2016 Highlander

Consumer Reviews
2016 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

96 Reviews
2016 Toyota Highlander
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Sueduecoo from Ashland, KY on August 9, 2016

I had expected this SUV to be great but it exceeded all my expectations! Air cooled/heated leather seats, very luxurious, comfortable,quiet ride. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Hynrid, even though pricey

by mykecusa from Sacramento CA on July 1, 2016

Bought the 2016 Highlander Hybrid. I like the fuel economy a hybrid can give and traded in a 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid that had me getting about 32 mpg Spring and Fall and 28 mpg Summer and Winter. Using A/C and heater/fan can really drop mpg hybrid fuel economy. I bought the Highlander Hybrid and took a trip to the mountains. Going up to Reno I got 31 mpg; driving around Reno 28 mpg; and returning to the valley 34 mpg ... all without A/C. The ride is comfortable. The visibility is excellent. The sound is minimal. All the safety controls worked nicely. I am impressed with the build on the Highlander and would recommend it to a friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keep it for life

by Braveheart from Oregon on March 20, 2016

Great handling - feels like a tank but steers like a deer! love it! Took it to the ocean and through high water and it handled perfectly. Loved all the room inside, very comfortable and did not get road weary at all for the 300 + miles in one day. Very durable interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Highlander XLE AWD

by Uncle T from Southeast TX on January 17, 2016

Excellent V6 powered SUV. It will get up and go. Very stable (AWD). No significant regrets. Only 2 items that I wish I could fix, one; head rest position (I also have a 2007 Nissan Murano SLE which has the most comfortable seats EVER), and, two; wish this XLE AWD had a power passenger seat. Otherwise it is one of the nicest car I have ever owned, and I've owned a few cars (over 70 years old). I also own a BMW 750IL, a Suburban, and a Toyota Tacoma, just to qualify myself to review a car or two.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016/2017 Highlander is a best buy

by Dan S from Chicago,IL on March 9, 2017

I work for a Chicago new vehicle leasing company. As such, I have the opportunity to drive everything. Of vehicles within the mid-size SUV segment, the Highlander is my top pick. The Toyota has a smooth drive and a suspension set up to soften bumps and road cracks. Toyota is still using a standard non-CVT transmission so the acceleration is smooth and gear-find is predictable. With two years of free maintenance and safety-sense standard on 2017 models, drivers can enjoy more features with a lower total ownership cost. Lastly, Toyota (for the most part) isn't plagued with some of the reliability and manufacturer supply issues that other brands are facing, namely Honda and Infiniti. Low down time and repair visits mean more time behind the seat. This, in part, is why the Toyota Highlander is my top pick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highlander LE PLUS

by Admangia from Western, NY on April 9, 2016

This model s interior presents on par with the lower cost models and is barely different than the LE at a glance. It does have some very good standard safety features and feels big enough but maneuverable like the smaller SUV class. The ride is fantastic and it seats eight with a bit less side to side room than the Sienna. Overall performance and handling is excellent. Your paying for toyota quality and this vehicle delivers it. Too much money but a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Happy

by Highlander Owner from Charlotte NC on December 13, 2015

This is a great SUV. The inside is HUGE for it's class. The trunk is mind blowing big. This car will get up and go when you floor it. The outside looks great! The dealer had aftermarket rims on mine and tinted my windows. The car looks fantastic. The sound system is great! The only thing that needs work in the electronics in the dash. The "push to talk" voice assistant is 80% there. If they can get the last 20% we would have a revolutionary car on our hands. I got my dealer down to 35,000 from 40,000. I don't know if I did well or not but I am happy for the money. 1.9% Interest rate doesn't hurt either!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best overall SUV I've owned

by Out door utility SUV Enthusiast from Grayson, Ky. on July 26, 2016

Great SUV but a little pricey. Is a good towing vehicle with room for storing equipment behind second row seats. Good power from 3.5 L V6 and getting 21 mpg, combine, driving and pulling 17 ft bass boat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving My New Highlander!

by ToyotaGirl from Raleigh, NC on March 15, 2016

Very comfortable car. Love the sleek design! The features are very nice. Very much enjoying the XLE trim level. Wheels, paint, interior color / style, and sleek look are all very nice. Ride is nice and smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Daniel from on January 12, 2017

I traded my 2014 toyota venze limited to the 2016 xle highlander. This SUV is excellent in most aspect. Ride is smooth and you can barely hear the noise of the engine and tires. Exterior and interior styling is superb. It drives like a small car. The only problem is the "eco" thing toyota added. Unlike my previous venza, it makes the highlander slower and there's no option to turn it off like the honda. Also, the heated seats are not warm enough in cold winter. Great vehicle, but pricey.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10