2002 Camry

Consumer Reviews
2002 Toyota Camry

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

67 Reviews
2002 Toyota Camry
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Work Week Traveler from Citrus Heights, CA on March 2, 2009

This is a great car to own, in fact hubby and I loved it so much we bought two! I have traveled a great deal with my car and the fuel economy is awesome! The commute is very comfortable and the 4 cylinder is zippy even up hills. I have over 90k miles and have had to put very little in the way of $$$ into this car. I bought both my Camry's certified used less than a year old.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, fabulous deal!

by Car buyer from Seattle WA on January 30, 2012

I love this car. For a 10 year old car it is has held up very well. It runs beautifully and is very comfortable. The trunk is enormous. The inside is very roomy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car but cosumes oil

by Car Guru from Louisiana on January 5, 2015

We own a 2002 Camry LE and it has 105,000 miles. We bought it used with 50,000 miles and the original owner had all the maintanence records ( oil changes every 3,000 miles at the dealer ). It started consuming oil at 80,000 miles. It does not smoke and there are no leaks. It consumes about 1 quart every 2,000 miles. Toyota states that this amout is acceptable, but I do not agree. I have never owned a car that consumed oil like this and I maintain my vehicles. I researched this issue and it seems to be quite common on 4 cylinder engines.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Old Taxi Cab

by Jason Stark from Victoria BC on July 22, 2014

I bought a 2002 XLE V6 for $600. It's fully loaded with every available option and everything works except the driver side seat heater. It is an old taxi cab, it has 256,000 miles on it. Engine seems fine. I have to replace two front wheel bearings and the starter. It runs fine, it's quiet and has plenty of power left. No burning or leaking oil, and it's holding all other fluids as well. Well worth $600. I also need to change the timing belt because it's 150,000 miles over due. I imagine once I replace the timing belt and wheel bearings that I could drive this car long distances with no worries.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good third car

by familyguy from St. Louis, MO on December 19, 2011

This is a good third car. I bought this car as a daily commuter to replace a HD pickup truck. I average around 28mpg. I am 6'1" and it has adequate leg room but not much extra. Interior layout is basic.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Oldjake from Iowa on August 22, 2009

This is the best car my wife and me have ever owned. The back seat is big enough for 2 car seats and has enough room for an 8 year old to sit in between them. We have had no trouble with this car what-so-ever. We have the V6 and we just turned 100k on it! It still gets 26mpg on the highway and 22mpg in town. Good job toyota!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car we've ever owned

by tgob from on December 30, 2016

We bought our 2002 Camry LE in 2005. It had +/- 22,000 miles on the odometer at the time. Today, it has just under 181,000 miles on it. Aside from expected maintenance and one wreck involving our teenaged daughter, we have had no problems with this car. It's not an exciting vehicle but it's reliable and safe. We'll miss this gal when, or if, she finally has had enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Joe C from Chicago, illinois on April 11, 2017

My Camry currently has 295,000 miles on it and it has had no problems since I've had the vehicle. My Toyota Camry has been family owned since 2002 and it has been a great and comfortable car to drive on long trips and around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST VALUE CAR

by JULIED from Brentwood on November 11, 2017

THIS CAR HAS BEEN THE BEST VALUE OF ANY CAR I'VE OWNED. IT STILL DRIVES WELL AND IS COMFORTABLE EVEN THOUGH IT'S 15 YRS OLD. I HAVE A 2015 CAMRY AND I LIKE THE 2002 COMFORT AND RESPONSIVENESS BETTER.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I

by Roz from Malden, MA on April 11, 2017

I bought this 2002 Toyota Camry XLE in 2014. It had 84K miles at the time and I've put in additional 30K. The only repairs I've done is change brake pads, tires and regular oil change. Despite being a V6 engine it gives good mileage. The car has heated powered leather seats and moon roof. It's a very reliable and economical vehicle which offers enough luxury at its price tag.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Our Expert Review: 2002 Toyota Camry