2001 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota Corolla

$960 - $5,724  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

31 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Very Reliable

by toyota guy from Chambersburg, PA on Sat Jan 14 2012

I have owned Corollas off and on for the last couple of decades. They are one of the most dependable cars on the road. While they are not very fancy, I have always enjoyed driving them. I especially like getting 35 - 40 mpg! Lots of value for your money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 2001 Corolla is a great car

by DesertFox from Chicago, IL on Sat Apr 18 2015

The 2001 Corolla is an awesome car I bought my 2001 Corolla S brand new. 14 years later and 185,000 miles, it still runs like new, very reliable, economic and almost maintenance free. I still get 30+ Miles per gallon mixed city/highway driving, I've always used regular gasoline with no additives. The only part that I ever had to replace was the catalytic converter at around 160,000 miles, it cost me a total of around $250 to get a new one welded in at the local muffler shop. Other than that, all I ever had to do is regular maintenance like oil change, coolant flush, brake pads replacement?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great car

by Traveler from Ohio on Thu Jul 06 2006

This is a good deal. The car has all the features you need in a dependable transportration. Most of the milage is high way milage. It is in great shape. I had no trouble with it. It is well kept.It is well maintained. All the maintenance work was done on time by the prefofessionals.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Corolla

by CorollaCorolla from Lexington, KY on Wed Jul 12 2006

very nice car for the price you pay. I never had any trouble driving around. You can get good gas mileage on it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Overall

by Crusty from Riverside, CA on Fri Sep 21 2012

After 12 years and 170K+ miles, no major problems until now. I have not experienced the high oil consumption reported by others. However, my catelytic converter has now gone south; I just learned it is extremely expensive ($1,500) for a new one, and it has to be welded into place, which means finding a skilled welder (with a corresponding additional labor cost) to install it. Small dash lights are also impossible to replace without pulling the entire console. Those started to go around 60K miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Engine issues

by bonedoc from on Mon Mar 19 2012

Like other users have remarked, my corolla burnt tons of oil, then at 135k miles, the engine blew. Was a decent car up until that point.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable!

by jz673 from manhattan, new york on Sat May 27 2017

have had this car for several years, always gotten from point A to point B with little to no fuss. Recently replaced the brakes, and rotors, oil change every 5k. It's a good little car, extremly ecnomical too. Power is just ok, seats are great for short trip can wear out on long ones. Interior well it's the ce model so no cruise or power windows, mirrors. well fewer things to break right? Overall, it's an awesome car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought this car with 260000 miles run great

by rvn2414 from Visalia ca on Wed Aug 09 2017

The car run great i decided to renew it found brand new engine in japan for 1300 dollars took 3 months to arrive and put kyb shocks the car performs awesome , was ring good at 260000 miles but with the new engine is a plus, im keeping this car for at least 10 years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sad Day

by Gus Yandel from Beaufort, South Carolina on Fri Dec 15 2017

Sadly, after 16 years and 236,000 miles, my beloved Toyota Corolla has seen its last drive. While I am upset I am also excited to purchase a new car. There is no doubt that I will be buying another Toyota

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Quick, Fuel-Efficient

by Eco-Car Specialist from Chicago, IL on Wed Oct 22 2008

This car is absolutely amazing. Now you may be thinking why you would get this car over lets say a sentra or lancer. The money you pay for this car would be worth it. As soon as i bought this car i took it on a 500 mile road trip and it was a walk in the park for the car. Whether you are doing highway miles or city this car will save you tons of money on gas. Don't let the small engine fool you. If you need that extra power then this car will provide it. Excellent highway miles i got about 38mpg on the trip. Exterior styling is very sporty with the definitions in the hood and the spoiler on the back. The spoiler also has a brake light on it. Only thing about this car is that it definitely isnt one of the more spacious economy cars compared to the lancer or the portege, but with the gas you save and the unbelievable reliability it is worth every penny. Simpy put, the Corolla beats every car in its class with a possible argument against the civic. Get this car you wont be disappointed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2001 Toyota Corolla

Okay, I'll admit it. As a car enthusiast, the Toyota Corolla isn't high on my list when it comes to the lust factor.

The thrills this car delivers are the sort that non-enthusiasts (that is, most people) look for in a car. It's fuel-efficient, well-built and doesn't have extravagant or wild styling that will make you look foolish two years from now.

For 2001, this pinnacle of automotive sanity gets a freshening, although only Corolla diehards will notice.

Lights go round. In the rear, new lenses lend the car a resemblance to the pricey Lexus GS 300/400. Up front, new round, multi-reflector headlamp lenses bookend a new chrome-trimmed grille that calls to mind the Toyota Camry. A new front fascia... Read More