2004 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota RAV4

$3,576 - $8,868  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by staceylouise from Lawrence, Kansas on Mon Jul 29 2013

Our family discovered that we still needed a "big" car and a small car when our kids got older and we traded the minivan for a sedan. We looked for SUV kind of cars, but many of them drove like trucks, which I did not want. Also, they got to be too big. We looked at older Honda CRV and Toyota RAV 4 and Subaru Forrester and Outback(people don't get rid of their Subaru's), but this was the best of the lot available. I would recommend this make and model to anybody.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned for 8 years

by Short commuter from Dede on Mon Nov 18 2013

I have owned this cute compact suv for 8 years and haven't had any problems .. I've only had to replace brakes, tires, struts and shocks. Key fab doesn't work anymore but this car is super dependable. It picks up speed when merging onto highway and can pass a car without a problem. Tons of room inside for cargo, groceries, dogs and costco runs. I love this car and it is rated the best buy for 2004 used cars in consumer reports Great value, great resale and no issues

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Traveling

by Alex from Sacramento, CA on Sat Dec 18 2010

This car is beyond worth it. The stereo is amazing, the 4 cylinder has major performance, incredible reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned.

by Wendywoo from KERRVILLE, Texas on Sat Sep 09 2017

This car has 213,000 miles on it and no major repairs. It is very reliable and I love it. I can haul more than you would think. The back seats can be removed very easily and there is more room in the back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around car...totally reliable

by Vboll from Missouri on Tue Sep 19 2017

Excellent car.. Drive it everyday...we have 3 rav4 vehicles and they prove themselves reliable everyday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have ever owned.

by gnyedar from Janesville, WI on Tue Apr 24 2018

This vehicle was the best that I have ever owned and still love it! It has always been totally carefree with regular maintenance and is going on 150,000 odo without any abnormal issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota is the most reliable vehical I know

by LarnerBryn from Erie, Pa on Sat Jul 01 2017

This car does everything A GOOD vehical should, it's very comforable and reliable. When I look for a depenable car, I always can depend on a Toyota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good for work

by Maria chambil from Danbury on Sun Sep 24 2017

This car is good for my winter I'm happy to have the car with me I'll recommend the cars .com good to fine nice cars for. Decent price

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

53 Years and 19 Cars, This is the BEST

by Joypebble from New York's Beautiful Hudson Valley on Sun Jan 27 2008

Almost unbelievable combination of quality, features economy and astounding reliability. I'm 6'5" tall drive 33,000 local and trans-continental miles a year in amazing comfort. Plenty of legroom-no cramps. I live up on a wintertime "ice mountain" and have no fear of the weather. After 125,000, my only mechanical failure was one rubber door jamb bumper that froze and pulled out when the temp dropped 36 degrees one night after a rain. (Cost: $2.45) That's the only mechanical failure. Toyota has engineered the ideal set of compromises into a versatile car that is worth on 25% less than the day I bought it four years ago. That's simply spooky. This car is a "keeper."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Second RAV

by Luv my RAV from Las Vegas, NV on Sun Jan 23 2011

I found an '04 RAV through cars.com; it was featured at a local dealership. It has a manual transmission and 4WD which was exactly what I was looking for. The miles were quite low at 50,000 and the car looked to be in great condition. There was some dirty marks in the interior , but the detail crew at the dealership took care of it. It is a comfortable ride, is good on gas mileage, and looks sharp. One quirk I've discovered about it: the clutch has to be fully depressed in order to start the vehicle. If it is as little as 1/4" variance, the car won't start. No problem since figuring out how sensitive the clutch can be. I'm really pleased with my purchase. Toyota makes a great vehicle in the RAV4; it is my second one. I still have my '98 at 217,000 miles and hope the '04 will be as reliable and worthy an investment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2