NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota Highlander

$23,363 - $34,587  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

134 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Highlander XLE AWD

by Uncle T from Southeast TX on Sun Jan 17 2016

Excellent V6 powered SUV. It will get up and go. Very stable (AWD). No significant regrets. Only 2 items that I wish I could fix, one; head rest position (I also have a 2007 Nissan Murano SLE which has the most comfortable seats EVER), and, two; wish this XLE AWD had a power passenger seat. Otherwise it is one of the nicest car I have ever owned, and I've owned a few cars (over 70 years old). I also own a BMW 750IL, a Suburban, and a Toyota Tacoma, just to qualify myself to review a car or two.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Sueduecoo from Ashland, KY on Tue Aug 09 2016

I had expected this SUV to be great but it exceeded all my expectations! Air cooled/heated leather seats, very luxurious, comfortable,quiet ride. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Hynrid, even though pricey

by mykecusa from Sacramento CA on Fri Jul 01 2016

Bought the 2016 Highlander Hybrid. I like the fuel economy a hybrid can give and traded in a 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid that had me getting about 32 mpg Spring and Fall and 28 mpg Summer and Winter. Using A/C and heater/fan can really drop mpg hybrid fuel economy. I bought the Highlander Hybrid and took a trip to the mountains. Going up to Reno I got 31 mpg; driving around Reno 28 mpg; and returning to the valley 34 mpg ... all without A/C. The ride is comfortable. The visibility is excellent. The sound is minimal. All the safety controls worked nicely. I am impressed with the build on the Highlander and would recommend it to a friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highlander LE PLUS

by Admangia from Western, NY on Sat Apr 09 2016

This model s interior presents on par with the lower cost models and is barely different than the LE at a glance. It does have some very good standard safety features and feels big enough but maneuverable like the smaller SUV class. The ride is fantastic and it seats eight with a bit less side to side room than the Sienna. Overall performance and handling is excellent. Your paying for toyota quality and this vehicle delivers it. Too much money but a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another great Toyota in our family

by Toyota Guy from Spokane, WA on Wed May 10 2017

We only buy cars once every fifteen years or so, and this is a nice step up from our ultra-reliable 2000 Camry LE. I'm looking forward to a minimum 17 years from this roomy SUV. We live in a place where the county just doesn't plow in the winter. All-wheel drive powered by a surprisingly lively 6-cyl will take care of that. Lots of room! And very comfortable seating. We also owned a 1986 Camry LE, and it contained the best driver's seat I've ever sat in... until now! Toyota went back in time and grabbed that seat. It's like being cradled by a great big comfy hand. All sorts of storage and hauling space, features galore. Does it sound like we're very, very happy? It should. We are.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Wouldn’t buy again. 2002 I had was bett

by Unhappy highlander owner from Oregon, or on Sat Jun 22 2019

Rear cargo area not flat, rear seats useless. Headlight coverage dangerously poor. Too wide. Too short - bump head getting in. Comfortable. Reliable. Ugly design.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is going to be a functional reliable vehicle

by Uke player from Lodi, California on Mon Feb 11 2019

Meet s what I need, this year (model 2016) could use a couple more USB ports, I had to "pad" the Sub-woofer panel to prevent rattle, my AWD limited platinum model has captain seats in 2nd row, which only allows 7 capacity. Vehicle gas MPG is great with cruse control on and handles well on road and snow. Tows without any issues, get the cargo net if you buy one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV on the road

by MerryBerry from Birmingham, AL on Mon Jul 09 2018

I love, love, love this car! I had a 2016 LE Plus AWD and traded it for the 2016 AWD Limited because I wanted all of the bells and whistles! And the LE Plus was just too basic. The Limited is exactly what I wanted. Just took it on a 2000 mile road trip and it performed beautifully. Love the GPS, radar control cruise control and blind spot monitor! I will enjoy this car for many years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quietest Smoothest Ride Toyota Makes

by flyfisherman82 from Pocatello, ID on Sat May 13 2017

Made in USA, Quiet, Smooth, AWD, Best Leg Room Front and 2nd Row On Market, Reliable, Holds It's Value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable but too big for us.

by EHBarber from Bedford, MA on Fri Dec 01 2017

This was a fine car but it just felt too big for us. Getting in on the passenger side was difficult for my wife (has bursitis in her hips) and for my mother-in-law (in her 90's). The Toyota Entune system was a pain and seemed to cut out just when we wanted to hear was was being played. The bluetooth phone system was excellent and without any headaches. Lots of interior space especially in the back and the interior finishing was excellent. Never used the 3rd row seating so can't comment on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14