1998 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

1998 Toyota Corolla

$340 - $5,172  MSRP Range
1998 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

30 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very very reliable car

by Denise from Los Angeles on Mon Jul 07 2014

I think the most important feature of this car is that it is very reliable. I did the regular maintenance and in the 10 years that I have owned it, it NEVER caused any problems on the road. Not once, I had to call AAA. Considering its age, you would think it doesn't do well in high speeds, but you feel secure. (granted, I never tried to go over 75 mph.) I think I can use this car for ten more years without big problems. My model is CE, and I wish I had automatic doors and windows. The AC works really well. In a few seconds you get the cold air if it's too hot outside. But my main concern has always been reliability and performance. In both grounds, this car is excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by jamielee from New Jersey on Wed Feb 01 2012

I bought our 1998 Corolla used for my 17 year old - it's a great first car. It was easy to handle and reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best thing smokeing

by toney from Lake wales,FL on Sat Apr 18 2015

Best...best,,,best....best car on the road! I have never had a problem with my 98 VE model aside from cheap door handles and trim. Thats a small trade off for something so reliable! Anybody who knows anything about cars will tell you this car is super dependable. Dont take my word,ask the folks at the shop you go to. I commute heavy and this car offers no problems..great car! Go to any major city in America and there is still a million of these things on the road...THEY WONT DIE! most economical,reliable car I have owned,hands down. If you want a speedster or sportster go some where else. If you want a car you can count on doing the job everytime..get this one.Cheap trim or not..its a beast!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Jesse Ridgway from Elmer, NJ on Tue May 10 2016

This car has been through a lot. It's been passed down to me in the family. From my mom, to my brother, to me. It recently got resprayed pink. Overall still a pretty great car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Great mpg, very economic! Handles well!!

by Josh from Coaldale, PA on Tue Oct 16 2012

Received this car as a gift, and it runs really well. It handles very smoothly, in rain, snow, or sleet. The visuals are lacking to a minor degree, however, the functionality makes up for it in strides. As long as it is maintained you should have no issues whatsoever!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have ever owned , Super Reliable

by Cobra from TORRANCE , California on Thu Jun 14 2018

Never had any major issues , just good old fashioned reliability . Great gas mileage and low cost maintenance . Thank You Toyota for a GREAT CAR

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rolled over 245,000 on a 1400 mile road trip

by kid red from Englewood, FL on Tue Dec 26 2017

245,000 miles on this car and still have no problem taking it on the road. Still runs great, good mileage and cold air. Most repairs are easy enough to do myself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Gas Saver and Very Reliable

by Jay4TC from on Tue May 09 2017

Excellent, dependable vehicle for the money and great value as well. Have owned Toyota's for years. Especially Corollas. 40+ years in the making and they are still going strong. Getty ready to purchase my next Toyota soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable i own a geo prism 300,000&toyo 195,000

by Taco steeve from Austin on Sun Aug 26 2018

RELIABLE!!!! cheap accessible parts evry where decent on gas...i own a 98 toyo 194,000 and a 97 prism 300,000 til the tranny gave out only paid 1,000. It lasted 5 years!!! Wooohooo!!! Plenty on the road still running just like the. Ole honda civics..?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car

by John from Philadelphia, PA on Sun Mar 25 2012

first i had 2001 nissan sentra auto, then 99 solara auto, and decided to buy a stick shift, and got this car, this car is the best so far, plus its a stick shift, I like how you leave all those bmw's tl's n all that stuff behind when u move it from its place, very very easy to do manuevers and it is very reliable, and cheap to maintain, good for college students

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Toyota Corolla

The new Corolla, Toyota's latest take on its subcompact mainstay, is a refined and peppy little craft that drives much better than you'd expect from its diminutive appearance or moderate price tag.

Built for normal, everyday transportation, Corolla gets the job done without fuss. There are significant economy-care trade-offs: Corolla's new engine may be smoother and stronger than before, but it's still limited in power. And our white test car, though fairly stylish, has all the pizazz of a kitchen appliance.

Corolla first arrived on these shores more than 30 years ago, gaining a reputation for economy and durability that has made it a consistent top seller for a generation.

For '98 and continuing... Read More