Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Camry

Consumer Reviews

2002 Toyota Camry

$1,686 - $7,070  MSRP Range
2002 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

75 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, fabulous deal!

by Car buyer from Seattle WA on Mon Jan 30 2012

I love this car. For a 10 year old car it is has held up very well. It runs beautifully and is very comfortable. The trunk is enormous. The inside is very roomy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Old Taxi Cab

by Jason Stark from Victoria BC on Tue Jul 22 2014

I bought a 2002 XLE V6 for $600. It's fully loaded with every available option and everything works except the driver side seat heater. It is an old taxi cab, it has 256,000 miles on it. Engine seems fine. I have to replace two front wheel bearings and the starter. It runs fine, it's quiet and has plenty of power left. No burning or leaking oil, and it's holding all other fluids as well. Well worth $600. I also need to change the timing belt because it's 150,000 miles over due. I imagine once I replace the timing belt and wheel bearings that I could drive this car long distances with no worries.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Joe C from Chicago, illinois on Tue Apr 11 2017

My Camry currently has 295,000 miles on it and it has had no problems since I've had the vehicle. My Toyota Camry has been family owned since 2002 and it has been a great and comfortable car to drive on long trips and around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car we've ever owned

by tgob from on Fri Dec 30 2016

We bought our 2002 Camry LE in 2005. It had +/- 22,000 miles on the odometer at the time. Today, it has just under 181,000 miles on it. Aside from expected maintenance and one wreck involving our teenaged daughter, we have had no problems with this car. It's not an exciting vehicle but it's reliable and safe. We'll miss this gal when, or if, she finally has had enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good third car

by familyguy from St. Louis, MO on Mon Dec 19 2011

This is a good third car. I bought this car as a daily commuter to replace a HD pickup truck. I average around 28mpg. I am 6'1" and it has adequate leg room but not much extra. Interior layout is basic.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Oldjake from Iowa on Sat Aug 22 2009

This is the best car my wife and me have ever owned. The back seat is big enough for 2 car seats and has enough room for an 8 year old to sit in between them. We have had no trouble with this car what-so-ever. We have the V6 and we just turned 100k on it! It still gets 26mpg on the highway and 22mpg in town. Good job toyota!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I

by Roz from Malden, MA on Tue Apr 11 2017

I bought this 2002 Toyota Camry XLE in 2014. It had 84K miles at the time and I've put in additional 30K. The only repairs I've done is change brake pads, tires and regular oil change. Despite being a V6 engine it gives good mileage. The car has heated powered leather seats and moon roof. It's a very reliable and economical vehicle which offers enough luxury at its price tag.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST VALUE CAR

by JULIED from Brentwood on Sat Nov 11 2017

THIS CAR HAS BEEN THE BEST VALUE OF ANY CAR I'VE OWNED. IT STILL DRIVES WELL AND IS COMFORTABLE EVEN THOUGH IT'S 15 YRS OLD. I HAVE A 2015 CAMRY AND I LIKE THE 2002 COMFORT AND RESPONSIVENESS BETTER.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car everything we need

by Butch from Columbus, Ga. on Sun Aug 20 2006

It's something to have a car that about the only thing I don't like about it is the cup holder. Now my 2002 model does have the tail pipe a bit close to the ground. We have a little over 81,000 miles on it and it still drives much like a new one. We bought it when it was less than a year old from a dealer. (A "Certified" used car).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most affordable car!

by moinc from LA, CA on Sun Apr 02 2017

Love that style. Car is running and running and running... there is no end. Just change oil and drive safely.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Toyota Camry

Toyota Camry occupies an important place in the automotive landscape: the Comfort Zone.

Here is where core values of reliability, practicality and quality reign, where owning an automobile is more about rational transportation and less about extending one's ego.

In the Comfort Zone, Consumer Reports prevails over Road and Track, and a family sedan that rides like a cloud is preferred over a sports sedan that performs like a race car.

The Comfort Zone has resulted in sweeping success for Camry, the most popular automobile in the United States for three out of the past four years.

But now, with the first all-new Camry in 10 years, Toyota says that's not enough. Camry has to move people in... Read More