooth, very roomy, great acceleration. The only thing I don't like is the Navigation system. It is very hard to press the correct letter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I have ever owned

by California driver from Fremont Ca. on Sat Oct 18 2008

The Avalon gives great gas mileage for a car of this size.I regularly get 35 miles per gallon on the highway and it runs on regular gas. It has excellent acceleration. There is a lot of room on the inside, I am six feet four and there is plenty of head and leg room. I have over thirty thousand miles on this car and no repairs of any kind have had to be made. My other car is a Lexus gs 300 and I consider the two cars similar in quality and materials, You could put a Lexus nameplate on this car and sell it for $10,000 more. The styling is a little too conservative, this is the only fault I can find with this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE, LOVE, this car!!!

by Avalon Lover from Jackson, TN on Tue Nov 11 2008

I recently purchased a 2008 XLS and I love it. I owned a Lexus 400 before driving this one and I can honestly say that I'm enjoying my Avalon more. It handles so well and has great features. It is so roomy and has a lot of different compartments. The trunk is HUGE and so is the back seat. I would definately recommend this car to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to buy another. (Just hope it's not anytime soon!) It also really does get good gas milage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Luv A Avalon from Longview, Texas on Mon Dec 12 2011

I have owned a 1999 and 2003 avalon prior to my purchase of the 2008 Limited. I have never had any trouble with these vehicles and each car has been even better in quality. Great gas mileage and reliability. The car is not sporty but I am in for quality. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants a great ride with true quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury for Less - The Avalon

by Avalon Owner from Rochester, NY on Wed Feb 01 2012

This is my second Avalon, and my parents own an Avalon. I have had excellent experiences from all. Fair fuel efficiency with a luxurious ride. The car is a little louder with this model than the others I have experienced, but overall very nice. Stereo system is of a nice quality. Controls are convenient on the wheel, including this model's bluetooth phone operation. Although I miss the navigation system that i had on a prior model, it is easier to buy another product to have on board. The car handles easily and is a smooth ride. Very enjoyable and comfortable on long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota Avalon


Some cars are marketed to families and women, and some are not. The Toyota Avalon falls into the latter category. I hate to sound all gender-centric, but this is a perfectly nice car that's made absolutely no effort to appeal to my demographic. It's not like there's a sign on the door that says "Dudes Only," but the Avalon just doesn't offer much in the warm and cuddly department. I can't really explain it, but when I drive this car I feel like I'm driving my dad's car, not my own. And I'm afraid that's kind of what Toyota is going for with this full-size sedan.

Don't get me wrong; the Avalon is a highly enjoyable vehicle. The interior is roomy, airy and very comfortable. The huge backseat provides plenty... Read More