NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2000 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota Corolla

2000 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

40 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I am the ACTUAL OWNER of this Toyota!

by Cassie from Aurora, Illinois on Tue Apr 13 2010

We bought this vehicle in Fort Worth, Texas new. We never had problems with this vehicle. I recommend this vehicle as a grad gift for someone's kid, a great commuter, or a run-a-bout town car. We traded it cause we needed the space cause we have a new addition to the family. It is a great running car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good car

by Toyota maniac from on Mon Feb 01 2010

Good car the 4cly i have the lowest one, is pretty nice and shows pretty good results for what it is, all around it is a good car. I would buy it again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by simply mom from Covington, KY on Sun Mar 01 2009

Bought new. Has 120,000 miles. Never has had any problems or issues other than routine. Would like to get something newer, but cannot justify getting rid of something that runs so good with so little attention. Good car in snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car for commuters!

by Mura from on Tue May 25 2010

I bought this car when it had 194K ml. Now, it has 204K ml, and still works well. I am satisfied with the engine and quality of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great reliable car

by HJ from Ithaca, NY on Tue Jul 01 2008

The only problem I've ever had with this car involves the oxygen sensor. Other than that, all I need to pay for are oil changes and gas. Even the exhaust is still original after 8 years and the brakes were redone once.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Toyota Corolla VE

by Dmitriy from San Jose, CA on Tue Jul 03 2012

We owned 2000 Toyota Corolla VE for 5 years. We bought it in 2003 with 24k miles on it for my wife who was a full time student at the time (no extra money) and it was a steal price wise. VE is the most strip down trim. The reliability is phenomenal, as you would expect from Toyota. We put another 40k on this car in 5 years before it was totaled in an accident (not my wife's fault), and all we replaced in this car are tires and battery. What I will complain about is that Toyota tried way too hard eliminating features in VE trim. It came with 3-speed auto transmission while other trims got 4-speed one. The back of the rear seat was not folding like other trims. What was the point of manufacturing different seat back frame for VE? Extra hardware for folding back (hinges and 2 latches) is not that expensive. Center console was missing cushioned cover. Manual outside mirrors did not have handles - adjusting right mirror was very inconvenient. Ridiculously all 3 trims had different mirrors: VE - manual w/o handles, CE - manual with handles, LE - power. It was probably cheaper to manufacture power mirrors in higher volumes and equip all trims with them. This list can be continued but the reader gets the idea. Luckily Toyota listened and fixed all these issues in 2003 when Corolla was redesigned. 2003 and newer Corolla CE (basic trim) was equipped much better with 4-speed auto transmission, 40/60 folding rear seat back, power mirrors, covered central console and etc.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Change oil. Do not beat it.

by GJ_NC from Oxford, NC on Mon Jul 31 2017

This model's engine has a tendency for the oil to gunk up causing the catalytic converter to wear out prematurely. Regular oil changes and normal driving habits avert this problem. Fast acceleration and speed are its enemies. Regular oil changes and easy does it will make this car last a long time. It is a good economical and reliable vehicle. If you want to race get a muscle car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good car so far .

by terry . from blountown fla on Sat Sep 22 2012

I had traded a honda accrod in on this car when the tranmission died in the honda. I got it used has l49 thousand on it . Seems to be very reliable . Ac is so cold have t o leave on low mostly , great. mine has the aut o wit h overdrive. got as good as 38 mpg with it one time . runs great. check engine light will come on if gas cap isn't tighten right , car was mantained by owner ok , replaced the serpentine belt but thas been about all. fun car t o drive and very manuable . compforable , reliable . did some body work, most ly just some touchup paint from auto zone . car looks pretty good yet for l3 years old car. I will go with toyota again. also like vv1 engine . no timing belt to replace . mechanic says it has chan chain. good move toyot a . had a broken lug bolt on rear wheel , but mechanic was able to replace without having to take break assemble apart . was 25 dollar reparir instead on 49 or more if had to take break apart to get at it . engine is well lay laid out and should be easy for mechanic to repair . hate paying a mechainc 50 bucks an hr before they can even get to the part that needs fixing . fixed rear view break light myself , one headlight lamp . some repairs owner friendly . great little car. also handles muddy roads ok . steering is precise even when had to swerve to avoid obstecals in road , mine has good radials on it may helf but very sure footed and stable on road . nice car overall ! onely negative is power windows have died or go slow on driver side, car may have been hit , atho car frax says no . but hear power windows motors go bad after awail . other work ok tho . but ac works great so no big deal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is a champ I've had it for 19 years

by Noe garcia from Arkansas on Tue May 28 2019

This car is the best of it's kind. I've never change the transmision never changed the engine and the car is still running strong. Minor fixes like shocks which I just changed recently after about 17 years if you take good care of her she will get you from point a to point b no problmes at all

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever!

by chloe from nc on Mon Dec 28 2015

i bought this car new in 2000. it seems it has always had a "good spirit" in it. I love the car and have never had an accident in it. It needs a paint job and some dent repair. The interior is showing its age. I just test drove a Yaris and couldn't stretch my left leg out. Plenty of room in this car. Still runs great. Am just starting to look at a replacement, reluctantly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2000 Toyota Corolla

The hardest cars to write about are those that have no soul. Such is the case with the 2000 Toyota Corolla. What is it?

It began life in 1968 as an econobox--durable, reliable, fuel-efficient, cheap. People bought it simply because it ran. The Corolla retained that image for nearly a generation. Its very name was synonymous with affordable small-car quality.

That is no longer the case. The Corolla's image has been muddled by a series of upscale compromises, and by Toyota's introduction of a real economy car, the 2000 Echo.

Those developments leave the Corolla bereft of identity, a car with all the emotional appeal of corn flakes.

The Corolla is no longer a small car. It has become a fully grown... Read More